i belong to others...im not malay im not indianOriginally posted by udontknowme:haha. i totally agree with that.
one main race.
two larger minority races.
and the rest...lumped into a group called OTHERS
speak like a person with no brain....Originally posted by boy in blues:got what.....
roti prata stall would prefer to hire indian,
ramly burger stall prefer to hire malay.
unemployed chinese lao uncle go there find job sure kena reject 1.![]()
I have to agree.Something is not done enough to allow immigrants to assimiliate and localise themselves.Originally posted by valentinoo:OFFICIAL LANGUAGE here is ENGLISH.....make those illierate chinese learn english can or not...
from what i can see in his thread..most chinese ppl r very selfish...and only think of their self being...![]()
True!Originally posted by udontknowme:haha. i totally agree with that.
one main race.
two larger minority races.
and the rest...lumped into a group called OTHERS
awwwOriginally posted by valentinoo:i belong to others...im not malay im not indian![]()
i agree with this..... last time very on for the idea of SAP schools ('chinese must b good with chinese language!')... but think back... very sad.... cos i ddin have the chance to make good frens with people from other races!!Originally posted by Gwangetto:sg is a multi-racial country......
on the surface.![]()
i have a colleague from china who cant speak any english..he is a programmer...i find it very difficult to bring my point across to him..i need to get another colleage to translate! ...i dunno why the company employed him when there r so many local singaporeans who can speak english and is capable to do the job looking for jobs!!..now if all the company employ all this ppl from china...who cant speak english...we who cant speak chinese will probably be rentrenched to accomdate em...Originally posted by LazerLordz:I have to agree.Something is not done enough to allow immigrants to assimiliate and localise themselves.
Frankly, it irks me that they can get into universities and jobs with such atrocious command of the English language.Somewhere along the line, I guess national unity got shafted and boned for the sake of a few renminbi..
They only need him to speak to the computer and make programmes to fit their purposes.Originally posted by valentinoo:i have a colleague from china who cant speak any english..he is a programmer...i find it very difficult to bring my point across to him..i need to get another colleage to translate! ...i dunno why the company employed him when there r so many local singaporeans who can speak english and is capable to do the job looking for jobs!!..now if all the company employ all this ppl from china...who cant speak english...we who cant speak chinese will probably be rentrenched to accomdate em...
yeah.Originally posted by sacredspirits:i agree with this..... last time very on for the idea of SAP schools ('chinese must b good with chinese language!')... but think back... very sad.... cos i ddin have the chance to make good frens with people from other races!!
now working in london.... all my work colleagues either 1st or 2nd generation from all over the place..... ghana, nigeria, england, mauritius, indian etc.... very interesting....![]()
the difference between australians and u ppl..r that they never mentioned only WHITEs Prefered! u dont even have to mention ur race or religion when u applying for job...Originally posted by boy in blues:you see?
australians also practice discrimination what.....
why can't we?
you mean only certain people are entitled to practice
discrimination but others can't?
and one more thing,
why must we wait for someone else to practice discrimination first,
before we cry foul and follow suit just to pay back tit for tat?
why can't we do it first and then wait for them to complain?
you mean only certain people are entitled to initiate things first to secure certain interests but other people are denied this equal entitlement?
that's even discrimination
Those illiterate chinese MOST of them very old. Send them to learn english can but they probably don't want. Think realistically, can make everyone go learn English meh? Yea if you say "most chinese" ok lah because from your own views and experience lah but cannot make general statement out of that mah..Originally posted by valentinoo:OFFICIAL LANGUAGE here is ENGLISH.....make those illierate chinese learn english can or not...
from what i can see in his thread..most chinese ppl r very selfish...and only think of their self being...![]()
there you see?Originally posted by valentinoo:of coz not happy lah...facing discrimination in MY OWN COUNTRY....thats why im Migrating...u can stay here and slog...i hope u ppl dont migrate lah..u all r pampered here....go australia the angmoh will bully u
then u can understand the feeling of the minorities here...u ppl r pampered still complain day in and day out...weirdos
hello beside talkin to computer developers need to also converse with other team members...the intergration team, the configuration team, the testing team...its a one freakin project....Originally posted by OH-FF:They only need him to speak to the computer and make programmes to fit their purposes.
