Originally posted by Daydreamzer:hi all
Just wanna find out: anyone knows of new flats on sale at Tiong Bahru area? Had checked with HDB but they say, *sobs*, only got new flats on walk-in-selection for other races, not Chinese. So sad.
Recently saw a site that is under construction -- beside Zhangde Pri Sch, along Jalan Membina. Anyone knows if the new flats are for SERS residents? any new ones left for new applications like me? When will tat be?
Appreciate any bitsy info.. Thanks!!!!!!!!
Cheers![]()
Originally posted by Daydreamzer:i know.. nw gt bukit merah flats on ballot... but dun really like leh..
anyway, my bf prefers tiong bahru lah... gt nostagic feel as tat' where he spent most of his childhood... and of cos, near to his mahjong kakis... *lolz*...
seriously, i also like tat area... nice location... i know, can b quite ex, but u know, it's our new home... will be staying tat for a long time, so might as well, get one which we really really like very much...
^,^
if u like town and the food i think u don't move here.Originally posted by Daydreamzer:of cos lah... tat' y we're so adamant abt tiong bahru... gt shopping and lotsa food... near town too...
also, midway to our paternal homes... ^,*
if only i can get a unit there... be dam over the moon lor... *jajajaja*
For that price I get a 5 room flat at the northern part of spore. Ok I sidetrack from topicOriginally posted by kaobeikaobu:its abt 300k for a 4-rooms unit![]()
I not sure about the few blocks left empty...cos balloting after SERS would likely to mean the flats on ballot are leftovers from the SERS...if SERS people dun want it...what makes U think U want it?of course different ppl have different considerations when they buy a flat...but U also need to see if time is on ur side...if U cannot wait it out....then better have a plan B ready...Originally posted by red_amoeba:Jln Membina ones still under construction. HDB will wait until those ppl under SERS to choose their flats, move in, wait a few months before opening up the remaining flats for balloting. Typically, there will be a few blocks left empty for tis purpose.
But, this means it will take a few years - maybe 2008 / 2009 latest. And bear in mind the price is not gonna be cheap. Already the redhill flats (curr on balloting) are already on the high 350K - 417K for 5-room, an increase of 2-3K above the prices I paid for (also redhill flats).
I think its a valid point...Originally posted by sohguanh:For that price I get a 5 room flat at the northern part of spore. Ok I sidetrack from topic![]()
wat i heard was more economically sound to get resale...Originally posted by Daydreamzer:thanks for advice...
but i heard tat for first-timers, it' more economically sound to get a new flat, compared to resale flats...
so, tat shall b wat we wan.. ^,^
well...it would seem like the newer the flat...the smaller it is...for those HDB around Tiong Bahru...urs is 100sqm for 4 room...The Pinnacle at duxton is 93sqm for S1(4-room)...doesnt look hopeful for the the Membina one...Originally posted by red_amoeba:usu when gahmen allocate land for SERS, they will oso build additional units / blocks for sale thereafter...hence, they will definitely have a few blocks that are built together but not open for SERS applicants as well as handful of units leftover from SERS selection.
All these units will then be made available for sale via balloting either in a single batch or split batches. Hence for those interested, there will definitely be blocks of flats open for sale. The only matter is time.
I agreed, for the 300K you pay for a 4 room unit at TB you can comfortably get a 5-rm in Jurong West. My fren bought his for only 200+ but if you factor in travelling time and costs, the sums may be quite similar.
Another downside for thest flats at TB is, the room area is quite small. Not too sure about TB but the flats at Redhill where i am staying is 100sqm for 4-rm and 115 sqm for 5-rm. I think it will be smaller for Jln Membina cos they really look small from outside.
depends...some people,for various reasons, wait for 5 years then sell...so their reno very simple one...if U dun mind then OK...if U want house nice nice...then U reno lor....Originally posted by shinta:wat i heard was more economically sound to get resale...
especially one with everything still in brand new condition
we got 1 resale... nice location.. everything damn new...
dun need reno de![]()
good luck...for this round of balloting, its about 10x (or more) oversubscribed for the 4 room. Considering only one block is available for sale - you have like 4 x 29 units only. And factoring the Chinese quota system, effectively you only have about 80% of that available.Originally posted by BufPuf:me and fog-shu just ballot for the bukit merah flat.
his agent friend told us that we stand quite a good chance becoz his parents live around there.
Just trying our luck, since we have already decided that we wan a flat at tiong bahru area. Nearer to his parents and workplace (although far from my parents & workplace but we will be getting a car)!