Originally posted by norey:NOREY
I am living in AMK block 254 and for a whole year I had not savored a plate of char keu Teow and hardly been to the coffee shop behind our blocks. I ride my bicycle to save my bus fares. My family had never go far for a vacation for a long time. The only time I went far was on my bicycle to Kota Tinggi waterfall. Some friends give us some money to help us out.
Our three children have just left school to work, and yet we are better off than most people in Singapore. Still I wonder how are our fellow Singaporeans coping with garmen inflated GST in almost everything, bus fares increases, news papers are now 80 cents, and all those unseen costs included in the petrol rises worked out in term of transport costs. Inflationary factors etc had slowly also make our savings in the CPF look like pennies.. Our neighbors and friends I understand are all loaded with car loans, HDB long-term payments for flats or upgrading, or even bank renovation loans, plus numerous credits form of burdens. Whose is at fault: the wise saying of Solomon is this: [b]We become servants or slaves to the ones we borrowed money from!![]()
Would a PAP garmen could have done better especially they are only concern that the consumers must spend, spend and spend to kick the economy going on in strength!
And even when we are hard up for cash, they say, never mind we will give you the credit!
Would any opposition be a better one to help the people realize that we are living in hard times, and we all had to tighten our belts, and cut down on CPF as eventually it will be depleted by triple keys or no keys. Far more important is to make our cost of living, and especially our housing for our children cheaper! If the land is a People donated to Govt and hardly cost the garmen much should a normal HDB flat be priced so high, could not the garmen capped it at say the prevailing affordable prices? The voice in the Parliament is pretty silent as there is no opposition to think or to talk. Those two in Parliament could hardly stand on their own feet and talk to a laughing group of men and women who care not for the people. We need more representations in Parliament to enact no more dirty money laws to put Singaporeans to suffer and enslaved further, however it's the people's Voice to try to undo some of the big spending of the garmen, and made the garmen realize that social welfare is a responsibility when the public coffer and their pockets are so full and overflowing with wealth which they had used to throw away by giving to others - but hardly any for Singaporeans' needs , except election goodies and something to boast their ratings!
goto see my trip to water fall
http://www.sgwiki.com/wiki/Main.htm[/b]
Originally posted by norey:
[b]Our neighbors and friends I understand are all loaded with car loans, HDB long-term payments for flats or upgrading, or even bank renovation loans, plus numerous credits form of burdens.
Originally posted by the Bear:Yes U r so right..I am not blaming them but see how they tell the people in their encouragements to tell Singaporeans to go ..spend spend spend..even laolee said that in a couple of years ago when they give us some money to spend..remember?
[b]i think, this says it all...
apart from the flat, what the heck are the others all about?
the Celts talked about necessities in life and they came to the conclusion there were only four things that were essential.. the rest were "good to have" instead of "need to have"
they were Fire, Flax, Fodder, Frig...
somewhere to keep warm
something to wear
something to eat
someone to love
where does personal responsibility come into all this when you spend money you do not have, you want the gabrament to bail you out?
there are a lot of things you can blame the gabrament on, but one of the things you cannot blame the gabrament on are the choices we make ourselves..
Do U know how much those bullies in garmen make?
If U r truly interested in the people's welfare why give them money to backmail them into voting ?
answer to Urs..
[quote]there are a lot of things you can blame the gabrament on, but one of the things you cannot blame the gabrament on are the choices we make ourselves..
apart from the flat, what the heck are the others all about?Yes it abot Mine & Your own life..waht is it worth living for in Singapore?
Oh yea???Originally posted by coffeeortea:i cant stand to see your thalidomide robot face
REPLY:Originally posted by elindra:I guess I can only say I'm luckier than you are since we can afford holidays and eating out everyday since we are both working and it's really much cheaper and easier to eat out than to cook at home, especially just for 2 people.
As they say, spend within your means. If you want to live beyond your means, yes you will become servants or slaves to the ones you borrowed money from.
To have a thriving economy, you will need consumerism to drive it. The spending by our own people is not enough, that is why they are trying to attract more tourist to inject foreign funds into the economy. The economy will go into a downward spiral, back into a recession if the economy doesn't surge forward. When that happens, it's just going to be worse.
