Uh,how does German national anthem come into the picture with regards to the topic?Originally posted by nullifi3d:Deutschland, Deutschland über alles,
über alles in der Welt,
wenn es stets zu Schutz und Trutze
brüderlich zusammenhält!
Von der Maas bis an die Memel,
von der Etsch bis an den Belt:
|: Deutschland, Deutschland über alles,
über alles in der Welt!
Deutsche Frauen, deutsche Treue,
deutscher Wein und deutscher Sang
sollen in der Welt behalten
ihren alten schönen Klang,
uns zu edler Tat begeistern
unser ganzes Leben lang:
|: Deutsche Frauen, deutsche Treue,
deutscher Wein und deutscher Sang!
Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit
für das deutsche Vaterland!
Danach lasst uns alle streben
brüderlich mit Herz und Hand!
Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit
sind des Glückes Unterpfand;
|: blüh' im Glanze dieses Glückes,
blühe, deutsches Vaterland.
Thats a backlash, which results from Singapore's system putting national interest(or more like, govt official's interests) ahead of the people's interest, and failing to acknowledge each human as a sentinent individual. When people have had enough of being treated as nothing more than a disposable asset, do u seriously expect them to love their country? U talk as tho humans are emotionless robots who can be abused and still remain unerringly loyal.Originally posted by dork3d:Self-interest supercedes national interest.
From what i read and what i understand with regards to general Singaporean mentality,it is possible that we value our 'faces' too much and tend to be vocally conservative,thus lack of cheering for our sportsmen/women.Originally posted by Ponders:Singaporeans in a "first world" country, will try not to identify themselves as a Singaporean but will act as if they are a local of that "first world" country.
Singaporeans in a "third world" country will flaunt wealth and make as much noise as possible so that everybody in 1km radius of them will recognise them as Singaporeans!!
look at this story below,
http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/forum/story/0,5562,380871,00.html?
I was in a "First world" country and the Singaporea association there orgainsed a National Day Dinner.
SIngapore national anthem played, NOBODY except the Singapore Ambassador and family SANG!!!
That "first world" country's national anthem played, every Singaporeans sang loudly!!!
WTF!! THey are not even citizens of that country.
they got singapore citizenship in a blink of the eye!!!Originally posted by Anti-RuleSS:What's the big deal of not cheering for our sportmans when some are not even singaporeans!
got la. those who come out n try to change it end up being sued for "defamation" and run into exile, or else always bo tai bo ji get charged for some chicken feet pi sai thing n fined here n there, or go jail here n there.Originally posted by mixedblooder:Well you people don't address the root problem. If you're not happy with things, get the balls to change it. But since we don't have anyone else voicing discontent, we can assume the majority of citizens are happy with things, even though i hear horror stories of people not feeling they "have a stake" in things.
its france, not the us.Originally posted by Fatum:hang over from our colonial days perhaps ....
I was laughing so hard when I read about how the RSAF's detachments in the United States were experiencing a "baby boom" ...... of course, what the parents were really thinking, was to give birth in the United States so the kids can perhaps claim US citizenship in the future ...
and that's the regular servicemen who's sworn to defend you and me ....
whatever the root cause ... something is seriously wrong here ...
oh no ... it was the US alright ... definitely not france ...Originally posted by vito_corleone:its france, not the us.![]()
and hey, with tv stations airing stuff in a language you can hardly understand and nearly no nightlife(rural area) you're bound to keep farking like hamsters.
same here... the FT policy is nothing but another way to invite other country ppl into SG and take our ricebowlsOriginally posted by vito_corleone:don't get me wrong...i love the country but i hate the government.![]()

Totally agree, but when the national anthem of one's country is being played yet he can still chat with friends, then it is very much a disrespect to the country as well as himselfOriginally posted by FireIce:in ur heart can liao, no need to sing or show out![]()
sekali sing out loud and tio pak by other ppl...Originally posted by chenc:Totally agree, but when the national anthem of one's country is being played yet he can still chat with friends, then it is very much a disrespect to the country as well as himself
Thats what happened in my school lor. Morning no one sing 1. All like embarrassedOriginally posted by dcx:sekali sing out loud and tio pak by other ppl...![]()