Haiz...Originally posted by LazerLordz:her husband's in theatre that's why..Englishman.
I remember both of them helping us out during countless late night rehersals for SYF drama in the past, and he helped us in prop and stage design/logistics and no other teacher stayed with us to rehearse all the way.In the end we won a gold award..
now that's commitment from them..I bumped into her last year or '04 at Peranakan Place, they were back on holiday.![]()
I think these kind of teachers are ancient liao. Not many teachers are committed nowadays.Originally posted by LazerLordz:her husband's in theatre that's why..Englishman.
I remember both of them helping us out during countless late night rehersals for SYF drama in the past, and he helped us in prop and stage design/logistics and no other teacher stayed with us to rehearse all the way.In the end we won a gold award..
now that's commitment from them..I bumped into her last year or '04 at Peranakan Place, they were back on holiday.![]()
we each have our own strengths, and that's why we need to work together. someone has to plan and someone has to execute. that's reality.Originally posted by matleep:I am wondering, there were so many comments here but yet i do not see much comments that say how poly students are better than jc ones. like for example, how life in poly has shape your life and make you think practically versa the mindset of having a fantastic idea and yet unrealistic. Or perhaps how life in poly has braoden your perspection in life like forming several groups who go round doing something meaningful to the society etc compared to some who only had books stuck to their face... And perhaps to add on, JC students may have ideas for some product, but they don't know how to implement it, whereas poly are much better in this area.
I think you guys should consolidate such experiences and wrote back against Adeline because if you never wrote back, its just implying some misconception to the public. Its no use saying here in this forum because your audience is only a limited number.
Why do we need to rebute back in the press? It might end up make her more happyOriginally posted by matleep:I am wondering, there were so many comments here but yet i do not see much comments that say how poly students are better than jc ones. like for example, how life in poly has shape your life and make you think practically versa the mindset of having a fantastic idea and yet unrealistic. Or perhaps how life in poly has braoden your perspection in life like forming several groups who go round doing something meaningful to the society etc compared to some who only had books stuck to their face... And perhaps to add on, JC students may have ideas for some product, but they don't know how to implement it, whereas poly are much better in this area.
I think you guys should consolidate such experiences and wrote back against Adeline because if you never wrote back, its just implying some misconception to the public. Its no use saying here in this forum because your audience is only a limited number.
Scholarship is because traditionally they find better to get A level holders to be office holders (Officers say in SAF)Originally posted by X-men:Yes I agree that when comes to scholarship... JC wins
BUT when come to employments.... I believe Polys students are the ones able to get a job much easier than JC students who unfortunately didnt make it on to the scholarship boat.
Seen too many examples of JC students not able to get a job.
who cares la chiobu or not, go ahead la, chiobu better more satisfiedOriginally posted by Icemoon:Ponders wanted to beat up the zha bor!!
skully chio bu wor
fwah.....again....1post........fierce..Originally posted by matleep:I am wondering, there were so many comments here but yet i do not see much comments that say how poly students are better than jc ones. like for example, how life in poly has shape your life and make you think practically versa the mindset of having a fantastic idea and yet unrealistic. Or perhaps how life in poly has braoden your perspection in life like forming several groups who go round doing something meaningful to the society etc compared to some who only had books stuck to their face... And perhaps to add on, JC students may have ideas for some product, but they don't know how to implement it, whereas poly are much better in this area.
If you don't rebute her, everyone will think poly are lousy. All your parent will think that their sons or daughter who is a poly student, are way much inferior to a jc one. And what do i mean by lousy? It means everything. Your character, future, abilities are all in question. And then poly student feel upset that they are lousier and that makes her claims more valid. She is probably right that JC students are able to get scholarship, but is wrong if she use it to comment that jc are better than poly. Doesn't mean that someone is willing to pay for her education means she is better than you. Because as long as we live the life we want, why should we be bother by what others think our life should be.Originally posted by sbst275:Why do we need to rebute back in the press? It might end up make her more happy
considered summrizing it n sending it to Straits Times..Originally posted by pierre^^:The word is not smart or not smart. I feel that JC are people who are more motivated to concentrate on their studies, therefore achieving gd results. While Poly people tend to play more than their effort in study, only start study when near exam. I say this as a general term. Of course there will be exception in every case like JC CMI or Poly got straight A student. I m a poly student b4 by e way. I think the reason most of us ended up in Poly is that our o-level we never really make an effort from the very beginnning, only start towards the 3 quarter of the yr and some even last min. Most of you guys, dont u wish u had a chance to go JC if it is possible? after all sch fees are cheaper, the route to Uni is wider. again. i say Most. not all. Some of u will have a preference for Poly instead. But i believe most of the ppl here will always harbour a dream of If Oni i can get into Jc. its like in your Primary sch, where u hope to get EM1 instead of EM2 or Em3. In seconday school where u hope to get into express instead of normal.