I think the point you are trying to drive across is that is our income rising together with the inflation rate. Well, I agree that to alot of people, that is not the case. We are caught in a bind here I think. If our salaries go up too high, foreign investors will think really hard before setting up their companies and investing due to the high cost of labour. If you compare the cost of labour with our neighbours, you will notice the wide gap.
Regarding Social Welfare..... I'm really not for the system which other countries are doing as 1) There will always be leechers who try to exploit the system. 2) It will lead to an increase in Income Tax. 3) With the thought of a 'safety net' it may lead to a lesser drive to strive for excellence.
Anyway regarding the progress package. I wouldn't call it blackmail. They are not forcing you to vote for them.
I don't agree with everything the government is doing and I do agree that there is greater need for transparancy and a hell lot of improvements needed especially for the public transport system (higher price, sucker service).
then i think you should go down for the Last WP rally tonight at serangoon stadium 7-10 pm to listen to them.They do not oppo for the sake of opposing.Even those young ones Kamikaze squad going for AMK GRC have alternative plans to help out and the rest of the seniors have also made some logical points on the alternative plans they have to help out and they talked much about it every rally but our media?Originally posted by the Bear:Q: where and from whom do the garmern collect their wealth?
A: in Singapore, people forget there is a line between gabrament and country.. to them, there is no difference.. just like the PM seems to think (he made a freudian slip on tv) that his party is bigger than the country.. the gabrament will collect taxes, and it is the duty of the gabrament to put this money to good use for the citizenry of the country... how and where the money is put to use, will depend on the solidarity of the citizenry
Q: Do U know there is a time call pay back?
(huh?)
Q: Do U know how much those bullies in garmen make?
A: a heck of a lot of money...
Q: If U r truly interested in the people's welfare why give them money to backmail them into voting ?
A: this is a loaded question as if they didn't you'd still be KPKB-ing about it.. think about it...
do not KPKB for the sake of KPKB-ing... think about it... do not waste your time and effort making noise when you do not have any better alternatives... let your criticism be constructive... anyone can complain... but it takes a lot of effort to come up with a workable alternative..
Originally posted by norey:hMz...the way you expressed yourself in words (Impressive English language)amazed me that you've not savored a plate of char keu Teow for a whole year....
I am living in AMK block 254 and for a whole year I had not savored a plate of char keu Teow and hardly been to the coffee shop behind our blocks. I ride my bicycle to save my bus fares. My family had never go far for a vacation for a long time. The only time I went far was on my bicycle to Kota Tinggi waterfall. Some friends give us some money to help us out.
Our three children have just left school to work, and yet we are better off than most people in Singapore. Still I wonder how are our fellow Singaporeans coping with garmen inflated GST in almost everything, bus fares increases, news papers are now 80 cents, and all those unseen costs included in the petrol rises worked out in term of transport costs. Inflationary factors etc had slowly also make our savings in the CPF look like pennies.. Our neighbors and friends I understand are all loaded with car loans, HDB long-term payments for flats or upgrading, or even bank renovation loans, plus numerous credits form of burdens. Whose is at fault: the wise saying of Solomon is this: [b]We become servants or slaves to the ones we borrowed money from!![]()
Would a PAP garmen could have done better especially they are only concern that the consumers must spend, spend and spend to kick the economy going on in strength!
And even when we are hard up for cash, they say, never mind we will give you the credit!
Would any opposition be a better one to help the people realize that we are living in hard times, and we all had to tighten our belts, and cut down on CPF as eventually it will be depleted by triple keys or no keys. Far more important is to make our cost of living, and especially our housing for our children cheaper! If the land is a People donated to Govt and hardly cost the garmen much should a normal HDB flat be priced so high, could not the garmen capped it at say the prevailing affordable prices? The voice in the Parliament is pretty silent as there is no opposition to think or to talk. Those two in Parliament could hardly stand on their own feet and talk to a laughing group of men and women who care not for the people. We need more representations in Parliament to enact no more dirty money laws to put Singaporeans to suffer and enslaved further, however it's the people's Voice to try to undo some of the big spending of the garmen, and made the garmen realize that social welfare is a responsibility when the public coffer and their pockets are so full and overflowing with wealth which they had used to throw away by giving to others - but hardly any for Singaporeans' needs , except election goodies and something to boast their ratings!
