its 50% 50%, wonder what happen to those buying apple sharesOriginally posted by moongster:Can make shareholders happy temporarily![]()
Spare change? 100 million is alot of money.. how many ipod they need to sell to gain back this amount?Originally posted by vincentchean:yeah. good pt.
anyway apple won't be confident in winning the case so if they lose they
would have to pay more money.
so why not they just give some spare change and move on
hmmm..Originally posted by Urroh:Spare change? 100 million is alot of money.. how many ipod they need to sell to gain back this amount?
cos most pcs use original oem version of windows and they come pre-installed, that's the cash cow of microsoft cos manufacturers have to pay microsoft $ to install the op systems in their pcs.Originally posted by Icemoon:it is unimaginable why M$ is still making tons of money when there are pirated M$ products around.
Imagine if everyone using original.![]()
This is the settlement lor.Originally posted by pqr:what happen to the counter suit by apple for also infringing their patent?
The $100M USD compensation also settle the other suits filed by Apple. So right now, the $100M USD is to settle once and for all. I believe partial compensation is by allowing Creative to make 'For iPod' accessories.Originally posted by pqr:what happen to the counter suit by apple for also infringing their patent?
Yes. No point letting the lawsuit drag and both parties suffer (in a way or another)Originally posted by Parka:From a business point of view, it's a win win. Win win is good, afterall, business is all about making money.
Wahh~~~~~~~Originally posted by hoganrock:ST, Aug 24, 2006
SAN FRANCISCO - Apple Computer said it will pay US$100 million for a licence to use Creative Technology's patented technology in its iPod music player, settling all legal disputes between the two companies.
US-traded shares of Singapore-based Creative surged 25 per cent in extended trading following the announcement. Apple shares slipped 0.2 per cent.
Apple Chief Executive Steve Jobs said the agreement ends five lawsuits between the companies 'and removes the uncertainty and distraction of prolonged litigation'.
'Creative is very fortunate to have been granted this early patent,' he added.
Creative, the world's second-largest maker of MP3 music players after Apple, sued Apple in May alleging the California-based computer maker had infringed a patent on its 'Zen' player over technology for navigating through songs on the popular iPod digital music player.
Apple in June counter-sued, while Creative took the case to the US International Trade Commission and sought a permanent cease-and-desist order against Apple.
Settlement 'amicable'
Mr Jobs said further that the settlement 'resolves all of our differences with Creative.'
Creative Chairman and CEO Sim Wong Hoo called the settlement 'amicable'.
The one-time licensing payment would add 85 cents per share to Creative's earnings in the current quarter, which ends Sept 30, he said.
The settlement also allows Apple to recoup a portion of its payment if other electronics companies license Creative's technology.
Shares of Apple shed 28 cents to US$67.12 in extended trade after the settlement announcement. The stock had closed down 31 cents at US$67.31 in regular trading on Nasdaq.
Creative shares rose US$1.49 to US$7.50 in extended trading after closing down 5 cents at US$6.01 on Nasdaq. -- REUTERS, AP![]()
Originally posted by maxmin:Uncle Sim is not Uncle Gates
[b] Uncle Sim,
If you read this thread, please consider my suggestion.
DIVERSIFY! I hope you look into ALL-IN-ONE mobile phone: MP3, Video, TV, GPS, Win.Office, 3G, XBoxGames, mobile phone, WIFI, bluetooth, universal remote cotrol, radio, email, internet....etc. Squeeze everything into one!
Thank you[/b]
By then technology obsolete, you still want meh.Originally posted by Icemoon:when did creative apply and granted the patent?
wait for 20 years lor .. for the technology to enter public domain .. then dun have to pay a single cent to use it.![]()
Originally posted by maxmin:My nokia can do all the above, minus the xbox part.
[b] Uncle Sim,
If you read this thread, please consider my suggestion.
DIVERSIFY! I hope you look into ALL-IN-ONE mobile phone: MP3, Video, TV, GPS, Win.Office, 3G, XBoxGames, mobile phone, WIFI, bluetooth, universal remote cotrol, radio, email, internet....etc. Squeeze everything into one!
Thank you[/b]
Sadly, you're wrong. Creative lost big deals!Originally posted by used:wooooohooooo
singapore win!!!!1![]()
Think in the States, Nano was sold more than that number in just weeksOriginally posted by kingofbeholder:hmmm..
USD$249.00 - Ipod nano 4Gb
100million = 401606 units of Ipod nano 4GB.
Originally posted by chenc:Think in the States, Nano was sold more than that number in just weeks![]()