Yr right. They are even planning to set up concentration camp for students who fail next week's tests.Originally posted by ^tamago^:eh, too much stress for students is no good.....
My time, we all took Pure History, Pure Geography.Originally posted by iveco:Nobody studies history anymore? All take Combined Humanities these days?
History was among my favourite subjects in high school.![]()
Future COA?Originally posted by HENG@:dun u think she has that "female SAF officer" look? i mean seriously?![]()
*shakes head* but bo bian lah... "concentration camp" sounds ominous though..Originally posted by chanff8:Yr right. They are even planning to set up concentration camp for students who fail next week's tests.
so warren buffet: 2nd richest man in the world and his degree from the university of nebraska-lincoln(supposedly your average university in a not-so-developed state) has a low quality degree even though he makes lots of money?Originally posted by LazerLordz:O-Levels is not the real test.
What's the real benchmark is the quality of your university degree and what you have to offer.
If a star Os student does not work hard, they can easily fail J1 too.Happens all the time.
Good education in the University AND what you have done outside of the academic world that has shaped you, this is what I'm talking about.Originally posted by vito_corleone:so warren buffet: 2nd richest man in the world and his degree from the university of nebraska-lincoln(supposedly your average university in a not-so-developed state) has a low quality degree even though he makes lots of money?![]()
sometimes "not so good" universities can offer a better education with a higher teacher-student ratio, good students who couldnt not afford to attend more expensive schools
and no i dont not mean smu, it still sucks.
academic wise ok. but the real test is how you can be successful after you graduate.Originally posted by CoolMyth:No, the true test of academic ability comes at university level.![]()
i think the fact that she took the Literature paper by studying outside school time, showed how motivated and disciplined she was, plus maybe a little smart too.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Unlike 10 A1 scorers of previous years, this girl's 10 A1s do not mean anything much.
Simply because the top 1000+ students have been taken out of the competition, thanks to the thru-train programme. And because of this, the moderation of results is such that people who would otherwise score an A2 in previous years will now score an A1.
The true test of academic ability will come at the A-Levels in 2 years time, when the cream of the cohort take the exams together with everyone else.
That I agree with. I would not have taken another paper if I were her.Originally posted by nanren4ever:i think the fact that she took the Literature paper by studying outside school time, showed how motivated and disciplined she was, plus maybe a little smart too.
Let's not take the shine off her 10A1s. She deserve her moment of glory
Originally posted by seow:If you were made principal in any school, all the students is that particular school would be damn happy.
Most principals i believe, including the one in my place, in sg, says playing instead of doing work is waste of time and "you should study everytime you can in your teens and don't play so you can get good results."![]()
but its not the same, like hanging out with your friends in the arcades or going to the movies as a teen, and doing it as an adult. U can play all your life but in different stages of your life u see things differently and its a different experience at different ages even if you do the same thing.Originally posted by Icemoon:It is true to some extent. You should study while you still can think clearly. If your foundation is weak, it is very hard to catch up in your adult years.
Also, you can play all your life but most likely you won't pick up a textbook and study after your school years. The motivation just isn't there.
who knows?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Future COA?![]()
try searching for a "FULL mark" one... ALL F9.. i saw b4... coolOriginally posted by Manager433:Her results slip, taken from HWZ forum
Wooo....
Yeah, kind of.Originally posted by FireIce:jye yee oso 10 A1s rite.........