If tutorial teacher don't give mini lecture might as well we don't go school.We do tutorial Qns based on our notes and textbook and not on what the lecturer taught for we don't remember anything.Do they not understand that one teacher cannot teach a class of 500 studentsOriginally posted by shade343:Lecture time is for lecture. Tutorial time is for tutorial. Lecture time only lecture. By right, tutorial teacher shldnt give mini lecture during tutorial.![]()
I know lectures are impt but why can't one teacher do both.I'm sure if we were in a smaller group size we would understand the lectures better.Originally posted by 798:lectures can be boring but it is a MUST as it briefs the concepts of theories. tutorials only to guide you to achieve how much you absorbed from lectures n notes.
in poly u still can survive as exams are similiar to tutorials. but in uni, hahaha... dun even try to skip lecture.![]()
Where got 1 lecturer to 500 students?Originally posted by YummyGummy:If tutorial teacher don't give mini lecture might as well we don't go school.We do tutorial Qns based on our notes and textbook and not on what the lecturer taught for we don't remember anything.Do they not understand that one teacher cannot teach a class of 500 students
it's difficult to absorb everything in ur memory once in a week n forget if lecture n tutorial to squeeze together in one single day.Originally posted by YummyGummy:I know lectures are impt but why can't one teacher do both.I'm sure if we were in a smaller group size we would understand the lectures better.
I don't think anyone would ask questions to the lecturer since there are so many people in the lecture theatre...Originally posted by 798:u did mention u dun understand anything wat lecturers are teaching. why not before 5 or 10 mins before lecture, take out ur notes n browse thru for 10 over pages?
u dun have to understand fully wat the notes fully but it will helps u to familize wat is happening or will clear ur doubt fully by questioning lecturer since u have questions prepare for them to ans.
i mean can ask after lecture. if less students asking, the more benefit for me to ask.Originally posted by technoboy:I don't think anyone would ask questions to the lecturer since there are so many people in the lecture theatre...
actually...it also depends on what diploma U are in....Originally posted by YummyGummy:As a first year poly student,I am just familiarizing myself to tertiary education.However i still cannot understand why is there a need to break up lessons into lectures and tutorials.i think Lectures are just a pure waste of time,Most don't bother to listen and even if we do we don't understand anything.In the end the tutorial teacher has to give a "mini lecture" all over again.What a waste of time! Why can't they just combine the both together like in secondary schools.What is the reason for breaking it up?
and while U are at it...just to point out...at tertiary level....meaning poly/uni...the people who teach U are ur lecturers/tutors....not teachers.Originally posted by YummyGummy:I am just familiarizing myself to tertiary education.
They should cut the principal's and the board of governer's salary.Originally posted by dark_snowboy:poly is not your seconday school you know..
there are much more students to one teacher in poly than in secondary school. if you want a mini lecture, you want to pay more school fees?
uni if u r lucky, some of the kind lecturers are kind enough to have extra sessions of Q&A sessions regarding lecture n tutorial questions, but too bad the mini session might fall on evening or saturday.Originally posted by starblue:poly tutorials got mini lectures?? uni one dun have leh.... they go straight to the tutorial questions. o.O
dun skip lectures lah. listen then go back write your own notes to reinforce wad you've just heard.. liddat sure ace one.![]()
nah... i always rely on asking questions right after lecture or tutorial. going to their office still must ask around where. my poly bro also cannot catch up with his engineering maths cos he never take A maths. then tell him go and ask questions after the lesson or after school he die die also dun wan. -_-"Originally posted by 798:uni if u r lucky, some of the kind lecturers are kind enough to have extra sessions of Q&A sessions regarding lecture n tutorial questions, but too bad the mini session might fall on evening or saturday.