rofl n00b, no.Originally posted by field:cool rite, better than leetspeak
classic.Originally posted by LazerLordz:gonna fcuking pwn all these l337 wannabe h@x0rz d00fu5.![]()
I also use tmr and 4got, but my english is b3Originally posted by fudgester:Personally, if those kids want to use that sort of stunted language, it's their choice. Ultimately when they get poor grades for English they only have themselves to blame. When the usage of such stunted grammar becomes a habit, it's extremely difficult to reverse it.
My tuition student, for instance, keeps putting in SMS lingo in his sentences. 'Forgot' becomes '4got', 'tomorrow' becomes 'tmr', and so on and so forth. He protested strenuously (to no avail) when I penalised him heavily for using such terms. Heck, his eyes pretty much popped out of their sockets when I told him to start using proper sentences in his SMS and MSN conversations.
What really gets on my nerves is when such people mock and poke fun of others who take the effort to speak standard English. For instance, my neighbour used to chastise me for using proper English in our MSN conversations.
She said that she couldn't stand the fact that I capitalised the first letter of every sentence and used proper spelling like 'tonight' instead of '2nite'.
Of course, she started to sing a different tune altogether when she got C6 for her GP in her A Levels.![]()
The bottom line is, if you want to use your own slang, then that's your choice. However, if you're going to let it creep into your schoolwork, then you've only got yourself to blame if you do badly for your English.
In addition, if you're going to mock others for using proper English, then I say you're self-delusional for thinking that poor English equates coolness.
This one is the best, also from some schools..................... SMLJOriginally posted by field:the "Sarcastic Language"... orignated from the gifted education ppl from the school
some instances include:
teacher: did u do your homework?
student: i EVEN got do leh
student 1: boon keng failed all his tests
student 2: hes the smart leh
student: ruhua is pretty leh, never just make me dont puke out my not $15 hamburger
cool rite, better than leetspeak
me too, for O lvlsOriginally posted by Agenda:I also use tmr and 4got, but my english is b3![]()
This is only for those who can code-switch.For the rest, please concentrate on your proper English.Originally posted by Pitot:classic.
stfu. pwn n00b lolx suxxor roxxor hehex hahaxx horx worx lurve. boii ger. on9
LMAO![]()
erm. you'd be surprise... i set compositions for my classes, and i see words like "cos" and "heyz" and "wad" in it.Originally posted by KenPlus:what wrong with using short form
Just that when exams come pls use the proper word can liao loh.
diaozOriginally posted by starblue:erm. you'd be surprise... i set compositions for my classes, and i see words like "cos" and "heyz" and "wad" in it.![]()
No lah, I think the current rate of deterioration of the standard of English amongst Singaporean students still lags behind that of other countries such as the UK and US.Originally posted by vito_corleone:i forsee next to zero local student populations at universities in english-speaking countries due to them failing the english proficiency test![]()
Exactly what I'm seeing in my tuition student's work. I could easily end up penalising him no less than five times for using such words.Originally posted by starblue:erm. you'd be surprise... i set compositions for my classes, and i see words like "cos" and "heyz" and "wad" in it.![]()
Originally posted by starblue:erm. you'd be surprise... i set compositions for my classes, and i see words like "cos" and "heyz" and "wad" in it.![]()
In the meantime, they screw up their streaming in Sec 2, their O Levels in Sec 4, and their A Levels in JC2.Originally posted by dahliamorie:Those kids will eventually grow out of that phase right? It's only a matter of time. Some people grow out of it at 14, some people at 17, some even at 21. It's only a matter of time and how fast can they mature.