no its not fine if its already hard to find a freaking job and all u see is ads which dont want to give u a chance just coz u r of a different race...Originally posted by chenc:Obviously you are trying to point out that Singapore can be a racist country.
Before making comments on whether or not a job requirement is fair, you should really think of what you had just said.
Look, its perfectly fine if someone wants to look for an employee and wanted special requirements, even race. How has a society gone from racial harmony to racist? Its because of people like you, who relate every single small incident to being recist and stereotype. If you are not being racist in the first place, then maybe you will not even think this kind of matters as something worth argueing about.
It is not about laws, its about creating awareness of injustice, whether it happens HERE, or Malaysia or Australia...whatever, or wherever.Originally posted by Pitot:Precisely.
It is human that define laws. And yet also human who go against laws. Afterall we are still human. So which human is right?![]()
1) watch your language.Originally posted by trendz:i hate chee-nas. and singaporean have bad english. some even have bad chinese. the international language is english. yet those so many singaporeans can't even speak gd english. and wtf do u need to focus so much on chinese for (hence, the speak mandarin campaign)?
singapore is only a multi-natural society/country. on the surface. face it. we're against each other, but we TRY to mingle and mixed around harmonously. i have some indian and malay friends and they're really nice people. WHat i can't stand are ah bengs/ ah lians, mats and minahs, anjac and indian lians or whatever the f**k u call it..
mind if i ask where you are from?Originally posted by trendz:i hate chee-nas. and singaporean have bad english. some even have bad chinese. the international language is english. yet those so many singaporeans can't even speak gd english. and wtf do u need to focus so much on chinese for (hence, the speak mandarin campaign)?
singapore is only a multi-natural society/country. on the surface. face it. we're against each other, but we TRY to mingle and mixed around harmonously. i have some indian and malay friends and they're really nice people. WHat i can't stand are ah bengs/ ah lians, mats and minahs, anjac and indian lians or whatever the f**k u call it..
why wud they chinese and indians in malaysia cry foul when they KNOW they r LIVING in a MALAY LAND??? the govt make it obvious they r living in a malay country... for us its different we r living in a multi racial state! yet all the unfair policies!Originally posted by Pitot:Then wont the indians and chinese there cry foul? So lets say our gov introduce similar policies that benefit chinese.. IT would blantantly show that we dont give all equal rights. Right now, everyone here has equal rights. Its whether the person want to fight for his or not. So you want the gov to set laws that prohibit companies to hire chinese only? Then the private sectors will cry foul.. and this vicious cycles starts all over again...![]()
kekekeee..."chinksters.."? hey, that's racist!Originally posted by LazerLordz:And with all the fricking Chinksters popping up, none of them know what the heck being a Straits Chinese means...unable to connect with our roots and our historical links with the Malay Archipelago.
I'd rather work with a Third Culture fellow than one of those presumptious chaps who indulge in racial purity..
So you are saying that chinese should be blamed when you cannot find a job?Originally posted by valentinoo:no its not fine if its already hard to find a freaking job and all u see is ads which dont want to give u a chance just coz u r of a different race...
understood? whts so FINE bout that?
hmm...im a chinese living here. and oh yes i do see all the crap that is going on.Originally posted by valentinoo:why wud they chinese and indians in malaysia cry foul when they KNOW they r LIVING in a MALAY LAND??? the govt make it obvious they r living in a malay country... for us its different we r living in a multi racial state! yet all the unfair policies!
im just tryin to point out that the minorities r not gettin da treatment like the chinese r getting....but u ppl just dont get it...and think its normal
What kind of treatment that the chinese are getting and the minorities dont?Originally posted by valentinoo:why wud they chinese and indians in malaysia cry foul when they KNOW they r LIVING in a MALAY LAND??? the govt make it obvious they r living in a malay country... for us its different we r living in a multi racial state! yet all the unfair policies!
im just tryin to point out that the minorities r not gettin da treatment like the chinese r getting....but u ppl just dont get it...and think its normal
+1. What i wanted to say.Originally posted by chenc:So you are saying that chinese should be blamed when you cannot find a job?![]()
LOL Don so fast say idiotic can or not? It makes you look the idiotic one leh. If you read my replies, I was referring to the damn customers. When a company wants to recruit people preferring the chinese speaking ones, probably the reason is they need to cater to chinese speaking customers adn most of them are the old old ones lah.Originally posted by expiringpoet:hahaaa...this is so idiotic...hallo? he's questioning those chinese professionals who are recruited into local firms who cannot speak english lah. Why are they old? most are in mid 20s-30s what?
what about the names of places in singapore like Tanjong katong , Tanah Merah and many others ?Originally posted by mancha:True!
The politically correct term is high numbers.
Chinese New Year has new currency notes printed because of high demand.
Hari Raya and Deepavali demand not high enough.
New school name in hanyu pinyin, Tamil, Malay.
Show of hands for which name to pick.
