Originally posted by redstone:
I had started my comp one day and it suddenly says cannot find my profile.
Few seonds later, was restored back, but found I lost lots of data. Had bought recovery software. After the initial recovery, I transffered them into external drive, but can't be opened.
Need help.
insufficient info on your hardware and what transpire...cannot confirm if yr data can/ cannot be recovered...
when u say u cannot find your profile one fine day when u start yr computer, "was restored back"..."had bought and used receovery software"...do u mean u formatted your hdd? then transfer to external hdd but cannot open u mean u actually see the filesbut transfer them to ext hdd but after that cannot open?
okay let me guess.....
after u transfer the files to a back up external disk did u try to open the backed up files on that same computer or did you do it from another comp? if from the same comp sure cannot becuase that comp may be haywire oredi...if from anothe comp make sure that one has all the programs used to create the files u backed up else sure cannot open the files one...
when u delete the a file it goes to recycle bin (unless u change the settings in windows not to move it there but make it disappear). when like that (just like after u empty the recycle bin) and u delete the files from there, the comp actually only delete the registery of that file/ folder to make yr comp inaccessible to them. comp usually look for the registery for any file sand if it is avvailable, it will move down to open that particuular file. so when u delete the file the main string of the data is still there and can only be retrieved with recovery software (provided that sector where the mainstring of data is has not be over-written by neweer data..this one tricky and it all depends on how your comp place ddatas). so next time immediately when u lose data dun format dun work and save stuff on it immediately use a free online recovery software to see if there data still therre or not and the chances of recovery. most freeware allow u to see the files but cannot recover larger files. if u can see then most probably u wanna get a more expensive full-fletch one to recover them.
when u format your computer it just writes zeros to all the registery files and programs but dun try to receover after u formate lah...very dangerous may still be able to receover...
so yr comp hardware details? u sharing the comp with others or what? please get some ext hdd or back up datat from cds or dvds so will not hav such prob lor