Point taken. But what SIS and I do are my and his perogative.Originally posted by parn:casino_king, don't try to push your ideals on anyone. Post and leave it as it is, unless you're required to make a stand for what you've posted. And do show credibility by replying to the questions when you're questioned.
There's no purpose in trying to convince stupidissmart, what do you want out of this anyway?
Both of you have your own theories, principles about faith and religion. So why not just leave it as it is?
Lastly, what is the purpose of starting this post when you're the post starter and can't keep an open mind to accept other people's opinion?![]()
yes there no god concept in buddhism.Originally posted by casino_king:Can you tell us more about Enlightened people? What are they like? Do they possess supernatural powers (powers that normal unenlightened people do not have?)
Many people who call themselves Buddhists, we know for a fact, do pray to Buddhist versions of Gods.
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Is Consciousness as Fundamental as Space, Time and Energy?
yes there no god concept in buddhism.
Buddhism differes from religions because,
(i) [b]we do not believe in a Creator or an Almighty God who is responsible for all our actions.
(ii) Buddhism, in actual sense, is not a religion, though people generally call it so, because there is no belief in, recognition of, or of a higher unseen authority, or a controlling power, but emotions and morality connected therewith.
(iii) Is a moral philosophy in pursuit of wisdom and knowledge, norms and laws, and all other things connected therewith.
(iv)In Buddhist reasoning the modern reader will find many familiar logical operations from the calculus of propositions. But Buddhism also employs a fourfold scheme that is not found in Aristotelian logic.
It is like saying "I don't do sex... clean and simple."Originally posted by udontknowme:im agnostic.
easy and simple
Originally posted by casino_king:By the normal and usual definition these people are Taoists or Folks-traditions-practitioners, but they themselves do not know that, and they do not know what Buddhism is about, that's why they call themselves Buddhists, although Buddhism has nothing to do with what they practise.
Many people who call themselves Buddhists, we know for a fact, do pray to Buddhist versions of Gods.[/b]
Similiar to the case of newly re-erected "buddha" statue in Bangkok....that one should be a hindu god statue right?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:By the normal and usual definition these people are Taoists or Folks-traditions-practitioners, but they themselves do not know that, and they do not know what Buddhism is about, that's why they call themselves Buddhists, although Buddhism has nothing to do with what they practise.
OK since you do not want to discuss it.Originally posted by udontknowme:hmm...thats not true.
agnostic means that im not sure if i believe if god exists.
doesnt mean im not sure about sex...
what you say would be more appropriate if i were to say im an athiest...
but then again....nevermind...
i dont wish to get into a discussion about religion
It is the same with all religions. There are seekers in every religion that never ever gets it. Christianity, Hinduism, Islam... the same.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:By the normal and usual definition these people are Taoists or Folks-traditions-practitioners, but they themselves do not know that, and they do not know what Buddhism is about, that's why they call themselves Buddhists, although Buddhism has nothing to do with what they practise.
for u info The Four Faced Buddha is NOT a Buddha, but is the god, Brahma.Originally posted by laoda99:Similiar to the case of newly re-erected "buddha" statue in Bangkok....that one should be a hindu god statue right?
it NOT the same.The problem is even the not so informed christians ,muslims know the very basic concept of their religions.Whereas tis so called folk practitioners don't even have the slight idea wat buddhism is all abt.As wat An Eternal Now have explained to uOriginally posted by casino_king:It is the same with all religions. There are seekers in every religion that never ever gets it. Christianity, Hinduism, Islam... the same.
By the normal and usual definition these people are Taoists or Folks-traditions-practitioners, but they themselves do not know that, and they do not know what Buddhism is about, that's why they call themselves Buddhists, although Buddhism has nothing to do with what they practise.BASIC CONCEPT OF BUDDHISM
Those who practise deity worship and folks traditions are more towards Taoism - even though they may worship Buddha and Guan Yin. This is because Chinese Folks practitioners can worship any being they think are divine.
There is still a lot of ignorance of Buddhism. By worshipping Buddha, they did not mix Taoism with Buddhism, it is not even Buddhism at all. Buddhists don't even worship the Buddha and Buddha is not a god. Similarly if they pray to Jesus, they are by no means a Christian.
There is actually no difference between Western interpretation of Buddhism and the Eastern interpretation of Buddhism - it is either Buddhism, or Not buddhism. A Buddhist can only be considered a Buddhist after taking refuge in the Three Treasures, Buddha, Dharma and Sangha
Just as there are many interpretations of scriptures in other religions, there are many in Buddhism.Originally posted by neutral_onliner:1. There is no almighty God in Buddhism. There is no one to hand out rewards or punishments on a supposedly Judgement Day.
