Muz they even start their inconsideration in the libary?Originally posted by Aveme:what is the surprise,there are so many inconsiderate people all around singapore,library is no different to these people.
IMO there should be tougher rules to arrest the problem
inconsideration is not a situation reaction in the first place,so it has nothing to do whether it is a library or not.It is how the person is brought up that made it into a basic nature,so basic nature,people will just act it out if they know they can get away with it.Originally posted by olala:Muz they even start their inconsideration in the libary?
And the one who even dare sulk face at me...
I purposely told the librian to put in "that guy over there told u to keep quiet"
so that he wuld know hw fkin inconsiderate they are.
Yes but forgivness is only given to those who earn their worth!Originally posted by BillyBong:There's no such thing as 'silence is golden' anymore.
Gone are the days when even a loud 'Shhhhhh' drew unwarrented stares from fellow library users. Those were the days when people held silence to be sacred.
You have to look back 15 years to find such a setting. Our people just don't care anymore. Loud chatter, handphones ringing, kids playing catching around the library and indiscriminate screaming with parent's supervision....
Personally, i wish the uniformed attendants i see in the library are empowered to throw out unruly users, record their IC number in the system, and BAN them for a pre-determined duration as a warning to other errant users.
But then again, we all need to learn forgiveness right?![]()
who says chiobus must be considerate?Originally posted by TehJarVu:it is not just the noisy people who are inconsiderate.
once I was picking out books from a shelf, then those that i don't want, i put aside on the floor. So that when I finsihed going through them, I will place those that i don't want into the reshelfing bin for the librarians to re-shelf according to their serial numbers.
then one quite chio girl came, asked me if i still need those books on the floor, I said no, so she also started going through them and picked out those that she wanted...... and when she finished (there was a big pile)....... she just put them all back onto the next shelf where there was empty space at the end of the rows.......
so i told her off but she ignored me and walked away......
so i picked out those books again and put them into the reshelfing bin...
that idiot - chiobu also no use - behavior is so ugly........
don't you know you are not supposed to anyhow reshelf books in the library??? never think for the next person who may be looking for those books...
by the way this happened in singapore in a public library..... i've never seen such behavior in my uni in Aus b4... ppl will nvr do such a thing...
mei li de xiao jie fang chou piOriginally posted by poon cho tang:who says chiobus must be considerate?
3rd lvl is my habitat liaoOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Woodlands library got a lot of levels... don't need to hang out at just the 3rd level. 3rd level is where books on general knowledge and for studies are. It's where most people will gather and make a lot of noise. Try going to the second level. It's super quiet. Even the door open can make a person turn around and look at you.
Juz mumble bytchOriginally posted by TehJarVu:it is not just the noisy people who are inconsiderate.
once I was picking out books from a shelf, then those that i don't want, i put aside on the floor. So that when I finsihed going through them, I will place those that i don't want into the reshelfing bin for the librarians to re-shelf according to their serial numbers.
then one quite chio girl came, asked me if i still need those books on the floor, I said no, so she also started going through them and picked out those that she wanted...... and when she finished (there was a big pile)....... she just put them all back onto the next shelf where there was empty space at the end of the rows.......
so i told her off but she ignored me and walked away......
so i picked out those books again and put them into the reshelfing bin...
that idiot - chiobu also no use - behavior is so ugly........
don't you know you are not supposed to anyhow reshelf books in the library??? never think for the next person who may be looking for those books...
by the way this happened in singapore in a public library..... i've never seen such behavior in my uni in Aus b4... ppl will nvr do such a thing...
just dun become dat "i've stopped being chivalrous after 37 years" personOriginally posted by TehJarVu:mei li de xiao jie fang chou pi![]()
aprt from woodlands libary,my fav studying palce is esplanade,bt its pretty far...altho i've a direct bus..bt its kinda impractical to do so everytime...Originally posted by Aveme:You want quiet ah? Can go to the national library referrence sections at all the higher floors,very quiet but too bad cannot bring in anything apart from writing materials.
there, i told uOriginally posted by dragg:i just came back from bedok library.
an old lady was on the phone scolding her daughter for being rude. an old man sitting beside her started to give her his grand opinion of how the young should behave. then they continued chatting away about karaoke and whatnot.
unable to take it anymore i went up to the 2nd level hoping to have some peace. at the newspaper reading area i saw a group of teens sitting together. but there were hardly any chairs at the tables reserved for the newspaper readers. i ended up standing reading. (later i saw a librarian telling the teens off and asking them to put the chairs back to where they belong)
after that i proceeded to the quiet reading room hoping to have some real peace. to my exasperation two teenage guys were there chatting and laughing away. everybody there were staring at them. yet they appeared oblivious. at the other end of the room, an ah beng is babbling away on his mobile.
knn, singaporeans really ranked number in terms of being inconsiderate, selfish and self-centred!!!
you cant even have peace in a library!! maybe i should climb to the top of bukit timah hill to have peace.![]()
U can try esplanade libary,the rules there are very strict and its so quiet that u can hear the washing of cups in the build in cafe inside the libary.Originally posted by dragg:i just came back from bedok library.
an old lady was on the phone scolding her daughter for being rude. an old man sitting beside her started to give her his grand opinion of how the young should behave. then they continued chatting away about karaoke and whatnot.
unable to take it anymore i went up to the 2nd level hoping to have some peace. at the newspaper reading area i saw a group of teens sitting together. but there were hardly any chairs at the tables reserved for the newspaper readers. i ended up standing reading. (later i saw a librarian telling the teens off and asking them to put the chairs back to where they belong)
after that i proceeded to the quiet reading room hoping to have some real peace. to my exasperation two teenage guys were there chatting and laughing away. everybody there were staring at them. yet they appeared oblivious. at the other end of the room, an ah beng is babbling away on his mobile.
knn, singaporeans really ranked number in terms of being inconsiderate, selfish and self-centred!!!
you cant even have peace in a library!! maybe i should climb to the top of bukit timah hill to have peace.![]()
then too bad,either live with it or get to know someone who has enough power to enforce some tough rules on non behaviour,too many inconsiderate people aroundOriginally posted by olala:aprt from woodlands libary,my fav studying palce is esplanade,bt its pretty far...altho i've a direct bus..bt its kinda impractical to do so everytime...
not only at bedok you know?Originally posted by poon cho tang:there, i told u
Not ruthless, it's selfish. You don't have to accommodate them, but they should?Originally posted by olala:3rd lvl is my habitat liao
and they shld abide by the golden rules in teh libary
A ruthless statement,I dun have to accomodate to them,they shld