Will I see you holding placards and protesting the fare hikes anywhere in nus today?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I'm wearing black today.
Hope to see a common sentiment.![]()
once the universities privatised, expect to pay more & more each yr.Originally posted by leddy:If ppl's salaries have increased, then it's okay for price hike. alot of the workers in private firms' and local sme salaries have not been rising the past few yrs, price hike would only make life harder for most ppl. Don't know what is our govt thinking.
Yesterday I wore black already.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I'm wearing black today.
Hope to see a common sentiment.![]()
support 1 kid per family! cos u won't have enuff $$ to send ur kids to uni or even poly when they're of age.Originally posted by gerrykoh:once the universities privatised, expect to pay more & more each yr.
Why don't they look into cutting unnecessary costs rather than increase?
The poor parents have to bare this burden.
Even if u start edn. fund for your kids, your savings cannot keep up with the increase. That is why now no one wants to have so many kids!
Wear black big fuck lah.Originally posted by CoolMyth:Yesterday I wore black already.![]()
Yes! I think NUSSU SHOULD fight the admin in the following fronts:Originally posted by fudgester:I remember that a couple of years ago when NUS implemented the ill-advised (assuming it was even advised) plan to cancel the mid-term break, NUSSU successfully managed to get them to reinstate it - after a year of lobbying.
This time, though, NUSSU has less than six months before the next semester to get the admin to change their minds. I'm extremely sceptical about any possible turnaround in the admin's policies. So I say, be prepared to pay more. Looks like I'm going to have to take out another loan.
Change can happen, and there is still the chance (albeit remote) that the higher-ups will change their minds. It's plain wrong. They can justify the raise anyway they like - to have two raises in two successive years is simply unfair. Heck, they won't even justify the raise fully - they just gave some very vague statements on 'increasing operating costs'. Now, how did the 'operating costs' increase in the 12 months after the last tuition fee hike? Because of those garish-looking 'centennial mugs' or the spanking-new University Hall which most of us are not going to step into anyway?
Sure, they may make more subsidies and financial assistance. But how, pray tell, is that going to help undergrads from middle-income families who struggle to pay their fees but don't qualify for financial assistance at the same time?
And yeah, I agree that overseas unis are much more expensive. But hey, most of us here joined NUS because we CAN'T afford overseas universities in the first place. Even studying in a local university is already hard on our finances as it is. I'm already having a hard time, and I can still consider myself as one of the lucky ones. I may have to give tuition three times a week to cover my expenses, but at least I'm not scraping and wondering how I'm going to get my next meal.
I know of a friend who has already maxed himself out on loans. I believe he was rejected for financial assistance. He works almost every night to cover his expenses. So, who's going to pay for him?
true but u can't compare like thatOriginally posted by vito_corleone:wait till u pay USD50k a year school fees then you appreciate how affordable nus is.![]()
Then how can we compare?Originally posted by leddy:true but u can't compare like that
I dun think it's because the students bo-chap...but they have learnt lessons from CSJ, JB Jeyaratnam, the white elephant sage, the SIA union saga...the list goes on...Originally posted by Fatum:this can only happen with an apathetic student population ... (unfortunately, this, perhaps, is also a reflection of the Singapore society ? ) ....
you "bo chap", I "bo chap", the powers-that-be "buah bodoh" lor ...
Not only that, but SIM-RMIT is holding their sports day at NUS too.Originally posted by schoolplight:ChannelU superhost is coming to nus tommorrow.
National University of Singapore Fest La Vie
Date: Thur Feb 16
Time: 12.30pm
Venue: Central Forum (Below the NUS Central Library
your 'on one hand' is the right hand, on the other hand is left hand. by right is xxxxx, but by left is xxxx.....something we got to acceptOriginally posted by goaler:vote for opposition!
on one hand, the govt says will ensure that no student admitted to the university is denied the opportunity of an education because of financial difficulties. on the other hand, raise school fees..
on one hand, gambling is illegal. On the other hand, set up Toto, 4D, big sweep.. now got casino coming up.
on one hand, set up CASE to protect the interest of consumers. on the other hand, allowed SBS/MRT to raise their fares despite they are making huge profit, making CASE useless.
on one hand, say must give more chances to younger politicians. on the other hand, our lao lee is still contesting this coming election.![]()
Originally posted by chunyong:your 'on one hand' is the right hand, on the other hand is left hand. by right is xxxxx, but by left is xxxx.....something we got to accept
nope.. this is a democratic society! you dun have to accept, you dun have to suckthumb..Originally posted by ubermagicseller:Do we have a choice? LL suckthumb lor
Pity those medicine and dentistry students... $17000+ a year man...Originally posted by fudgester:Unfortunately... yes.
I entered NUS expecting to pay $5600 a year. Then it became $5950. Then it became $6110.
My dad's going to have a myocardial infarction when he finds out about this. I really don't have the guts to break this piece of news to him.![]()
wat do u expect him?Originally posted by Icemoon:even Tharman saying the hike is justified!![]()