is the bottomline to stop smoking or make more tax money?Originally posted by dracky:Let's look at some numbers. The government collects $721 million a year from cigarette tax. At $11 a pack, Singapore has already seen smuggling increase by 470% according to seizure figures released by Singapore Immigration.
Start a riot? Are you smoking pot?
They will never ban one ah. Sure high revenue they get from selling.Originally posted by 3strips:Farking hell.... wan to BAN just ban la... like farking pussy... ai mai ai mai..
Dun wan ban then allow people to smoke where they like. LIKE smoke inside their cabinate isit??? KNN.
Indeed, with the amount of money collected from tobacco, the government can easily build many smoking lounges or smoking corners exclusively for smokers. Or they can credit extra dollars to smokers' medisave. Shouldn't let non-smokers enjoy the benefits of taxes collected from smokers.Originally posted by redpicanto:They will never ban one ah. Sure high revenue they get from selling.
For those non-smoker, u should be thanking me and other smokers cause we contributed a lot to the country by just buying cigarette lah.
The goverment should come up with a medical fund for smokers who contributed so much to the revenue.![]()
its very crystal clear and no doubt at allOriginally posted by dragg:is the bottomline to stop smoking or make more tax money?