Originally posted by the_fallen:
why do people always look down while inside the trains?
i often wonder, the floor got gold meh?
why so many ppl like to look at the floor?
is it that work too stress?
the other thing that i observed is that those people who often just finish work, then their mouth will be

frowning liao.. those aunties uncles who do that for long time, their mouth position standard become

naturally le..
why ar?
work really that stress ma?
Good question.
Well, I know why:
Here, in SG, we are largely Asians. And don't you already know that when you smile at someone in the street you don't know, your chances of getting a smile in return is something like 2 out of 10!
It's CULTURE. Or rather, the lack of it.
Simply we are largely a mixed bag of peoples and are of different faiths. To go further, let me point out that when I smile at a Malay or Indian stranger on the street, I'd very often and almost always, get a return smile. But it is not likewise if I smiled at a Chinese stranger.. I often get a blank stare in return.
We don't have it in our culture (or the lack of it), to be forthcoming with basic courtesy of a smile or a nod. Unless of course between HDB dwellers towards neighbors, but also, there are neighbors who are very much by themselves - they will never say "goodmorning", nod at you or even smile. Simply because they don't know you - not that you have done them wrong or as if you owe them money.
So often and as a daily life, people will rather stare at the floor in an elevator, or in the bus (some stare out the windows), and in trains they stare at the floor, the grab-poles, out the windows, and most commonly these days at their PDA phones and or mobile phones busy communicating to someone they don't actually bother communicating with any other time in any other places except in the train. But some are indeed busy convincing someone about being late because of a stalled train and not because of waking up late...
While sometimes, among the young, staring can lead to hospitalization or worse - the morgue. It is rude to stare at someone you don't know, but if you smile, he/she may smile back or in the case of an Asian Chinese, if it's a male and you're a male too, he might smile back in a rather sexy way, and you might stop smiling for obvious reasons, and if it is a girl and you're a guy, she might turn away in contempt thinking you are being fresh with her - but COURTESY never crossed peoples minds here. It's either you know the person, or you don't - and that you don't smile back because they both don't know each other. But we all know, we SHOULD NEVER stare at an Ah Beng.. again, for obvious reasons.
I say it again; It's culture - or the lack of it.