den how much is an USB adapter?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:To say truthfully, you have to find out your motherboard's model and type of PC cards it can support. If not, use USB adapter if your laptop has USB ports to save the trouble.
national library are using singtel outdoor wireless surf network. $10/mth. the only execption is the presence of NLBPUBLIC network at Victoria St, which may be taken out anytime and can be hell slow.Originally posted by kengkia:like that can i safely say that i juz need to go to places with wireless lan like mac and national library can already la
so u mean all NLB braches are hotspot from ya reply....generally wireless surfing speed so how?Originally posted by ^tamago^:national library are using singtel outdoor wireless surf network. $10/mth. the only execption is the presence of NLBPUBLIC network at Victoria St, which may be taken out anytime and can be hell slow.
paid hotspots from singtel. nlb at the moment does not provide their own hotspots other than main branch. u need to be a subscriber. surfing speed is great.Originally posted by kengkia:so u mean all NLB braches are hotspot from ya reply....generally wireless surfing speed so how?
about $45.Originally posted by kengkia:den how much is an USB adapter?
$40 odd.Originally posted by kengkia:den how much is an USB adapter?
national library are using singtel outdoor wireless surf network. $10/mth. the only execption is the presence of NLBPUBLIC network at Victoria St, which may be taken out anytime and can be hell slow.Originally posted by ^tamago^:paid hotspots from singtel. nlb at the moment does not provide their own hotspots other than main branch. u need to be a subscriber. surfing speed is great.
maybe they'll provide hotspot for bishan (opening in sept) for initial period but i dunno lah...
one time u say it's hell slow one time u say surfing speed greatwhich is which.......
and where do i sign up for the $10 per month thing?
okay thx...so with USB adapter attached to laptop and ur in a hotspot den can surf e net already rite?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:$40 odd.
No... you will need your router, only a wireless card can do that...Originally posted by kengkia:okay thx...so with USB adapter attached to laptop and ur in a hotspot den can surf e net already rite?
sorry for my lack of knowledge....what is a router....and is it attached to laptop osoOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:No... you will need your router, only a wireless card can do that...
dunno wat he got, but i've been surfing ODWS for a year liao....Originally posted by kengkia:
a router is a base station that connects you to the internet gateway, either via cable, dsl or ethernet. think of it as the middleman to get u online.Originally posted by kengkia:sorry for my lack of knowledge....what is a router....and is it attached to laptop oso![]()
yes.Originally posted by kengkia:okay thx...so with USB adapter attached to laptop and ur in a hotspot den can surf e net already rite?
USB adapter=routerOriginally posted by ^tamago^:yes.
okay....wireless card...how much is that....and do u mean once i plug that in straight can surf net already?how much does router cost?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:No... you will need your router, only a wireless card can do that...
even if they did not put encryption, we also dont have the right to tap their wireless network.. it is still illegal..Originally posted by tiggersgd:unless they're willingly opening their wireless network
you are confused...very...Originally posted by kengkia:okay....wireless card...how much is that....and do u mean once i plug that in straight can surf net already?how much does router cost?
yeah..got a bit of idea these days....wirelesscard=WLAN USB adapter?Originally posted by R3SsH|n:you are confused...very...
its free, but will ask for your email and name...Originally posted by missqi:mac de wireless need to pay anot?
Originally posted by kengkia:i have heard of wireless surfing internet via laptop everywhere...i got only p2 laptop and w/o subscribing to any internet plan is that enough to get me going
also rem to get a neighour that uses wireless BBOriginally posted by FireIce:get a PCMCIA card or USB adapter from dlink or linksys or watever brand u like