don't act the peacemaker, git!Originally posted by kaeden:there they go again![]()
chill ppl chill...
u're right. i dun need to show the world how smart i am. but how come u need to show the world how dumb u are?Originally posted by Advante_101:The prob will stop if u will just STFU...dun need to show the world how smart u are..And stop twisting my words around
There u go again...Stop adding ur own extra words into it...like wat i need to show the world how dumb i am...hahaha wat a joke...stop adding extra things la...u nothing better to do go slp la..why u uk there no fren ah..poor thing sia..Originally posted by HENG@:u're right. i dun need to show the world how smart i am. but how come u need to show the world how dumb u are?
i never twist yr words. however, if u're not man enough to admit what u say, then its too bad. why don't YOU STFU 1st?
or once again, has the women got to do the men's jobs for them again?
exactly. like why u need to show the world how dumb u are. so y do u keep doing it?Originally posted by Advante_101:There u go again...Stop adding ur own extra words into it...like wat i need to show the world how dumb i am...hahaha wat a joke...stop adding extra things la...u nothing better to do go slp la..why u uk there no fren ah..poor thing sia..
hmmmm, the "supremacist attitude " isOriginally posted by HENG@:personally, if its about the PRC's english, then yes im inclined to say their english generally is not good. I know so many PRCs here in UK, some have been here 4 years. FOUR years and they haven't picked up on english well yet! Its not that they can't do it. My mom had a PRC student in her school whose went from non-english speaker when he arrived in Sg aged 15, to a B3 when he was 16. In one year! He even made the jump from normal academic to express stream. By his A levels at 17, his english was at lest A2 standard. What excuse do the ones who are studying in an ENGLISH speaking country have, for not improving their language? isn't it a good thing to be fluent in more than one language? I think these PRCs are doing themselves the biggest disservice. And why can't they pick up on english? Simple. They have this supremacist attitude about being chinese, as tho its beyond a chinese's duty to learn english. Which is just so wrong isn't it? They cry discrimination but they're guilty of it themselves. the PRCs are not talentless people u know. being able to study here already proves it. So why refuse to learn english?
So yes, very factually, PRC's english tend to be bad. BUT, they can bloody do something about it if they wanted to. The big question is, DO THEY WANT TO?
They are proud of their chinese language and they dun need american bastards language to survive...Same applies to the Japanese people..they feel tat their Japanese is more superior then english & dun need it to survive...Not like u angmoh chinese wannabeOriginally posted by HENG@:personally, if its about the PRC's english, then yes im inclined to say their english generally is not good. I know so many PRCs here in UK, some have been here 4 years. FOUR years and they haven't picked up on english well yet! Its not that they can't do it. My mom had a PRC student in her school whose went from non-english speaker when he arrived in Sg aged 15, to a B3 when he was 16. In one year! He even made the jump from normal academic to express stream. By his A levels at 17, his english was at lest A2 standard. What excuse do the ones who are studying in an ENGLISH speaking country have, for not improving their language? isn't it a good thing to be fluent in more than one language? I think these PRCs are doing themselves the biggest disservice. And why can't they pick up on english? Simple. They have this supremacist attitude about being chinese, as tho its beyond a chinese's duty to learn english. Which is just so wrong isn't it? They cry discrimination but they're guilty of it themselves. the PRCs are not talentless people u know. being able to study here already proves it. So why refuse to learn english?
So yes, very factually, PRC's english tend to be bad. BUT, they can bloody do something about it if they wanted to. The big question is, DO THEY WANT TO?
if u think about it, they're smart people (they've got to be if they're in Imperial College)Originally posted by ha8n:hmmmm, the "supremacist attitude " is
something new to mi...
Originally posted by HENG@:personally, if its about the PRC's english, then yes im inclined to say their english generally is not good. I know so many PRCs here in UK, some have been here 4 years. FOUR years and they haven't picked up on english well yet! Its not that they can't do it. My mom had a PRC student in her school whose went from non-english speaker when he arrived in Sg aged 15, to a B3 when he was 16. In one year! He even made the jump from normal academic to express stream. By his A levels at 17, his english was at lest A2 standard. What excuse do the ones who are studying in an ENGLISH speaking country have, for not improving their language? isn't it a good thing to be fluent in more than one language? I think these PRCs are doing themselves the biggest disservice. And why can't they pick up on english? Simple. They have this supremacist attitude about being chinese, as tho its beyond a chinese's duty to learn english. Which is just so wrong isn't it? They cry discrimination but they're guilty of it themselves. the PRCs are not talentless people u know. being able to study here already proves it. So why refuse to learn english?