2. Buddhism is strictly not a religion in the context of being a faith and worship owing allegiance to a supernatural being.
3. No saviour concept in Buddhism. A Buddha is not a saviour who saves others by his personal salvation. Although a Buddhist seeks refuge in the Buddha as his incomparable guide who indicates the path of purity, he makes no servile surrender. A Buddhist does not think that he can gain purity merely by seeking refuge in the Buddha or by mere faith in Him. It is not within the power of a Buddha to wash away the impurities of others
4. A Buddha is not an incarnation of a god/God (as claimed by some Hindu followers). The relationship between a Buddha and his disciples and followers is that of a teacher and student.
5. The liberation of self is the responsibility of one's own self. Buddhism does not call for an unquestionable blind faith by all Buddhist followers. It places heavy emphasis on self-reliance, self discipline and individual striving.
6. Taking refuge in The Triple Gems i.e. the Buddha, the Dharma and the Sangha; does not mean self-surrender or total reliance on an external force or third party for help or salvation.
7. Dharma (the teachings in Buddhism) exists regardless whether there is a Buddha. Sakyamuni Buddha (as the historical Buddha) discovered and shared the teachings/ universal truths with all sentient beings. He is neither the creator of such teachings nor the prophet of an almighty God to transmit such teachings to others.
8. Especially emphasized in Mahayana Buddhism, all sentient beings have Buddha Nature/ Essence. One can become a Buddha (a supreme enlightened being) in due course if one practises diligently and attains purity of mind (ie absolutely no delusions or afflictions).
9. In Buddhism, the ultimate objective of followers/practitioners is enlightenment and/or liberation from Samsara; rather than to go to a Heaven (or a deva realm in the context of Buddhist cosmology).
10. Karma and Karma Force are cornerstones in Buddhist doctrines. They are expounded very thoroughly in Buddhism. Karma refers to an important metaphysical concept concerned with action and its consequences. This law of karma explains the problem of sufferings, the mystery of the so-called fate and predestination of some religions, and above all the apparent inequality of mankind.
i'm just stating the basic conceptsOriginally posted by casino_king:Just as there are many interpretations of scriptures in other religions, there are many in Buddhism.
If we go down to the essence of Buddhism and Christianity; what we have are Enlightenment and being Born Again. The rest are not important. They are only important for seekers. To help them live their lives.
Your comments about the other religions in comparison to Buddhism are very shallow.
In other words, you have to be born again or enlightened to be able to comment meaningfully. Otherwise it will always be in error.
Originally posted by casino_king:No, they did not interprete the scriptures since they never even read the scriptures - they never tried to justify their practise with Buddhist scriptures. They simply don't know what the Buddha taught.
Just as there are many interpretations of scriptures in other religions, there are many in Buddhism.
No.... there are 2 aspects, one is you become a better person (some become worse.)Originally posted by tarcki:Its all just the work of humans la... Powerful man trying to influence ppl, but it does make us better humans dun u agree?![]()
How do you now that ' born again' in christianity and 'enlightened ' in buddhism are not the same? Are you born again? Are you enlightened?Originally posted by neutral_onliner:i'm just stating the basic concepts
pls dun mixed up ' born again' in christianity with 'enlightened ' in buddhism![]()
There are many levels.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:No, they did not interprete the scriptures since they never even read the scriptures - they never tried to justify their practise with Buddhist scriptures. They simply don't know what the Buddha taught.
I asked you a very simple question: "It is their personal experience. How did you know that the experience is not real? " All you have done is tell me that different people have different experiences. So what is your point? Why do you not want to answer the question?I have probably answer your question in every manner and in every creative manner liao but u still don't get it
Based on my own experiences. Just because you yourself have never had the experience does not mean that others do not right? just because you yourself never had the experience do not then come like a kid shouting, it cannot be it cannot beTalking to u is really a waste of time because u never even answer any question I have asked
God said it or man said it? So you conveniently believe in God when it suits you and do not when it does not suit you?Com'on man it is written in the bible. I do not believe in god but the problem is christians do. Just because I do not believe (but I understand it) in the bible doesn't means I can't talk about it
Why not? When you have Faith in God, God becomes real to you and you have a relationship with God.I have said tis countless times. With faith u can believe in any tooth fairies of santa claus. I don't know about u but the bulk of majority probably need some convincing before blindly have faith in something. However u do not seem to require any convincing and can suddenly just jump in and start believing and god suddenly formed a relationship with u.
