wtfOriginally posted by ShutterBug:Good question.
Well, I know why:
Here, in SG, we are largely Asians. And don't you already know that when you smile at someone in the street you don't know, your chances of getting a smile in return is something like 2 out of 10!
It's CULTURE. Or rather, the lack of it.
Simply we are largely a mixed bag of peoples and are of different faiths. To go further, let me point out that when I smile at a Malay or Indian stranger on the street, I'd very often and almost always, get a return smile. But it is not likewise if I smiled at a Chinese stranger.. I often get a blank stare in return.
We don't have it in our culture (or the lack of it), to be forthcoming with basic courtesy of a smile or a nod. Unless of course between HDB dwellers towards neighbors, but also, there are neighbors who are very much by themselves - they will never say "goodmorning", nod at you or even smile. Simply because they don't know you - not that you have done them wrong or as if you owe them money.
So often and as a daily life, people will rather stare at the floor in an elevator, or in the bus (some stare out the windows), and in trains they stare at the floor, the grab-poles, out the windows, and most commonly these days at their PDA phones and or mobile phones busy communicating to someone they don't actually bother communicating with any other time in any other places except in the train. But some are indeed busy convincing someone about being late because of a stalled train and not because of waking up late...
While sometimes, among the young, staring can lead to hospitalization or worse - the morgue. It is rude to satre at someone you don't know, but if you smile, he/she may smile back or in the case of an Asian Chinese, if it's a male and you're a male too, he might smile back in a rather sexy way, and you might stop smiling for obvious reasons, and if it is a girl and you're a guy, she might turn away in contempt thinking you are being fresh with her - but COURTESY never crossed peoples minds here. It's either you know the person, or you don't - and that you don't smile back because they both don't know each other. But we all know, we SHOULD NEVER stare at an Ah Beng.. again, for obvious reasons.
I say it again; It's culture - or the lack of it.
for most cases, yes,Originally posted by ShutterBugGood question.
Well, I know why:
Here, in SG, we are largely Asians. And don't you already know that when you smile at someone in the street you don't know, your chances of getting a smile in return is something like 2 out of 10!
It's CULTURE. Or rather, the lack of it.
Simply we are largely a mixed bag of peoples and are of different faiths. To go further, let me point out that when I smile at a Malay or Indian stranger on the street, I'd very often and almost always, get a return smile. But it is not likewise if I smiled at a Chinese stranger.. I often get a blank stare in return.
We don't have it in our culture (or the lack of it), to be forthcoming with basic courtesy of a smile or a nod. Unless of course between HDB dwellers towards neighbors, but also, there are neighbors who are very much by themselves - they will never say "goodmorning", nod at you or even smile. Simply because they don't know you - not that you have done them wrong or as if you owe them money.
So often and as a daily life, people will rather stare at the floor in an elevator, or in the bus (some stare out the windows), and in trains they stare at the floor, the grab-poles, out the windows, and most commonly these days at their PDA phones and or mobile phones busy communicating to someone they don't actually bother communicating with any other time in any other places except in the train. But some are indeed busy convincing someone about being late because of a stalled train and not because of waking up late...
While sometimes, among the young, staring can lead to hospitalization or worse - the morgue. It is rude to stare at someone you don't know, but if you smile, he/she may smile back or in the case of an Asian Chinese, if it's a male and you're a male too, he might smile back in a rather sexy way, and you might stop smiling for obvious reasons, and if it is a girl and you're a guy, she might turn away in contempt thinking you are being fresh with her - but COURTESY never crossed peoples minds here. It's either you know the person, or you don't - and that you don't smile back because they both don't know each other. But we all know, we SHOULD NEVER stare at an Ah Beng.. again, for obvious reasons.
I say it again; It's culture - or the lack of it.
Precisely.Originally posted by the_fallen:for most cases, yes,
but there was this just once that a stranger actually smile and chat with me in the train.
for my bag strap actually trip him slightly, then just to prevent him from falling, he hold onto me, then he smiled and chat with me just 1 sentence more of a joke, then i aplolgize for not placing the bag in place.
than we sat down quietly through the jorney, than when he is alighting, then he still turn to me and said good-bye.
well i guess, he came from an interntaional sch which is his usual way of doing things. i suppose so..
it depends on how they are brought up since young and what they are being taught right?
Well.. I believe education is just 10% - the other 90% you need to go out and learn it yourself.Originally posted by the_fallen:i say its just 50% of the cause..
another 50% is govt's education..
teach us mora eductation also no use. all only know how to fake it in the accessments and not practicing it at all..
govt too good already, everything think and do for us citizens, thus we all become more and more lazy right?
are you sure the education system teaches citizens on how to get out of the rat race?Originally posted by ShutterBugWell.. I believe education is just 10% - the other 90% you need to go out and learn it yourself.
A system cannot teach people how to behave or practice common courtesy. Education teaches people how to win in the Rat Race. Other attributes, you will need to judge and adopt yourself.
However, I think how a people of a country behave, comes from how its government have moulded them - or the policies that governed them. Hence I feel our "Kiasi" and "Kiasu" traits are all from our gov. Why I say this? Well, just look at the criticism we got from IMF WB over the banning of certain numbers of accredited activists.
Its their UNBENDING rules that somehow rubs off on people here to become unyielding to one another; such as the "me first" mentality. We see that everyday boarding the MRT trains - everybody wants out and everybody wants in at the same time. (!)
