yea i know diploma in criminology wun get me far,i already plan to get at least a degree in this areaOriginally posted by Yunhaier:I know Parklane got a school offering Criminology as a subject, but what level I dunno (I saw advertisment).
btw, a diploma is a diploma and is certainly different from a degree. Uni/college can offer both diploma and degree courses because they cater to different groups and definitely not the same level though.
Correct me if I am wrong: The reason why criminology is always a Master-level course is because a diploma in criminology cannot 'tan jia' one. It is like psychology; having a diploma or even a degree in Psychology doesn't make someone a psychologist - in case you are thinking along that direction. You will probably need a Master and higher.
Now, focus on your O level - now that u know where you want to go, work your way towards them.
Cheers
Ur fagging hoeOriginally posted by Gedanken:Yuh huh, and you're the one struggling with something as simple as the O's.
Start studying for your O Level.Originally posted by 0lala:yea i know diploma in criminology wun get me far,i already plan to get at least a degree in this area
as for now,i need to know where i should start
Yes, I am very sure that you can study criminlogy using a diploma. But I agree that A levels would probably be a better qualification to get since the poly diploma is a singapore invention and has very little currency outside of singapore (whatever the polytechnics might tell you).Originally posted by davidche:Are you sure a person who studies poly can go for crimology??
no offense lah
You probrably need to go for jc, since A lvl is widely ren4 tong2, you get higher chance of going into a uni in UK![]()
Almost done laOriginally posted by M©+square:Start studying for your O Level.
joining the police academy with an o level jzu makes u some officerOriginally posted by scabstermooch:Yes, I am very sure that you can study criminlogy using a diploma. But I agree that A levels would probably be a better qualification to get since the poly diploma is a singapore invention and has very little currency outside of singapore (whatever the polytechnics might tell you).
I still think the OP doesn't really know what he is getting into. Personally, I think it is crazy to spend 3-4 years studying just criminology.
What are you gg to do with that qualification? Working overseas is very difficult, esp when you are in the field of criminology - who are your potential employers? Police - anyone can join the police. You just need O levels. And? Universities - you are not gg to get a position as a lecturer in university on the basis of a Bachelor's degree if you are not a citizen.
Do you really want to spend 3-4 years pontificating over such weighty issues as
"Does the CJS indirectly criminalize certain groups of people?" -
"What do crime statistics tell us about crime? " -
"What is normalization and what part does the media play in that process?" -
"The CJS is a system dominated by masculine values. Discuss"
- and, if you are lucky and get a lecturer keen on Crime and Cinema, you get to read read such stimulating articles as
"Alternate realities and the detective's search for the truth: A comparison of the Sherlock Holmes stories and The Usual Suspects" (http://www.crimeculture.com/Contents/Articles-Summer05/Damms.html)
and
"Irrational Presumptions of Rationality and Comprehension." (http://webjcli.ncl.ac.uk/1998/issue3/walsh3.html)
Bloody hell - I would rather watch paint dry.
And you want to be one of those poeple? Then criminology is not for you. Take forensics/pathology etc instead.Originally posted by 0lala:joining the police academy with an o level jzu makes u some officer
however,solving of a crime is not done by the police,its doen by speicalised in the crime lab,they're the one solving the puzzle..
ok heres what i got from my cousinOriginally posted by scabstermooch:And you want to be one of those poeple? Then criminology is not for you. Take forensics/pathology etc instead.
Crimonology is a broad-based inter-discilinary subject. Imo, it is more suited to lawmakers, police in leadership positions and academics. Not people who want to work in the field.
Why would you need chemistry to do criminology. I suggest your cousin is mistaken about criminlogy.Originally posted by 0lala:ok heres what i got from my cousin
she told me to pursue criminology,but its best to prepare a chemistry degree at hand...said its not easy study and will be tedious...
Crime and criminal justice are major social and political issues. There is considerable debate surrounding key criminological questions – how much crime is committed? What causes crime rates to rise or fall? Why do people commit crime? How should we deal with offenders? How can crime be effectively prevented? This degree programme examines these issues, and explores them within a wider sociological and social policy context.
The degree initially introduces you to a broad range of criminological issues and debates, leading to more specialist and detailed study of criminological theory and criminal justice policy. You are taught by staff who have interests in policing, criminological theory, probation practice, racist violence, imprisonment, drug use, older offenders and female offenders. They work in consultation with criminal justice agencies and people from these agencies occasionally lecture on the course.
with criminology and a chemistry degree,being a criminalist is possibleOriginally posted by scabstermooch:Why would you need chemistry to do criminology. I suggest your cousin is mistaken about criminlogy.