Then why not ask God to live your life for you? What is the point of your existence?U don't seem to understand my previous reply at all
Santa and the tooth fairy are constructs of the human mind and I have no intention of putting my faith in construct of the human mind. Are you telling me that you have faith in santa and the tooth fairy and they are now real to you and you are having a relationship with them? Otherwise, why do santa and the tooth fairy come up in this discussion? Man must acknowledge that he cannot fully comprehend God. Man can only cry out to God and put his Faith in God.Using santa claus and tooth fairy is an analogy. The point is with faith, people do believe tat they exists. There r really children who believes in them and they act similarly to people believing in religion. And who say tat religion is not a construct of the human mind ? Since there r so many different and contradictory accounts from the different religion, surely either only 1 or none of them r true and the rest "construct of human mind".
Who? Who blamed men totally for it, you?Everything evil is being blamed on men
I am telling you that you cannot presume to know Good and Evil if you cannot see from eternity to eternity. You cannot the consequences of certain actions beyond your grave. You can't even see all the consequences of your actions while you are still aliveEvil is really simple
The Christian concepts of God and the Hindu concepts of God are concepts opf God. Put your faith in God and not concepts of God.However they r completely different. If they r the same then a hindu is a christian and a christian is a hindu. U can get to see christians walking over charcoals in thaipusam and hindis singing hyms at church at easter. Without a concept there is no god
Why do you want to get into confusing issues like this? This teaching is meant for Jews, you are not a Jew.Originally posted by NT2:some do, some dont.
for eg. to say you are free from punishment simply someone substitute for you and after dying that person came back live again.
such a thing how to make sense??
Instead of answering my questions, you come up with lots of theories and presumptions in your head and you call that answering.Originally posted by stupidissmart:I am wasting my time talking to u. Really. Tis is probably my last reply to tis thread. I have probably answer your question in every manner and in every creative manner liao but u still don't get it
No wonder you are called yourself stupid........ Just because their experience is real everybody have to join them? On what basis? That their experience is real? What if their interpretation of their experience is false? What if they never had the experience and is selling some crap to you? What if they think that they have the experience but they did not? So what is your point? How did you know that people's experience are false?Originally posted by stupidissmart:Let me ask u a question first.
How did u know the experience of cult members is not real ?
If u say they r real, then u surely have to join the cult since it is the logical thing to do. If u say it if false, then i can say"It is their personcal experience. How did u know tat the experience is not real". In tat case everybody in this world r force to join cults Laughing Tis just show how flawed your logic is Laughing
I do not care if their enlightenment is real or not and I do not care and you and I have no way of knowing it; even though you keep insisting that you do.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Talking to u is really a waste of time because u never even answer any question I have asked Rolling Eyes How did u know I never have such experience ? How did u know anyone had such experience ? Just because of word of mouth ? I think I better put back a reply I had made earlier
How do u know an individual has been "enlightened" ? They r his personal experience as well. How would u know ? So every claim from every mad people r all true ?
Are we talking about the bible or are we taking about the experience call being "Born Again?" You were never Born Again, then you were never Born Again! You do not believe in God and you have never been born again, then you have nothing to say. You are not qualified to say anything.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Com'on man it is written in the bible. I do not believe in god but the problem is christians do. Just because I do not believe (but I understand it) in the bible doesn't means I can't talk about it Rolling Eyes
Does Faith in Santa and the tooth fairy results in spiritual awakening? You tried it? You experienced it? You are a child of Santa. Stupid is Smart son of Santa? S.S.S.S. is you acronym? What is your point of bringing up Santa and the tooth fairy if you have never been touched by them?Originally posted by stupidissmart:I have said tis countless times. With faith u can believe in any tooth fairies of santa claus. I don't know about u but the bulk of majority probably need some convincing before blindly have faith in something. However u do not seem to require any convincing and can suddenly just jump in and start believing and god suddenly formed a relationship with u.
