lol. study at night? I study at night with my dog at home. considered study group? rofl.Originally posted by FireIce:study groups!
Land in Sg is scarce so i can go with all the excuses on taxing and blood su ckin this and that. The excuse of owning a car for convenience is appropriate....but not giving the notion that owning one means success. In a small island as SG owning one MAY NOT ALWAYS be wise. There are taxis around and weighing the convenient and costs of riding in a cab against owning a car...after all u dun wanna queue and wait and sweat and be sandwished like a burger right don't u? u can take a cab as and when u like. adding all the taxes and fuel costs against cab fares the results clear what it should be for each and every individual.Originally posted by Dogtor:You are right, you have to be pretty rich to own a car in Singapore and put your kids through college.
I don't expect the State to be able to pay more than 10% when my kids go to college, cause everyone will be in college at that stage, it's the world we live in now.
I am a doc and I can't afford a car in Singapore, what more other people.
I don't buy this congestion issue and we must control the car population.
Several years back some MP was quoted as saying that if we consumed vehicles the same as other industrial societies, we will need three times the road space.
I think it is the lack of invention and management on LTA and highly paid transport ministers' part. Singaporeans want their cars and they should do all they can to make us a car driven society.
If they truly issue long bonds, 10-years, 15-years, 20-years and 30-years and finance a massive infrastructure building program to triple deck all current expressways we should have 3 times the roadspace for all major thorougfares. (ie. stack a flyover on top , surface road and tunnel)
Additionally, using the ERP gantries we can bill all surface roads in our towns for people who are unfamiliar with the towns. But if you are a town resident you can scoot around in tunnel interconnects from suburb to suburb to parking garage to parking garage.
We pay alot in direct and indirect taxatioon for cars and they go to consolidated accounts?!?!, We ought to spend every cent collected on transportation and funding road buidling programmes.
I hate the public transport (it works if you got time), else you wake up earlier, walk 10-15 mins to the pick-up point in the sweltering heat, wait 10-15mins (sometimes full), make it, cram like sardines in a tin-can, no seat, standing room only, make it to work in great discomfort - when you could have gone there in your car in 15 mins ..... Life sucks
This is one issue enough to migrate.
u want this sgforum to close is itOriginally posted by FireIce:u jus need to change one thing
the govt.![]()
pathetic...hitch hike lolll...Originally posted by newmanmback:Land in Sg is scarce so i can go with all the excuses on taxing and blood su ckin this and that. The excuse of owning a car for convenience is appropriate....but not giving the notion that owning one means success. In a small island as SG owning one MAY NOT ALWAYS be wise. There are taxis around and weighing the convenient and costs of riding in a cab against owning a car...after all u dun wanna queue and wait and sweat and be sandwished like a burger right don't u? u can take a cab as and when u like. adding all the taxes and fuel costs against cab fares the results clear what it should be for each and every individual.
So back to the question again. Owing a car or having a ride in a car? U decide. Riding in a car to reach your destination or simply riding in a car so that you can call it your own and show the world at the expense of burning a hole in your pockets and adding figures to your monthly expenses?
As for those who has ever been overseas esp continents...it is in fact wise to own at least 4 good wheels....reliable wheels not luxuries wheels. Bus rides to train stations costs and the process duration may be hell...hitch-hike in a ride is common (here in sg when i was posted to certain camp i hitch-hike with my camp mates in pick up trucks too!). Working overseas also see ppl staying in hostels instead of Sg where you can go home every day after work.
ya loh. i strongly agrees on this 1.Originally posted by gnoik:More life in spore - after 10pm all shops close liao![]()
really i dun care if a doc owns a car or not...ey 50k civic only dun com here tok c ock lah your relative is a virtual chracter created in your mind and expressed in words here in this thread...this virtual character drove 130 car which is better than your 50kcivic that's the success of your creation to cover what u cannot achieve in real physical lifeOriginally posted by valentinoo:pathetic...hitch hike lolll...
i dont believe a doctor cant afford a car..what kind of doc r u? wid PHD or medical doc..my relative is a medical doctor and he drove a new audi which cost 130 K...and he is not yet 30
surely no one is closing it and no one can just because of this commentOriginally posted by valentinoo:u want this sgforum to close is it
Originally posted by valentinoo:Medical doc .....
pathetic...hitch hike lolll...
i dont believe a doctor cant afford a car..what kind of doc r u? wid PHD or medical doc..my relative is a medical doctor and he drove a new audi which cost 130 K...and he is not yet 30
Originally posted by newmanmback:Taxis are great --- but at peak hours also got problems for you right?!?
