Just because one side is easier to understand doesn't mean anyone's making sense.Originally posted by xinyi!:Quit thinking with your southern brain will ya?
at least Heng talks sense u dumbass mofo.
since the moment this is posted in a forum for all to see and commentOriginally posted by Advante_101:Eh gukkie...mind ur own business la since when involved u ?

That's more like it!Originally posted by HENG@:only certain dummies. if u're smart, no problem![]()
are u the hell rider?Originally posted by markzz:That's more like it!
*Rides off into the sunset on the desert highway*
VROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!
Alamak....I watched too much "Torque" liao!![]()
No la..I'm the Long-haired hero..the main character!Originally posted by HENG@:are u the hell rider?![]()
ok la. this one everyone also repeat to death liao. XY also tio ban liao. say also no use. save yr breath, dun talk to thin air.Originally posted by a_splash:lets put it this way, only people who loves you and care for u are concern and wory....
diff ppl have diff level and degree of concern and wory and ways of showing them.....
bear with your parents, try to understand their concern...afterall they are the ones who bring u up......
don't they have even some rites to ask some questions????
like advante said it.....
who will be the ones with heartache and cry and the first to rush down should anything happened????
like someone told me do your neighbours scold u when u did wrong?? no....they won't be bothered....
parents bothered cos u are their children.....
is it so hard to have parents and children relationship??
ha ha no lah,....i m not toking to xinyi....just sharing my tots now that i m a parent myself....Originally posted by HENG@:ok la. this one everyone also repeat to death liao. XY also tio ban liao. say also no use. save yr breath, dun talk to thin air.![]()
sometimes good intentions can result in bad actions. loving someone means letting them make mistakes and fall. overprotection can sometimes go over the boundries of what is love and what is obsessive compulsive disorder.Originally posted by a_splash:its funny....
parents try hard to provide their children the best education etc....let them learn...
some overlearnt just to find their parents irritating....![]()
Originally posted by HENG@:this i fully agreed.....
[b]sometimes good intentions can result in bad actions. loving someone means letting them make mistakes and fall. overprotection can sometimes go over the boundries of what is love and what is obsessive compulsive disorder.
If u've caused your child damage in the process of overprotecting him or her, will u take responsiblity for it? If you do, can u bear that guilt?
I don't disagree that parents generally try hard. but they can try too hard. nothing is good taken in extreme.[/b]
and yet not every parent over protects their children.Originally posted by a_splash:ha ha no lah,....i m not toking to xinyi....just sharing my tots now that i m a parent myself....i m sure its not inly xinyi has such thinking...many others too....its natural i think....
i was also once young and well a bit 'rebellous'![]()
its all the damaged children who have been damaged in the name of parental love, who make me sad when i look at them. and then there are those parents who teach their child to hate, in the name of morals.Originally posted by a_splash:this i fully agreed.....
but wat to do,....like i said in one post we are all born a child....not parent....to be a parent is another learning processs.....
its really tough....i never like reading....my dad caught me sleeping with books in front of me ha ha
but for my children, i started reading up....and well i maybe make mistakes (in parenting) and fall too....pick up and try again lor
but not all parents will know such theories...so will its a two way thing...
yup, nodding in agreement...Originally posted by HENG@:and yet not every parent over protects their children.
a good parent should not be one who never allows his or her child to make mistakes. a good parent is one who is there to pick his or her child up after a mistake and explain to them where it's gone wrong.
Originally posted by HENG@:care to elaborate??
its all the damaged children who have been damaged in the name of parental love, who make me sad when i look at them. and then there are those parents who [b]teach their child to hate, in the name of morals.[/b]
oh u see it all the time. teach their children to discriminate against race, gender, sexuality.Originally posted by a_splash:care to elaborate??
ya i rem the ruler cut on my palm and i still hate it...Originally posted by sohguanh:If caning is not a good deterrent and tool, our Spore prison system would not have use cane as their punishment besides imprisonment. So in a way I think cane should not be abolished but instead be re-ignited and glorified to bring back to good old days of the past era.
PS. I still remember the caning that teacher gave me hehehee.....
of course, the chance is also that with ever obidient kid it churns out, it produces one mentally extremely unstable, violatile and violent kid. the thing with caning is, it so black or white, that the results are also black or white.Originally posted by sohguanh:Since we are on parenting topic and I will soon be one, I like to put forth my few cents worth of opinion. I subscribe to the old school thought of caning. Me and my siblings grew up from an era where caning is meted out as punishment at home and also at school when normal teachers are also given the rights to cane unlike now.
And now we are grown up, we believe caning do in fact play an important part in shaping us to the current day status. Obedience and respect for teachers and parents are it's end product. Looking at current crop of children, their respect are almost nil simple becuz no one believe in cane anymore. They believe teaching by love. I beg to differ. Only inflicted pain can make one remember their mistake for life.
If caning is not a good deterrent and tool, our Spore prison system would not have use cane as their punishment besides imprisonment. So in a way I think cane should not be abolished but instead be re-ignited and glorified to bring back to good old days of the past era.
PS. I still remember the caning that teacher gave me hehehee.....
ok understand a little bit....Originally posted by HENG@:oh u see it all the time. teach their children to discriminate against race, gender, sexuality.
just think of the sort of bullcrap parents tell their kids and i get angry. worse. tell them something misguided and make the kids suffer unnecessary guilt over something that is entirely natural.
Originally posted by sohguanh:this is not a result of no caning...its a result of No Correct Teaching!
The end product of a so called lax society is wat we see in Spore now. Kids challenge teachers to fight, threaten parents with suicide, no respect for law and teachers. This is the result. Is it any good?
I think it's pretty good.Originally posted by sohguanh:The end product of a so called lax society is wat we see in Spore now. Kids challenge teachers to fight, threaten parents with suicide, no respect for law and teachers. This is the result. Is it any good?
Yes I did. It never worked. All it did was make me resentful. I got caned for not knowing my maths as a kid, now thanks to it, I hate maths to the core. Fear and pain made me a very disturbed individual for a long time. Resentment took a long time to cleanse out of me.Originally posted by sohguanh:Did you grew up in the caning era? Have you ever serve NS in Spore? You will know punishment are always there to instill discipline. Be it at home or in army the concept is same. Fear and pain is the best teaching tool with high odds of success.
So your kids are just dogs or convicts to you. I see. Yes I must say I pity them. Btw u talk a lot about pain being a good teacher, but u'll probably be the 1st one to cry if its inflicted on you. I'm a sado-masochist and yet I do not believe in inflicting pain on children.Originally posted by sohguanh:It is done in ancient times rite? Kill one to serve as a warning to all other potential law breaking ppl. You have to admit only fear be it direct or indirect can discipline be restored. Of cuz execution sounds drastic but cane to make them feel pain is enuff to get your point across.
PS... even with pets like dog... cane is a good teaching tool. They grew up to be smart and know when some discipline is required. If animal is taught tat way, I don't see why kids cannot be taught tat way. The same goes for animals performing in circus. Pain is good teacher.