I Vote for opposition because I have a choice to vote,
I had been denied this by garmen so many walkovers!
And I had never vote yet, and I am about to die soon,
I am a sixty years old Singaporean.
ItÂ’s a Vote for my children and their future and for all Singaporeans!
Singaporeans like me are not STUPID!
THIS IS NOT A SPEECH BUT ASKING YOU TO RESPONSE TO WHOM U WILL VOTE AND WHY?
goto see my trip to water fall
http://www.sgwiki.com/wiki/Main.htm[/b]
Originally posted by Aveme:then i think you should go down for the Last WP rally tonight at serangoon stadium 7-10 pm to listen to them.They do not oppo for the sake of opposing.Even those young ones Kamikaze squad going for AMK GRC have alternative plans to help out and the rest of the seniors have also made some logical points on the alternative plans they have to help out and they talked much about it every rally but our media?
None of them are reported accurately misleading the rest of our fellow singaporeans to think the opposition are still a bunch of good for nothing.WP had also challenge the PAP to give a reply to what they propose but instead of replying,what does PAP do? They kept on their character assination program which is sick.Thou it is only WP which i think is credible enough,party like SDP is the one which is only opposing for the sake of opposing and the PAP like to play up on that and use it to generalize on all Opposition parties.
So if you are free,go down personally to hear what they have to say,you may just change your mind after hearing them.
ReplyOriginally posted by Aveme:then i think you should go down for the Last WP rally tonight at serangoon stadium 7-10 pm to listen to them.They do not oppo for the sake of opposing.They have made some logical points on the alternative plans they have to help out and they talked much about it every rally but our media? None of them are reported accurated misleading the rest of our fellow singaporeans to think the opposition are still a bunch of good for nothing.Thou it is only WP which i think is credible enough,party like SDP is the one which is only opposing for the sake of opposing and the PAP like to play up on that and use it to generalize on all Opposition parties.
So if you are free,go down personally to hear what they have to say,you may just change your mind after hearing them.
Yes thou a portion of the fault may apply to individual,it does not means it had nothing to do with the govt,the govt had being encouraging people to spend,saying stuff like more good years ahead that it is ok,the economy will do well and stuff like that,so go ahead and spend.The fact is the economy had never done pretty well since 1998 but the govt had never wanted to paint the true picture but instead keep harping on the economy is doing well when it is not,so they may had mislead people on their plans for spending.The govt's plans tends towards fiscal policies to raise the economy thru people spending $$ so if there are people who may had being mislead partially to think they should spend unnecesarrily,the govt will have to bear some blame.Originally posted by the Bear:no.. i am not talking about anything else except this dude...
if a family chooses to spend their whole disposable income on a big tv, expensive furniture, lavish renovations, a big car where they have to service instalments leaving them a pittance, then it is the PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY of the family when they themselves could have lived more frugally and simply, putting away money for a rainy day, instead of KPKB-ing that the gabrament did not wait on them hand and foot...
the thing a lot of people fail to see is that whatever the hell the gabrament does, the choices that are made are ultimately the responsibility of the individual, and that the consequences of living it up while having nothing in reserve, cannot and must not be borne by the society at large (here, masked as "gabrament responsibility" )
so, in a nutshell, the first post says that if i incur a huge debt because i choose to live a lifestyle which my income cannot handle, while i could have chosen a simpler lifestyle which is within my means, it is not my fault but society's..
it's not right is it?
WP, PAP, GOP or whatever, no one can legislate for irresponsibility.. no one but the individual must be blamed if they cannot plan and choose correctly for themselves..
lots of people rant about "democracy" and "even playing field" and whatnot.. however, true democracy starts with Maturity and accepting Personal Responsibility for one's own actions... and if people cannot face up to such fundamentals, perhaps, we are not ready for true democracy...