Land in Sg is scarce so i can go with all the excuses on taxing and blood su ckin this and that. The excuse of owning a car for convenience is appropriate....but not giving the notion that owning one means success. In a small island as SG owning one MAY NOT ALWAYS be wise. There are taxis around and weighing the convenient and costs of riding in a cab against owning a car...after all u dun wanna queue and wait and sweat and be sandwished like a burger right don't u? u can take a cab as and when u like. adding all the taxes and fuel costs against cab fares the results clear what it should be for each and every individual.
So back to the question again. Owing a car or having a ride in a car? U decide. Riding in a car to reach your destination or simply riding in a car so that you can call it your own and show the world at the expense of burning a hole in your pockets and adding figures to your monthly expenses?
As for those who has ever been overseas esp continents...it is in fact wise to own at least 4 good wheels....reliable wheels not luxuries wheels. Bus rides to train stations costs and the process duration may be hell...hitch-hike in a ride is common (here in sg when i was posted to certain camp i hitch-hike with my camp mates in pick up trucks too!). Working overseas also see ppl staying in hostels instead of Sg where you can go home every day after work.[/b]
Great idea. So we have ministers who will be paid ten times more.Originally posted by seow:Make every car cost ten times of what it is now.![]()
Originally posted by Dogtor:Taxis are great --- but at peak hours also got problems for you right?!?
----> okay u can call cab in advance will be charges...can add in to your cab facres and compare with driving in car and fuel there...sg cab interconnecting and communication sys quite okay so any cab in the area can reach a passenger most (well not always lah) of the time.
Besides employing people to drive ... sometimes is that productive? Why have someone driving you around when you could have driven yourself?
------> for me i dun want to drive if i am out drinking, high, drunk, after a hard day's work u know...gettin someone to drive me to reach my destination is better in such cases.
All these taxis cruising around trying to pick up passengers burn gas - ?is it wasteful?
------> Taxis run on diesel and diesel. yes its wasteful and that will be at the expense of the taxi drivers....so they are not idiots sitting around cos every drop of fuel wasted shall be charged to their own expenses and they hav to make a living. taxi drivers know where the best to pick up after they drop a passenger..and like i said they communication hardware on board are so tthat they can respond a call and pick up the next passenger at the next turn of the road. luxurious car runs on petroleum (e.g except Jaguar i think) and if u hav been driving one and paying for it u know what the feel is like esp those cars that 'drinks' like a vampire hehe
Why do we pay extra charge when we call in for a cab when thinking about it, it is a more efficient way of allocating a resource, since cab can idle the engine and pick up passenger at appropriate place?
------>well okay not entirely wrong.
My other gripes is that when you have young kids and need to go grocery shopping, lugging a stroller, 3 kids, and are on-call for rapid mobilisation for the army needing to return in 2 hours with full battle order - where do you stash your stuff and deal with the grocery buying and still need to find a cab?
------> okay every family has their own schedule....i dun know mayb u go malaysia shop then like that. if u shop locally in sg u dun hav to wait till ur family's around u then u shop for groceries rite? i mean as a father to ligthen the family's workload u can go buying groceries on your own...dun hav to involve your kids and them tagging along...i dun know about u mayb u like it this way...and with appropriate timming u can actually buy your groceries at any time during the weekdays when u are free during lunch break at work. dun tell me u will use up all your cooking oil, soap and shampoo all at once that u need to buy them all at once? i mean in sg lah...overseas may not be so.
When your daughter comes home from prom and its 12 midnight you tell them to take a cab?
------> i tell them to stay at cheap hotel with the other girls and share the expense....
It is a way of life ... ... Sg may be a little congested but I am quite sure with planning and ingenuity, and determination we can surely allow many of us to achieve a superbly high quality of life ... and that includes personally determined transportation.
-------> okay cheers
P.S. I wonder how many MPs and ministers take the public transport? I think Swedish parliamentarians do right? Do unto others as you would ahve others do unto you.