Hanyu Pinyin always has the most.
So we have names like Jiemin, Peixin, Shuqun for schools.
And other unpronounceable names.
Mentioning race is out of bounds.
hello im talkin bout ppl born in SINGAPORE who is not chinese not given equal opportunities as the chinese when it comes to JOB among other things....want to join navy also cannot...when Singapore is not a chinese country...its multi racial..thts wht irks meOriginally posted by udontknowme:hmm...im a chinese living here. and oh yes i do see all the crap that is going on.
but im also not singaporean. which means that i dont get a whole bunch of benefits singaporeans get...
if being shitty to a race is called racism, what is being shitty to someone of another citizenship called?
valentinoo,Originally posted by valentinoo:why wud they chinese and indians in malaysia cry foul when they KNOW they r LIVING in a MALAY LAND??? the govt make it obvious they r living in a malay country... for us its different we r living in a multi racial state! yet all the unfair policies!
cos im just wondering if there is such a word as...citizenship-ism???Originally posted by valentinoo:hello im talkin bout ppl born in SINGAPORE who is not chinese not given equal opportunities as the chinese when it comes to JOB among other things....want to join navy also cannot...when Singapore is not a chinese country...its multi racial..thts wht irks me
why u talking bout citizenship here...
thats old... exist b4 u were bornOriginally posted by lalala1999:what about the names of places in singapore like Tanjong katong , Tanah Merah and many others ?
not to mention , the national anthem itself.
By the way, bosses don't just say they wanted to employ a chinese because they wanted to. Theres always reasons. For example, maybe some jobs cannot allow a Malay to go off and pray on Fridays because maybe that period of the time is when its the busy time slot in the company. Also, some jobs might require you to know and speak chinese or dialet. Or maybe a restraunt is selling pork so Muslims cannot be employed.Originally posted by valentinoo:no its not fine if its already hard to find a freaking job and all u see is ads which dont want to give u a chance just coz u r of a different race...
understood? whts so FINE bout that?
Ur message just reminded me something. If I am not wrong, muslim kids does not need to pay school fees in primary or secondary schools or both. They were also given more MOE book rewards and etc.Originally posted by udontknowme:cos im just wondering if there is such a word as...citizenship-ism???
which obviously does not exist...
you mean you cant join the navy if you are not chinese???? wtf...
multi-racial sounds nice doesnt it??
better than racist.
thats why its used...
what im saying is that malaysia is a malay country...and they have made it clear that they r not being fair to non malays......they r not hypocrites...Originally posted by expiringpoet:valentinoo,
i dont agree with you that what malaysia is doing is fair. imho, all citizens contribute to the nation, no matter the colour they are born in.
so it is not fair, that i'm put into a box of circumstances, becos i'm born indian or chinese in a malay land. god creates humans in different colours , so that we can learn about each other and appreciate our differences, not so that we can make ourselves more superior than the next race.
I have good friends who are indians in malaysia. Indians are quite sad there becos the civil service dont admit indians and of cos chinese businesses dont employ indians or rarely do. So they are neither here nor there. Small wonder, most fall destitute or fall into crime. Who loses here? the country that discriminates against them rite? They are pushing their own crime rate up thru this kind of discriminatory practise.
hehee...good point you brought up.Originally posted by lalala1999:what about the names of places in singapore like Tanjong katong , Tanah Merah and many others ?
not to mention , the national anthem itself.
If that is true, then yea maybe those PR should be going for Eng classes. But usually the companies they want to recruit people who can speak Eng and Mandarin right? Not Mandarin only right? The problem here is probably not with the companies, but because of the nature of the customers they will deal with. Correct some old people can speak malay lah but preferably Chinese mah..Originally posted by valentinoo:yes yes i understand those old ppl cant speak english well..its ok coz during their time they dint go to english school....and by the way these old chinese ppl can speak in other minority languages...coz they mixed wid other races! i seen some old chinese ppl can speak malay...
im talking bout those PRC who were given PR here when they cant speak english...the reasons why the ads r placing mandarin speakers only coz theres a lot of PRC here!...so to accomodate em..we non chinese need to learn mandarin to survive is it? why is that so when Spore official language is english?? why cant those ppl learn english! so there will be no language barrier..
dont talk CO-CK...im a muslim but im not indian or malay...i have to pay fees...my malay classmates also have to pay fees but cheaper a bit..its never FREE...Originally posted by chenc:Ur message just reminded me something. If I am not wrong, muslim kids does not need to pay school fees in primary or secondary schools or both. They were also given more MOE book rewards and etc.
Now do the Chinese start complaining? Come on man, you are so childish.
I'm muslim, i had to pay school fees too, all the way from kindergarten to NUS....Originally posted by chenc:Ur message just reminded me something. If I am not wrong, muslim kids does not need to pay school fees in primary or secondary schools or both. They were also given more MOE book rewards and etc.
Now do the Chinese start complaining? Come on man, you are so childish.