They work for lower pay and also are loyal to the company due to the fact that their Employment Pass is applied by the company.
If you are so worried about retrenchment, then you probably will , I suggest you focus on the job and give the correct feedback .
why u keep repeating ur talkin CO-CKs? u dont mind discrimination coz u have not been discriminated yet....Originally posted by boy in blues:there you see?
our dear friends, the australians also practice discrimination what.....
so why can't we?
and one more thing,
why can't we do it first and then wait for them to complain?
you mean only certain people are entitled to initiate things first to secure certain interests but other people are denied this equal entitlement?
that's being discriminatry about who's entitled to practice discrimination and who isn't
hahaaa...this is so idiotic...hallo? he's questioning those chinese professionals who are recruited into local firms who cannot speak english lah. Why are they old? most are in mid 20s-30s what?Originally posted by dinky1409:Those illiterate chinese MOST of them very old. Send them to learn english can but they probably don't want. Think realistically, can make everyone go learn English meh? Yea if you say "most chinese" ok lah because from your own views and experience lah but cannot make general statement out of that mah..
boy.... grow up..... go see more places.... experience more things....b4 u open your mouth.....Originally posted by boy in blues:there you see?
our dear friends, the australians also practice discrimination what.....
so why can't we?
and one more thing,
why can't we do it first and then wait for others to complain?
that's being discriminatry about who's entitled to practice discrimination and who isn't
yes yes i understand those old ppl cant speak english well..its ok coz during their time they dint go to english school....and by the way these old chinese ppl can speak in other minority languages...coz they mixed wid other races! i seen some old chinese ppl can speak malay...Originally posted by dinky1409:Those illiterate chinese MOST of them very old. Send them to learn english can but they probably don't want. Think realistically, can make everyone go learn English meh? Yea if you say "most chinese" ok lah because from your own views and experience lah but cannot make general statement out of that mah..
u should know the govt alot of lip service only what? spore is only getting increasingly chinese. in fact all the malay schools have been closed down and the newer schools all have chinese names or political crap name like Republic JC...?Originally posted by valentinoo:the difference between australians and u ppl..r that they never mentioned only WHITEs Prefered! u dont even have to mention ur race or religion when u applying for job...
and neways australia doesnt claim its a multi racial country!
wht im stressing is why spore is not fair when it is suppose to be a multi racial country
i know what u mean.... there is indeed discrimation everywhere.... people just tend to 'hang out' with people of same language, same culture etc.... and they tend to sometimes treat people of same 'colour' better.... i m not disputing this obvious fact... what i feel is that people can do what people do... but i definitely want to respect everyone as individuals.... regardless of 'colour'! RESPECT is the word..... race, religion, sexual orientation..... it is about the goodness in people that u like the person for... not the 'colour'....Originally posted by udontknowme:oh come on.
there is discrimination is every country!!!
even singapore
just that its not so damn obvious.
its human nature.
you dont treat people who are different from you as nicely.
and skin colour is one of teh most obvious things.
the brain immediately registers the person as DIFFERENT.
and so you treat them different too.
who says singapore is not obvious ? how can u say its not obvious when u can see all those racist job ads....Originally posted by udontknowme:oh come on.
even singapore
its human nature.
good stuff you got there.Originally posted by sacredspirits:i know what u mean.... there is indeed discrimation everywhere.... people just tend to 'hang out' with people of same language, same culture etc.... and they tend to sometimes treat people of same 'colour' better.... i m not disputing this obvious fact... what i feel is that people can do what people do... but i definitely want to respect everyone as individuals.... regardless of 'colour'! RESPECT is the word..... race, religion, sexual orientation..... it is about the goodness in people that u like the person for... not the 'colour'....
it is not about others..... it is about u... how u treat others.....
on the contrary, my friend. It is very obvious, if you are non-chinese, that there is discrimination. Its everywhere, but only if you're malay or indian or others, then your eyes will be open to it.Originally posted by udontknowme:oh come on.
even singapore
its human nature.