Criminology is in general more concerned about policy than protons, neutrons, electrons what 1 molle is etc etc.
Did she mean forensics?
i didnt say needing chemistry to do criminologyOriginally posted by scabstermooch:Why would you need chemistry to do criminology. I suggest your cousin is mistaken about criminlogy.
Criminology is in general more concerned about policy than protons, neutrons, electrons what 1 molle is etc etc.
Did she mean forensics?
level ll criminalistOriginally posted by scabstermooch:and your aim is to become...?
tell me what you think you want to do in your job.
Woohoo! What an intelligent response!Originally posted by 0lala:Ur fagging hoe
I saw ur mammy a slut and now i see her son,the works of so many unknown father
wait~I'm not bothered with what ur trying to shoot me
i'm more intrested what ya going to do with me
Wah, Master's sia - not even O-level want to be big-shot already.Originally posted by 0lala:i didnt say needing chemistry to do criminology
i meant by having a chemistry degree and masters in criminology
No, it isn't - are you talking about graduate diplomas, Postgrad diplomas, or diplomas as in the polytechnic sense? if you're talking about the poly definition, it's the equivalent of TAFE here, which does not match up to a bachelor's in Australia.Originally posted by 0lala:orh u dun know diploma is same level as bachelors in Aus?
Disclaimer kee tua lan lah. You keep trying to talk about "skipping" O-levels, as if you're even talented enough to get past it.Originally posted by 0lala:whos trying to siam around o's?
point it out
Disclaimer:I merely asked for the requirement entry
com on
Mr pathetic ur in someone else's topicOriginally posted by Gedanken:Woohoo! What an intelligent response!![]()
A (wannabe) crinimologist, ladies and gentelmen!![]()
I meant what do you see yourself doing in your day to day job? "Criminology" and "criminalist" as just labels.Originally posted by 0lala:level ll criminalist
alternative if ur well in these areas,u could oso be come lecturer rite
Thats why i'm asking if o level is enuff to skip foundationOriginally posted by Gedanken:Disclaimer kee tua lan lah. You keep trying to talk about "skipping" O-levels, as if you're even talented enough to get past it.![]()
BWAAAAAAAAHAHHAHAHAHA!!!!! You're killing me with laughter here.Originally posted by 0lala:\
Proven ur a loser
Does struggling with education makes one a loser
nope,the way u potray to me show me ur a loser
some backalley scum whos jealous that other's dad can send him to overseas to pursue his studies.
look at ur post
from post 1 in this topic and the lastest,its all ballistics
If this is ur defination of loser,plz tell sim wong hoon hes a loser
if u cant,shows ur not someone who walk the talk
What a FAG
I would branch into examining of firearms.ther are of course examining of drugs and that but i'll go for studies of firearms on the jobOriginally posted by scabstermooch:I meant what do you see yourself doing in your day to day job? "Criminology" and "criminalist" as just labels.
An idiotOriginally posted by Gedanken:BWAAAAAAAAHAHHAHAHAHA!!!!! You're killing me with laughter here.
You're the one who keeps talking about losers, and then you shove it up your own arse by talking about who's defining a loser. You trying to f*ck yourself here?![]()
And then you screw yourself again by saying that I'm jealous - I DO have a doctorate from Melbourne Uni, and a fair number of people on this forum already know that. If I already have an Australian degree, and one that would easily outstrip the Master's that you're having hallucinogen-induced dreams about, you need to ask yourself what I have to be jealous of.
Jesus H Christ, criminology is all about logic, and you've shown that you couldn't be logical if a dumb criminal held a gun to your head. I'm telling ya, stop dreaming about being a criminologist because you've already proven that you're too dumb to be one. A crim with a primary-school education could run rings around you.![]()
It's not about what qualificatin one holds at all. It's about the mindset. You're full of big puffy dreams, but you don't bother to work out the one basic thing: if you're going to get where you're going, you need to stop looking for ways out like skipping the O-levels and instead knuckle down to the task at hand. How damn stupid can you get?
I tried telling you this simple fact, but you want to get all aggro on me. Whoops, did I just trip over your itty-bitty little fragile ego?
Wake up. You want to get somewhere, stop pulling your dick online and start working instead. Or do you think that's how Sim Wong Hoo got successful?![]()