Originally posted by newmanmback:
well guys like cars...but not all guys are into cars...but i am seeing obsessions with cars and owning it means success, suave and the abilitiy to pick up girls...well yes in the sense u be the chaffeur lor....but i am seeing many ppl acting up trying to own one and ended up with nothing left after migration (yeh migration is another thing)...i mean for those truely rich ppl its okay but there are those who are trying to act rich, do migration god i find it so contradictive...moving away seeking a better life and ended up with only hehe 20k Aussie to spend over tthere on a bat mobile...i mean face it migration is for the rich and wealthy and those who got the as s for it for others to fulfil their personal 1st world dreams...pls gahmen make car affordable...not for me dun mistake ... for them help them....see how this group of ppl are breaking down into psychologically
You are right, you have to be pretty rich to own a car in Singapore and put your kids through college.
I don't expect the State to be able to pay more than 10% when my kids go to college, cause everyone will be in college at that stage, it's the world we live in now.
I am a doc and I can't afford a car in Singapore, what more other people.
I don't buy this congestion issue and we must control the car population.
Several years back some MP was quoted as saying that if we consumed vehicles the same as other industrial societies, we will need three times the road space.
I think it is the lack of invention and management on LTA and highly paid transport ministers' part. Singaporeans want their cars and they should do all they can to make us a car driven society.
If they truly issue long bonds, 10-years, 15-years, 20-years and 30-years and finance a massive infrastructure building program to triple deck all current expressways we should have 3 times the roadspace for all major thorougfares. (ie. stack a flyover on top , surface road and tunnel)
Additionally, using the ERP gantries we can bill all surface roads in our towns for people who are unfamiliar with the towns. But if you are a town resident you can scoot around in tunnel interconnects from suburb to suburb to parking garage to parking garage.
We pay alot in direct and indirect taxatioon for cars and they go to consolidated accounts?!?!, We ought to spend every cent collected on transportation and funding road buidling programmes.
I hate the public transport (it works if you got time), else you wake up earlier, walk 10-15 mins to the pick-up point in the sweltering heat, wait 10-15mins (sometimes full), make it, cram like sardines in a tin-can, no seat, standing room only, make it to work in great discomfort - when you could have gone there in your car in 15 mins ..... Life sucks
This is one issue enough to migrate.