Originally posted by Ponders:Reason why u are not entitle to the progress package is because u can't vote. So u think they will give u the money.
I went online to check for my Progress Package eligibility when my friends told me that I should received a letter.
I was expecting $100.
Alas, the PP website said i am not eligible. I was dumbfounded.
I went to mindef website and foudn out the reason,
The 40th Anniversary NS Bonus will be given only to NSFs and NSmen who are [b]Singapore citizens. This is in line with the Progress Package and past surplus sharing exercises.
Want PR to serve because they say PR enjoyed economic benefits of Singapore and should repay to the nation.
Excuse me, I am an economic migrant, I brought money INTO Singapore and even got a letter personally signed by the then Ministry of Trade. Who enjoyed economically?
I served their NS and now they tell me this. No $100 for me.
They have a right to voice their opinion.Originally posted by freakass:Mr Ponders, can you cool down next time before you post such baseless threads? Anti-PAP forum people over here (I shan't name who they are) will take every opportunity to shoot PAP regardless of whether they know the whole story or not. This case is obviously your fault because you rejected singapore citizenship! You were given a choice to enjoy Singapore citizen benefits but you rejected it! Dont say tht u served NS before and u deserve all the NS benefits. We are talking about citizen benefits here. The government cant go around giving money to non-citizens who served NS and not want to be singapore citizens right? If the governent does that, then the Anti-PAP forum people over here will start saying that the government is wasting unnecessary money on non-citizens and neglecting its own citizens. Am I right, Anti-PAP people (you know who you are)?
Originally posted by Ponders:i never heard PR need to serve NS...their sons and son if get SG citizenship need to serve NS...stop yr Bull sh itting here
I went online to check for my Progress Package eligibility when my friends told me that I should received a letter.
I was expecting $100.
The 40th Anniversary NS Bonus will be given only to NSFs and NSmen who are [b]Singapore citizens. This is in line with the Progress Package and past surplus sharing exercises.
Want PR to serve because they say PR enjoyed economic benefits of Singapore and should repay to the nation.
Excuse me, I am an economic migrant, I brought money INTO Singapore and even got a letter personally signed by the then Ministry of Trade. Who enjoyed economically?
hello friend. it's not about the money.Originally posted by vito_corleone:c'mon its 100 bucks...2 meals at good restaurants and it'd be gone.![]()
Originally posted by Ponders:I went online to check for my Progress Package eligibility when my friends told me that I should received a letter.
I was expecting $100.
The 40th Anniversary NS Bonus will be given only to NSFs and NSmen who are Singapore citizens. This is in line with the Progress Package and past surplus sharing exercises.
The 40th Anniversary NS Bonus will be given only to NSFs and NSmen who are Singapore citizens. This is in line with the Progress Package and past surplus sharing exercises.Note : If you are Singapore PR/Citizens under the age of 21 & had or currently serving NS, you are NOT ELIGIBLE for the 40th Anniversary NS Bonus.
Shut up u moron! U know next to nothing!Originally posted by Gordonator:hello friend. it's not about the money.
u do it first lor, idiot!Originally posted by dragg:go AWOL and see if they recognise you.
Originally posted by Justy:Just take the damned money and treat yourself to something.After all, it's our money gleaned from the buffet of taxes..
Reading through the post, i felt that i had to say something although enough had already been said.
If you served NS only for the Govt's recognition and that measley $100 that you had been harping about, well, i agree, you had wasted your time utterly and totally because you do not understand what NS is all about.
I see NS as a means for us to learn how to fight when/if the time to fight comes. To learn how to protect our loved ones by our own hands. That is what we Men of Singapore acknowledge as our duty and that is why we give up 2 years of our life and fall behind our female peers because of that.
"I have therefore decided to make a distribution this year to share part of our surplus with [b]Singaporeans. I will call this surplus sharing initiative the Progress Package (Providing Opportunities through Growth, Remaking Singapore for Success). This is a package for everyone, but it aims to achieve specific social objectives…"
- Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong,
Budget Statement 2006
No one's stopping anyone who contributes to the growth of Singapore to become a Singaporean, a citizen. If you reject citizenship for whatever reasons that you may have, that is your own decision and your own problem. Blame it on no one.
Can anyone who claims to have contributed to Singapore's economy claim not to have benefited from that investment in return? How many did it out of goodwill, for Singapore? How many did it as an investment, for their own benefit, and yes grown richer because of that?
This is a bonus of sorts of Singaporeans. It is nothing new. If you play Romance of Three Kingdoms, you would have given grain to your people on good years as well to increase their loyalty. Sure its a political move. So? For those of you who dislike the government for doing so, give the money away to the next beggar you see on the streets. Don't pocket the money while mouthing off.
I'm not patriotic nor pro-PAP. I'm just a concerned Citizen who loves his country no matter how imperfect it may be. Remember, the Govt. doesn't make up the country, we, the citizens do. And i hate to see our country made up of a bunch of immature whiners.
Cheers.[/b]
malaysian is the next best singlish speaker. you speak good singlish, not a singaporean, then malaysian lohOriginally posted by Ponders:Still PR but not staying in Malaysia or Singapore.
Workign overseas.
And what made you think I am Malaysian? haah
omg. u are really ignorant leh. disgrace.Originally posted by newmanmback:i never heard PR need to serve NS...their sons and son if get SG citizenship need to serve NS...stop yr Bull sh itting here
precisely... this is how screwed up the world is...Originally posted by Ponders:Somemore I did not chao keng NS.
I was in combat vocation and did not play tricks to served NS easily.
Wah... really... i am very pissed now.
No $100 nevermind.. I will not earn the other $300 then.
Not going to serve my reservist!!!
PR serving NS is not a recognisable effort.
but Singaporeans who served NS thru chao keng means still entitled to $100.
u sua ku ... PRs do serve...Originally posted by newmanmback:i never heard PR need to serve NS...their sons and son if get SG citizenship need to serve NS...stop yr Bull sh itting here
i dun welcome most foreigners in e 1st place mah...Originally posted by Ponders:Wah... even after I already bring money into singapore.
Serve the NS.
Now the locals chasing me out.
Anyway.. i am already back. Not in SG anymore.
u noe y?? coz nobody call u 2 come in e 1st place...Originally posted by Ponders:Want PR to serve because they say PR enjoyed economic benefits of Singapore and should repay to the nation.
Originally posted by Ponders:so u wan ur money bac huh?? nobody force u 2 bring ur money here... u tok like u bring in a lot of money... but nw u dw here kpkb bout $100?? wth...
Excuse me, I am an economic migrant, I brought money [b]INTO Singapore and even got a letter personally signed by the then Ministry of Trade. Who enjoyed economically?