Aniway i wonder why the author make such a remark. What is she trying to prove aniway? There is no definate answer JC ppl are better than Poly. What are we comparing? Book Smart? Survival Skills? Can she prove that all JC people are better? What she can provide is that she based her assumption on the Generalised O-Level results oni and the university intake for JC students compared to Poly, and the behavior of some. To be honest it doesnt matter who is smarter. JC people or Poly. There will never be a conclusion. So my advice is dont get upset over this. Let these shallow people think what they like.
There will always be people who are better than u. If you think JC people are better than poly, thenthe public sentiments is that poly girls are more pretty than JC people. Fair enough? Of course it isnt, coz it is just an assumption as there will be pretty, and no so pretty one in each department
That is why i said that we can only compare poly with uni.... but no one believes me...Originally posted by DriftingGuy:Aiyo why this stupid JC vs Poly argument again. JC is pre-tertiary instituition. Poly is tertiary instituition. If I ask you oranges are nicer or computer is faster, how to compare?
There shouldn't be a comparison done in the first place la... I think the main message here is that Adeline's crude remark on a national newspaper stirred up a hornet's nest and those who get involved will be stungOriginally posted by freakass:That is why i said that we can only compare poly with uni.... but no one believes me....
Did you even read the article?Originally posted by freakass:That is why i said that we can only compare poly with uni.... but no one believes me...
Poly prepare you more for work because it is a tertiary institution....
JC only prepares you for university!
No one here is comparing?! GOD.... i rest my case...Originally posted by dcx:Did you even read the article?
Practically no one here's comparing...just referring to the crude article....![]()
Why waste time and write back to the press when they are going to edit if some sentences or words are not suitable? It may just make matters worse. There's no point writing back. At least in this forum, our words won't be edited, unless the moderator finds it unacceptable.Originally posted by matleep:I am wondering, there were so many comments here but yet i do not see much comments that say how poly students are better than jc ones. like for example, how life in poly has shape your life and make you think practically versa the mindset of having a fantastic idea and yet unrealistic. Or perhaps how life in poly has braoden your perspection in life like forming several groups who go round doing something meaningful to the society etc compared to some who only had books stuck to their face... And perhaps to add on, JC students may have ideas for some product, but they don't know how to implement it, whereas poly are much better in this area.
They don't edit much of your sentences. In fact, I think they read it, think it make sense and is a good article, and they just publish it. As long as you writing something worth to publish, and can be seen in public, they will publish. If they are really going to edit it, it is probably the grammer mistake or spelling etc. And i doubt they will edit those as well.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Why waste time and write back to the press when they are going to edit if some sentences or words are not suitable? It may just make matters worse. There's no point writing back. At least in this forum, our words won't be edited, unless the moderator finds it unacceptable.
I have a few problems with your reply.Originally posted by stellazio:they keep comparing the average JC student, the acerage poly student etc..
well in their minds, poly people are known to be less bright simply because in poly there are courses for those 26 pointers, a escape route for those people who did badly in Os and also makes up the majority because the engineering and IT plus design faculty makes up alot of the majority..not discriminating here but i'm looking from the point of view of a JC student.
well they fail to realize that the average JC student are those that barely made it into JCs and die die must enter JC..which is what most of the Poly people in the higher cop courses could enter as well..
and the average JC student,oh yea getting Cs for most of their subjects in As and having to go into arts for university which is quite a huge number too..again no discrimination against the arts faculty, but from what i have seen,most of them are the "average" JC students..
fewer JC students enter the prestigious courses like medicine,law etc..
so don't use the word average on me Miss Adeline Koh because u ain't of a higher status den the most of us as u certainly ain't an elite...and education has made u stupid because u think intelligence comes from a paper in the form of an O level cert..![]()
better in what sense?it has to be smarter or brighter because she said the entry requirements to enter the JC is far more stringent..and the only thing that seperarates 2 17 years old is the O level cert.Originally posted by Icemoon:I have a few problems with your reply.
1. Miss Koh never said anything about intelligence. She said "better".
2. Comparing JC results is unfair because poly students never take A levels.
3. Miss Koh is an honours student. She may not be as elite as the medical and law students, we dunno her CAP, but her result can't be that bad.