hey! please keep this in mind, singaporeans did ask for free air space right on johore.. that is equal to invasion alright? so dont keep toking bout bad malaysian bilateral ties Sadits sad to c some many malaysian r still under mahathir's influence. letting s'pore airforce use johor airspace = invasion? "idoits". why. just look. s'pore had bases in 1. taiwan 2.thailand 3. USA 4. burnei. 5. others then this places, every year our army conducts exercise in many other countries also. if wat u say is true. then why so many countries welcome our armed forces into their land ??? in simple, u r e odd 1. futhermore, this shows u have no trust in other ppl , in yourself. it is b'cos e americans trust usin themselves, dats why their dare let us set up base there.
i don't believe this is a good argument as well.Originally posted by ysatul:its sad to c some many malaysian r still under mahathir's influence. letting s'pore airforce use johor airspace = invasion? "idoits". why. just look. s'pore had bases in 1. taiwan 2.thailand 3. USA 4. burnei. 5. others then this places, every year our army conducts exercise in many other countries also. if wat u say is true. then why so many countries welcome our armed forces into their land ??? in simple, u r e odd 1. futhermore, this shows u have no trust in other ppl , in yourself. it is b'cos e americans trust usin themselves, dats why their dare let us set up base there.
If I could recall, the Air Force shares a bombing range somewhere in Sumatra with the Indonesian Air Force...Originally posted by Glen999:i don't believe this is a good argument as well.
you just bring up 5 countries. how come no neigbouring countries like indonesia leh?
when you want to invade and occupy a country, it cannot be far distance.... use your brain power dude.... you cannot use airforce without army to occupy a country.. ARMY rocks!!!
It had become more common that Spore men settling down with non Sporean Asian ladies in apore and Spore women marrying non asians. and settle down overseasOriginally posted by Glen999:I just want to point out above is not a definite "+" point for singapore. That's why it's controversial topic.
There are many malaysians working in my company (around 30-50). My company is in CBD. My singapore collegues (including myself) prefer malaysia women. and of coz, talked to my malaysia buddies in the same company, they say they prefer malaysia girlfriends. So, i guess singapore men marry malaysia girls outnumber...
This i sort of agree, but at the pt of time, they were busy at War themselves ( in 1967 ), and they needed the foreign $$ from Spore. They see it as a long term economical benefit down the road , supplying us with hardwares that they had developed themselves. Of course, the " software" that they supplied in 1967 , was priceless.Originally posted by CPL:If I could recall, the Air Force shares a bombing range somewhere in Sumatra with the Indonesian Air Force...
In any case, in times of crises, the true colors of nations will show up..whether we have been wasting our time & resources to cultivate friendships among our neighbours or bigger nations (like China or even Taiwan, remember those remarks they made..?)...
The only nation that really came to our aid in times of crisis was Israel, who stepped forward to help build up the SAF just after our Independence in 1967. Even India baulked at the idea. So, who are our true friends..? Only crisis time will tell..
Those countries that you mentioned, do not share border with us. As for country 2. and 4. , the enemy of my enemy is my friend theory, thats why we cooperated. For country 1. and 3, they just wanna earn our $$, esp for 3. , so that they can sell us more hardware.Originally posted by ysatul:its sad to c some many malaysian r still under mahathir's influence. letting s'pore airforce use johor airspace = invasion? "idoits". why. just look. s'pore had bases in 1. taiwan 2.thailand 3. USA 4. burnei. 5. others then this places, every year our army conducts exercise in many other countries also. if wat u say is true. then why so many countries welcome our armed forces into their land ??? in simple, u r e odd 1. futhermore, this shows u have no trust in other ppl , in yourself. it is b'cos e americans trust usin themselves, dats why their dare let us set up base there.
As the saying goes.."to fight a fire, it is better to use a water source that is closest..." It wasn't the case at all for us. Granted, Israel needs the $$ etc to fight the 6 Day War then, but we are talking about the willingness to come forward to help a nation in her time of crisis. I bet even when we were willing to pay for the help then, no nation in our neighbourhood gave a damn.Originally posted by pufferfish_79:This i sort of agree, but at the pt of time, they were busy at War themselves ( in 1967 ), and they needed the foreign $$ from Spore. They see it as a long term economical benefit down the road , supplying us with hardwares that they had developed themselves. Of course, the " software" that they supplied in 1967 , was priceless.
This is agree.Originally posted by CPL:So, the point I am trying to make is, only in times of crisis will we know who our true friends are...
so u mean using their airspace is an invasion? if this is so, there'll always be other methods to 'invade' their airspace even without flying over it. there's no lack of it with the current technologies.Originally posted by Glen999:i don't believe this is a good argument as well.
you just bring up 5 countries. how come no neigbouring countries like indonesia leh?
when you want to invade and occupy a country, it cannot be far distance.... use your brain power dude.... you cannot use airforce without army to occupy a country.. ARMY rocks!!!
sorry, man. without army to occupy the territory.. you cannot claim victory...Originally posted by tiggersgd:so u mean using their airspace is an invasion? if this is so, there'll always be other methods to 'invade' their airspace even without flying over it. there's no lack of it with the current technologies.
and as for whether the use of airforce without army to occupy a country...i dun believe this is a gd argument as well. all we need is for the airforce to have bomb runs after bomb runs...bomb till all are flat and dead even without the army going in. this is feasible but at what costs? there's always an opportunity cost involved.
it is proven in both WW1/2 that countries far away have the means to occupy lands far away from their own...didn't u study history? use ur brain power dude.![]()
yeah, i'm using my brain power...USAOriginally posted by Glen999:sorry, man. without army to occupy the territory.. you cannot claim victory...
well, you can bomb until next 100 years still cannot win.... (study vietnam war probably will give u a good reference).
Yes, you are right. I merely passed my hisstory tes. but plesae let me know WW1/2 that which countries invaded a country so far away without starting from its neigbouring countries. Can you pleas use your brain power to explain this?
pls, tell me more about it? did USA start the WW1/2?Originally posted by tiggersgd:yeah, i'm using my brain power...USA
then pls use ur brain power to study more history textsOriginally posted by Glen999:sorry, man. without army to occupy the territory.. you cannot claim victory...
well, you can bomb until next 100 years still cannot win.... (study vietnam war probably will give u a good reference).
Yes, you are right. I merely passed my hisstory tes. but plesae let me know WW1/2 that which countries invaded a country so far away without starting from its neigbouring countries. Can you pleas use your brain power to explain this?
Originally posted by Glen999:pls, tell me more about it? did USA start the WW1/2?
well, thought that you were talking about WW1/2. so, story changed.Originally posted by tiggersgd:then pls use ur brain power to study more history texts
anyway, if u wish to talk more abt wars, u may start the recent 'ended' war of Iraq. their first wave (and wave after wave is air strike)....their army didn't step in till later. u only need the army to station at a location to indicate its overrun n occupied. if u bombed till no resistance from the other side of the arm forces, the effort needed for the army to fight off any resistance is little, if none.
that's just an example should u want to talk abt wars. haiz...Originally posted by Glen999:well, thought that you were talking about WW1/2. so, story changed.
BTW, guess that you will have to send a fleet of ships + carriers so that you have enough planes to bomb the countries....

Originally posted by Glen999:and make sure your fleets are in stealth mode.. .so that taiwan, thailand, USA, brunei will not discover your intention. wuhahaha.. cannot tahan laughing...while writing this....
ei, thought that you disappear. ... so want to avoid your story of WW1/2?Originally posted by tiggersgd:do u even know what u r writing? when we have inventories in these places? do u think we need to be stealth mode abt this?
some peopletsk tsk