because the scan was in 2 weeks time, duhOriginally posted by dragg:why didnt they do a head scan?
That's the SHEER STUPIDITY and INCOMPETENCE of Public Healthcare!Originally posted by dragg:a 30 year old man with bad headache was given painkillers by a GP.
the medication did not help. he went to TTSH. the attending doctor diagnosed a normal headache. that evening he fell into a coma. he was pronounced brain dead. taken off life support he died. the doctor said bleeding in his head caused him to lapse into coma.
earlier he was given a referral letter to the neurology clinic. the family was told the earliest appointment then was in 2 weeks time.![]()
knn, can and will you wait 2 weeks to see a specialist if you have intense headache?![]()
Seriously, what kind of efficiency is this, wherein a erferral appointment for accute headache is 2 weeks at the earliest?Originally posted by dragg:a 30 year old man with bad headache was given painkillers by a GP.
the medication did not help. he went to TTSH. the attending doctor diagnosed a normal headache. that evening he fell into a coma. he was pronounced brain dead. taken off life support he died. the doctor said bleeding in his head caused him to lapse into coma.
earlier he was given a referral letter to the neurology clinic. the family was told the earliest appointment then was in 2 weeks time.![]()
knn, can and will you wait 2 weeks to see a specialist if you have intense headache?![]()
i wonder what causes someone to bleed in the brain?Originally posted by HENG@:WTF! NOT AGAIN!
Thats how my friend lost his wife! She was only 22 or 23 when she died.
Got headache also, GP give painkillers also, one morning wake up screaming in agony, fall into coma, died same day![]()
Ever asked yourself WHY, private has to charge so high or not???Originally posted by Xcert:U want good healthcare?
have to pay and go private hospital...
singapore do have world-class healthcare...in the private sector lor...
govt hospital A&E...1 consultation with the on-duty doctor...80 bucks minimum...wait for 1 hour if U are lucky.
go private hospital...U can specify the consultant specialist that U want....he/she will come down and see U....minimum A&E charges 300 bucks.need hopitalisation...minimum 1500 bucks as deposit.
singaporeans can die...but cannot get sick....![]()
I am not too sure where is ur WHYs heading but at the end of the WHYs...I am just a consumer who needs the best healthcare for now(I am not saying others dun need) and would unfortunately have to go to the private sector and pay big bucks to get it.I am blessed in the sense that I am still able to do that for now but what about those who cant?Originally posted by ShutterBug:Ever asked yourself WHY, private has to charge so high or not???
Ever wondered WHY, few doctors wants to work for GOV hospital or not???
Ever wondered WHY prices and fees, so sky high???
Straits Times.Originally posted by SexyChin:Where's the source?
Robertteh, may have a better answer to my WHYs....Originally posted by Xcert:I am not too sure where is ur WHYs heading but at the end of the WHYs...I am just a consumer who needs the best healthcare for now(I am not saying others dun need) and would unfortunately have to go to the private sector and pay big bucks to get it.I am blessed in the sense that I am still able to do that for now but what about those who cant?
and just to answer ur points...
1. because of profitibility as a revenue-generating entity
2. talk has been around that they are overworked and such...but to me...at the end of the day...its how they want to lead their lives...as a doctor who sleeps easy because he/she knows the difference he/she has made to save a person or at least lessen their suffering or to be a doctor who drives the latest sports car around and stays in a District 10 property.
3. nobody will find having more money a problem.
I am waiting...Originally posted by ShutterBug:Robertteh, may have a better answer to my WHYs....
Wasn't it a drug overdose?Originally posted by fugue in C minor:bruce lee died of a headache too...........