what to do? if u still want to go uni then pay lohOriginally posted by Icemoon:even Tharman saying the hike is justified!![]()
vote ke lan lah, u htink all people can vote ? walkover in ur GRC u also lanlan...Originally posted by goaler:nope.. this is a democratic society! you dun have to accept, you dun have to suckthumb..
many singaporeans think like you.. but that is wrong!
you have a choice! if u are of legal voting age of 21.
vote for opposition!!
like that ah...Originally posted by chunyong:vote ke lan lah, u htink all people can vote ? walkover in ur GRC u also lanlan...
join opposition : i not stupidOriginally posted by goaler:like that ah...
walkover then bo bian...
but there are also other things u may consider..
eg: join the opposition? or be an independant candidate?![]()
Doesn't mean I can't kick up a fuss when the situation calls for it.Originally posted by Fatum:yeps ....
it's a bunch of Singaporeans chatting in here alright ....
cynical, jaded, realistic, NATO ..... haiz ...![]()
Lucky when I was in medical school, NUS only charged $1600 per year. Nowadays only the rich can do medicine/dentistry. Of course, it also means that when they become doctors they must charge more for their services, or else how to pay off the bank loan?Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Pity those medicine and dentistry students... $17000+ a year man...Wonder where all that money goes to. I suspect it's towards the professors' pay packets.
Yeah, who knows during the coming Budget speech, you have things like "studyfare" - a one time payment to all students for continuing their education.Originally posted by lwflee:Again, I am being cynical but I put forward this scenario:
- Fee Hike announced. As expected, many pissed off students.
- Issue drags on, just before elections are announced, Govt announces that they will NOT allow NUS to hike fee. Because it is unjust, the way it is done is not right, and everyone deserves a shot at a good education. (LHL will probably have his mug plastered on the papers next to the quote).
- Yaay the student body and their parents heave a collective sigh of relief. The govt isn't that bad eh? Looks like they are listening to the poeple now.
Plausible? I dunno. Just a thought.
The increase must be due to this- giving too much to foreign students, lecturers & staff & unnecessary upgrading. I remember NTU wanting to buy $2000 chairs for their staff!Originally posted by Isis:This FEE hike thingy was broadcasted in TV news more than a year ago
Uni say it for investment for the better future. Investment that can fail too.
Even china scholars have better life than me, they are paid $500 for allowance. School fees, hostel fee all paid by government. All these $$ are from us.
I couldn't be surprised if nobody wana give birth anymore..
Yeah, heard from my ex-classmate who's in medical school now that some of their Obs and Gynae professors are paid $1 million a year.. and that's in addition to their income earned from private practice outside.Originally posted by CoolMyth:Maybe it's all the professorships.
I know they earn a lot, possibly peanuts.![]()
with an increase a yr...this is wat i expect, for ntuOriginally posted by fudgester:Doesn't mean I can't kick up a fuss when the situation calls for it.
Actually the big hoo-ha is actually not just about the rise in the tuition fees per se. It also has a lot to do with the timing of the fee hike, as well as the manner in which the fee hike was announced. First of all, to me it hardly makes sense for them to be hiking the fees just one year after the previous hike. What, pray tell, caused this mysterious 'rise in operating costs'? That's evasive talk, I say.
Heck, I think this hoo-ha wouldn't be so loud if they had just did all the fee rises they wanted to do the previous year. The way I see it, they probably misjudged how much the fees had to be raised last year. Well, hard cheese to them, I say. That's their problem. Why should it be the problem of the students as well?
Secondly, the manner in which the fee hikes was introduced was highly repugnant. No prior warning, no surveys and discussions with the student body.... heck, the first time I knew about this hike was through this thread. I still thought it was a rumour until I counterchecked my NUSmail.
The least they could have done was to engage NUSSU in discussions before announcing the hikes. The way I see it, in the decision to hike the fees took many factors into consideration except for one: the students.
Yeah, I agree that they're going to make more bursaries and financial help available to needy students. Tell that to the middle-income students who don't qualify for financial help but still struggle to pay the bills. Tell that to students who have already maxed out on financial help.
Truth be told, when I was in secondary school I harboured dreams of being in NUS as a ticket to a better future. Right now though, I just want to get my degree and buzz off.
Thanks for everything, Kent Ridge. I forgot what disillusionment tasted like until you reminded me.
U already ARE in debt by getting an education in SingaporeOriginally posted by fudgester:Seriously, I'm extremely peeved over this. It wasn't too long ago when they last raised the fees - last year, I believe?
So what happened in that one year that fees must be raised again?
This is really pissing me off. I don't come from a well-off family. I already have about $16000 worth of loans which I have to clear by myself after I graduate. My father can barely scrape together the rest of the fees.
Heck, I know of people who are having it a lot worse than me. I know of a friend of mine who works part-time virtually every night just to be able to pay off the loans. So, is increasing the number of part-time jobs on campus going to help people like him?
Looks like I'm going to have to take another loan. I suppose my total liabilities are going to rise to $20000. Wee.
Wow, even in 2021, its still cheaper to study engineering in singapore because its over 10K already just to do the same in Oz in 2006.Originally posted by chunyong:with an increase a yr...this is wat i expect, for ntu
2006 : 6100 <--current rate
2007 : 6280
2008 : 6470
2009 : 6700
total : S$25,550
2010 : 6900
2011 : 7110
2012 : 7320
2013 : 7540
2014 : 7770
2015 : 8000
2016 : 8240
2017 : 8490
2018 : 8740
2019 : 9010
2020 : 9280
2021 : 9550
For 4 yr Engineering course, it will cost u S$26K at least, up from the S$22K previously. By the time your son/daughter study in ntu/nus, it will be ard S$40K...almost twice the amt. Now tell me, isn't it cheaper and better if u go overseas since most prob u only study 2-3 yrs there.
the figures is somewat the LEAST...most prob by 2021 its 11K per yr liao...Originally posted by ditzy:Wow, even in 2021, its still cheaper to study engineering in singapore because its over 10K already just to do the same in Oz in 2006.![]()
Nonsense.Originally posted by chunyong:the figures is somewat the LEAST...most prob by 2021 its 11K per yr liao...
haha, 500K - 40K for Uni = 460K for Pri, Sec, Tertiary....need so much meh..unless they include milk powder $ oso lah..Originally posted by charlize:Nonsense.
I saw one ad from a bank stating you need $500K for your kid's education.
Banks can't be wrong, can they, since we entrust our money to them.
Don't look at me.Originally posted by chunyong:haha, 500K - 40K for Uni = 460K for Pri, Sec, Tertiary....need so much meh..unless they include milk powder $ oso lah..
Yalor banks are blood thirsty organisations tat jus wan our money la...Originally posted by chunyong:haha, 500K - 40K for Uni = 460K for Pri, Sec, Tertiary....need so much meh..unless they include milk powder $ oso lah..