It's a stressful lifestyle most of us are living...Singaporeans are more or less borned to be stressed...right from the beginning...from school till work and beyond...Originally posted by the_fallen:why do people always look down while inside the trains?
i often wonder, the floor got gold meh?
why so many ppl like to look at the floor?
is it that work too stress?
the other thing that i observed is that those people who often just finish work, then their mouth will befrowning liao.. those aunties uncles who do that for long time, their mouth position standard become
naturally le..
why ar?
work really that stress ma?
haix.Originally posted by RSP:It's a stressful lifestyle most of us are living...Singaporeans are more or less borned to be stressed...right from the beginning...from school till work and beyond...
Just climb to the side of the tracks la...like that the train wun bang into uOriginally posted by ditzy:Don't whack wait push me onto the mrt tracks how?![]()
from a usual point of view of an adult, it's this way - no money = no to everything
Originally posted by dahliamorieIt's kinda sad that most people living in singapore are all money-driven. Work for money. No money = no house, no food, no clothes, no car, no status.
i say it's not more or less.Originally posted by RSPIt's a stressful lifestyle most of us are living...Singaporeans are more or less borned to be stressed...right from the beginning...from school till work and beyond...
everyday smile at the office (being hypocrite) is enough liao.. u still wan us to smile after work ah? i think there is a time we need to be gloomy for a while..Originally posted by the_fallen:if work is that stress, then why still work after graduation?
why not save some capital try to open a business with friends and relatives instead?
being a boss is better than being an employee.
ya lor.. say until machiam like 1-2-3.Originally posted by huy:everyday smile at the office (being hypocrite) is enough liao.. u still wan us to smile after work ah? i think there is a time we need to be gloomy for a while..
anyway how old are u? ur thinking so naive.. u think being boss is easier? a lot of things have to handle lor.. will be even more stress.. at least when u work, u will bound to see your pay cheque every month wheras it take almost 1 yr to break even if u are self employed..
please lor, if you got gf/bf to meet after work, will you face your other half with your unpleasant attitude from work?Originally posted by huyeveryday smile at the office (being hypocrite) is enough liao.. u still wan us to smile after work ah? i think there is a time we need to be gloomy for a while..
anyway how old are u? ur thinking so naive.. u think being boss is easier? a lot of things have to handle lor.. will be even more stress.. at least when u work, u will bound to see your pay cheque every month wheras it take almost 1 yr to break even if u are self employed..
ur idea of generating profit might jolly well ended up as desperate days trying to maintain ur business.Originally posted by the_fallen:please lor, if you got gf/bf to meet after work, will you face your other half with your unpleasant attitude from work?
of course not la.. right anot?
being a employee-stress forever
being a employer-stress just a few years, when business stable already, than have employees to look after, all you need is to monitor can already.
you may say that i naive but think about the following and tell yourself which option is smarter?
1-to suffer at work until you retire
or
2-to suffer for a while before you break-even and start to generate profit
i personally tried to do a business before, but failed, lost my capital already, now working on my second business, if you're interested to join me, let me know. Open to all candidates who wants to be an employer.
it depends on which business your currently doingOriginally posted by Ito_^ur idea of generating profit might jolly well ended up as desperate days trying to maintain ur business.
But franchise means you get the products/materials from one supplier rite? It could mean that supplier may have franchise to other ppl besides you too. So given same products/materials how can you outdo your competitors if they get from same source? Price war? Or presentation and marketing skills?Originally posted by the_fallen:i not that much of a super risk-taker, so took up franchising business to run.
safer, better, sure returns.
tradditional business, hard to do.
franchise got every support that i can get, so i have nothing to worry about
as for competition, don't worry, the franchiser that i buy from ensures that it works well, coz they are producing the products themselves, signed a life-time contract.Originally posted by sohguanhBut franchise means you get the products/materials from one supplier rite? It could mean that supplier may have franchise to other ppl besides you too. So given same products/materials how can you outdo your competitors if they get from same source? Price war? Or presentation and marketing skills? Mr. Green
The advantage some traditional business has is they have secret proprietary recipe which is not franchised out so they have a competitive edge over their other competitors.
So you are franchised business doing eating or non-eatable business like dress, bag etc etc ?
The answer to your question is I believe IMO we humans live in a twisted peverted world steeped in violence,politics,death,hunger etc etc suffering. What little happiness we have are transient and we cannot be too caught up in it.Originally posted by the_fallen:some times i really wonder...
why people frown so much
unhappy with their current lifestyle than just change it than, why put on an unhappy face 24/7?
rather than being unhappy, why can't people choose to be positive and stay happy?
is the society really that harsh and cruel that it forces people to put a frowning face everyday?
is it really so hard to like be happy with our everyday life?
not all people are leading a stressful life.Originally posted by sohguanhThe answer to your question is I believe IMO we humans live in a twisted peverted world steeped in violence,politics,death,hunger etc etc suffering. What little happiness we have are transient and we cannot be too caught up in it.
Transient happiness only give momentary pleasure juz like sex. So the overall picture of human life is dark and bleak. Darkness and misery are our companions. Even our leader L has to be constantly on his toes of potential loss of power to rival parties. Does he lead a happy life? I would say he lead a stressful life too