Hello my friend if you think I am a liarOriginally posted by dcx:hMz...the way you expressed yourself in words (Impressive English language)amazed me that you've not savored a plate of char keu Teow for a whole year....
I so agree with thisOriginally posted by newmanmback:But i have an advice for the Ruling party...just a suggestion. To win all the sits the ministers should have a voluntary paycut and/ salary freeze. To go in line with the hardships some Sgreans are going through and as a gesture of cohesiveness this move will win many votes over to them and there may be a gaurantee of all sits won if they do that. Until CPF contributions are restored, this is what they can do to show equality. Ministers' salary adjustment should be made according to their contributions and performances.
REPY:Originally posted by elindra:I'm sorry to hear about your brother but they are in financial shit now because of their own choice to overspend and not save. What do you want the government to do about that? Pass laws to say that if you are not of a certain income bracket, you cannot buy certain items past a certain value? You can't possibly expect the government to pay up their debts right? Maybe they can apply for social relief if the wife is earning below a certain level or not at all. I'm sorry I have to say that this is self-inflicted and has alot to do with personal responsibility.
I'm sorry to hear about your neighbour's plight to, but again it boils down to personal responsibility. Anyway, have you thought that is counterreactive if the government just support these people because they do not want to be responsible for their own lives? You know the "Oh I'm sorry I'm a drug addict and I can't kick my habit and I need social support" I certainly have no wish that my tax money goes to support these people. If you are talking about really needy families like the handicapped or the mentally challanged people who truely need help, or people who fall into hard times due to circumstances yes.
The government do have social welfares for these. The only gripe I have about the system is that alot of these people do not know how to access them till their neighbours/friends/relatives point it out to them.
Err our economy is not booming yet. It's slowly getting out of the slums. It's always a cycle. As for the foreigners debate, the problem is "save for the small percentage of elites", alot of them are willing to take a lower pay compared to the locals. Especially so for private companies. If assuming both can perform the task equally well, with profit maximisation, companies will definately choose the cheaper foreigner, unless we have something more to offer employers. Japan? From what I know they are pretty messed up right now.
yes maybe not you or me cos i also do not see the value of CC,but you cannot deny the fact that there is the segment of the population that is tempted,so if the temptation is remove or at least reduced,it will help out too.Originally posted by newmanmback:Hi Aveme...i am not tempted by CCs. It all boils down to the individual...wisdom cannot be instilled and sometimes an adult has to be responsible for his/ her own thoughts and actions. Spending and wasting money on items and services beyond your own financial capabilities and spending power are things your parents dun have to educate you about.
But i have an advice for the Ruling party...just a suggestion. To win all the sits the ministers should have a voluntary paycut and/ salary freeze. To go in line with the hardships some Sgreans are going through and as a gesture of cohesiveness this move will win many votes over to them and there may be a gaurantee of all sits won if they do that. Until CPF contributions are restored, this is what they can do to show equality. Ministers' salary adjustment should be made according to their contributions and performances.
Originally posted by norey:We do have a system in place for those who tried to find work and unable to find it.
REPY:
Good thinking but May I ask to think otherwise: agreed to disagree?
I have been to Canada and lived there had worked there. There are many places where the garmen taken a responsible role in providing for the old and the disable and those who tried to get work but unable to find it...granted that there are so sad and apathetic people on the dole in those Countries, and some abusing it. ItÂ’s call social welfareHowever, the point is this: There are real needs in the society which the garmen is really evading, but [b]U tell me our garmen which can afford to throw a billion here and there cannot be reckoned to be able to do so? We all know we have a very small population of less than 4? What is in a billion? WE all can calculcate? a billion is so much and divided by those who really need it the garmen will go broke and unable to sustain the economy?
hehehehehe don't be so sure! election goodies if waht millions around the world will call..progress packages? beggarly so hehhehehehehe! i saaw many queue-ing for it at the POSB..it's begging the question 2!Originally posted by elindra:We do have a system in place for those who tried to find work and unable to find it.
Yeah they divided it out to what we call the Progress Package
sorry I don't wanna bother U too much ..have to go out to do my shopping..Originally posted by newmanmback:Norey,
shut the f ck up