How would you know? Did you have a relationship with God? Did God give a a code of conduct after you have Faith in Him and was Born Again into His family? How did you know? Did you find out by putting your Faith in God and be Born Again?Originally posted by stupidissmart:U don't seem to understand my previous reply at all Rolling Eyes Wat u have said however, is offending to people who believe in a religion tat feature a omnipotent god tat request its believers to follow certain code of conduct or get to be in trouble in future
I tell you that it is a false analogy unless you can tell me that you had the Santa and tooth fairy experience. The children told you that believing gave them a spiritual awakening? When you have a spiritual awakening; when you are born again, come back here and talk, otherwise, you are just wasting everybody's time with your wild speculations.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Using santa claus and tooth fairy is an analogy. The point is with faith, people do believe tat they exists. There r really children who believes in them and they act similarly to people believing in religion. And who say tat religion is not a construct of the human mind ? Since there r so many different and contradictory accounts from the different religion, surely either only 1 or none of them r true and the rest "construct of human mind".
Did you blame everything evil on man? Did you blame everything evil on Adam eating a fruit? Did you believe that the universe was created in six days? The Adam and Eve story was a parable. When Jesus told the old man that he must be Born Again, did you think that Jesus was stupid or were you confused by what Jesus meant?Originally posted by stupidissmart:Everything evil is being blamed on men Rolling Eyes Tat is wat the bible teaches. In fact everything evil u see today is simply because adam eat a fruit. Rolling Eyes Why don't u find out more about christainity before attempting tis topic.
Whose morals? Whose authority? Yours? Now I understand, you presume that you know Good and Evil because, it was based on your authority; based on your judgement; you have the ability to do that because you are from eternity to eternity..... I have only one word for you. Delusional.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Evil is really simple. Morally bad or wrong.
Even a child know tis and everybody in tis world is using tis word freely. In tat case u cannot use the word "eternity" as well unless u can tell me when does eternity start and when does it end Laughing
People can practice and express their experiences in whatever way the like. Does not change the fact that you must put your Faith in God and not in idols.You must put your Faith in God and not do endless religious rituals. Christian or HinduOriginally posted by stupidissmart:However they r completely different. If they r the same then a hindu is a christian and a christian is a hindu. U can get to see christians walking over charcoals in thaipusam and hindis singing hyms at church at easter. Without a concept there is no god Rolling Eyes
I do not care if their enlightenment is real or not and I do not care and you and I have no way of knowing it; even though you keep insisting that you do.Then since u do not care if it is real or not, I can cut and paste your previous answer into tis again
A person on the other hand know what he or she experiences. You do not know what the other person experienced. Just because you did not have the exoerience that that person experienced, it means that the experience of the other person is false? On what basis? Brain surgery? Done by you, brain surgeon number one of the world?
Are we talking about the bible or are we taking about the experience call being "Born Again?" You were never Born Again, then you were never Born Again! You do not believe in God and you have never been born again, then you have nothing to say. You are not qualified to say anything.I can again use your earlier reply on u
Does Faith in Santa and the tooth fairy results in spiritual awakening? You tried it? You experienced it? You are a child of Santa. Stupid is Smart son of Santa? S.S.S.S. is you acronym? What is your point of bringing up Santa and the tooth fairy if you have never been touched by them?Again I can use back your earlier reply for tis answer
How would you know? Did you have a relationship with God? Did God give a a code of conduct after you have Faith in Him and was Born Again into His family? How did you know? Did you find out by putting your Faith in God and be Born Again?I said I have been "spiritually awakened" before. So your above statement is not valid
I tell you that it is a false analogy unless you can tell me that you had the Santa and tooth fairy experience. The children told you that believing gave them a spiritual awakening? When you have a spiritual awakening; when you are born again, come back here and talk, otherwise, you are just wasting everybody's time with your wild speculationsfinally a reply tat do not have to use back your own words against u
Did you blame everything evil on man? Did you blame everything evil on Adam eating a fruit? Did you believe that the universe was created in six days? The Adam and Eve story was a parable. When Jesus told the old man that he must be Born Again, did you think that Jesus was stupid or were you confused by what Jesus meant?Adam and eve was a parable
Whose morals? Whose authority? Yours? Now I understand, you presume that you know Good and Evil because, it was based on your authority; based on your judgement; you have the ability to do that because you are from eternity to eternity..... I have only one word for you. Delusional.U r just playing with words. If u want to play tis game I can also play as well
People can practice and express their experiences in whatever way the like. Does not change the fact that you must put your Faith in God and not in idols.You must put your Faith in God and not do endless religious rituals. Christian or HinduSo u r telling tat rituals r "endless" and not important ? Then tell them not to do lah ! Stop the hindus from walking over charcoals and restraint christian from singing hyms. Who r u to say they r not important ? Whose authority? Yours?