dear dreamery_b,Originally posted by Advante_101:They are proud of their chinese language and they dun need american bastards language to survive...Same applies to the Japanese people..they feel tat their Japanese is more superior then english & dun need it to survive...Not like u angmoh chinese wannabesomemore still got the audacity to look down on pple who are not on par with u...Traitor...No matter how gd u are...to me u are a british dog
tat kind of small dog u noe like terrier lidat tat goes woof woof non stop 1...pple say 1 word..the dog say 100 words one ?? hehehe so entertaining~~~Wat else u 12 say somemore huh dog? faster if not i gg to slp liao
tt means collectively they're assumed masters of earth (though they are just in theory n practical so called shrewd ,when actual fact they "follow" others' ideas ) nOriginally posted by HENG@:if u think about it, they're smart people (they've got to be if they're in Imperial College)
how come smart people can spend 4 years in england and not speak fairly fluent english? because they stubbornly refused to try to pick it up beyond what they need for classes. mix only amongst themselves also, how to learn? They choose to alienate themselves, in the process doing themselves a big disservice. Sad.
U think i give a damn about you ?? think again manz..Originally posted by HENG@:dear dreamery_b,
see what i mean? the idiot speaks. he has no idea that refusing to learn other languages is not being proud of one's own language. it is stupidity of the highest order. then again, looking at the stupid and useless things he's been posting all this time, we dun really expect anything else from him do we?
no wonder we have an extreme response from trendz. u say its not understandable? i say its very understandable.
as for the deluded advante101, sorry to say, your world has left u years ago. no wonder u're such an angry person. If i were a caveman like u, I'd be confused too. Thus far, u're the only person in this thread i look down on. Why? because i can![]()
huh? my uk friends look at forums, but they dun have registered nicks. what talking u? assume again? please, no brains dun try to assume things. gets dumb n dumber.Originally posted by Advante_101:OHH u dun have any frens until so jialat must take sgforum pple as ur real frens ar ?? heheheheh sibay pathetic leh..i pity u actualli..But i can understand la..Who wans to befren such a person like u?? now u say summer holiday no1 jio u out ah...poor thing sia i see u like 24hrs a day stuck in ur room lidat leh..haiz ok dun say u liao wait u cry
dun give a damn talk so much here? pls leh, try harder. such a loserOriginally posted by Advante_101:U think i give a damn about you ?? think again manz..![]()
True..well saidOriginally posted by Allen.Iverson:i dont understand how one stupid thread started by a stupid girl can get so many stupid posts. PRC english sucks so??? why not say ENGLAND CHINESE SUCK? fu.cking dumb if u ask me.
I have to disagree. 1stly, the issue here is on the PRCs. From the many PRCs I personally know, and the sort of attitude they display towards english, I say its very fair to say they have a supremacist attitudes. I won't comment about Japs and Koreans since I don't know many, but the few japs I know here speak damn good english (one sounds like a californian even tho he only stayed in cali for 3 years)Originally posted by dreameryb:I shall refrain from the bickering between you and 101 since this has to do with another thread which i do not intend to pursue at this point...
But your view that "And why can't they pick up on english? Simple. They have this supremacist attitude about being chinese, as tho its beyond a chinese's duty to learn english. " is skewed to the extent that it is shouting for a rebuttal.
If anything you must know, learning English is a fervent business in China (and other non-English speaking countries like Japan and Korea). People have a strong motivation to grasp the language well due to the currency English attains in today's world. Now the truth is most Chinese, Japanese and Koreans do not possess good command of the language, even they have resided in UK or US for an extended period of time. My question is: Does this imply that Japanese and Koreans and also guilty of the "supremacist" attidute you are accusing the PRCs of?
The real reason they cannot grasp the language well is due to the inherent complexities of foreign language acquisition for adults. For an non English speaking child to be relocated and live in the US/UK and even Singapore, s/he easily pick up the language. For adults it's a totally different story. There is this critical period hypothesis, which I shall not belabor here, since it's unrelated.
no shit. english people can't speak chinese. its even funnier when u consider that many english people can't speak english well either.Originally posted by Allen.Iverson:i dont understand how one stupid thread started by a stupid girl can get so many stupid posts. PRC english sucks so??? why not say ENGLAND CHINESE SUCK? fu.cking dumb if u ask me.
brainless words like yours are most certainly worth nothing.Originally posted by Advante_101:HAHAHAHAA......words are worth nothing...I can say tomoro meeting with alibaba liao..but alibaba haven prepared his horses yet lolz......
I drop out of kindergarten ??? how u noe ?? Wah~~ so cleverOriginally posted by HENG@:brainless words like yours are most certainly worth nothing.
so why did u drop out of kindergarten? 1+1 is too hard for u?![]()