$5 an hour adds up to $40 for 8 hrs.Originally posted by Battlecrusier:pay them $5 an hr better. which Giant supermarket? jurong or else where? tell me. stock take is easy.
not happy with the job then just dun do lor...Originally posted by marcuz1977:Seems like a case of exploiting.
U can punish them.
If you never sign any black and white with them, just tell the attitude guy ok u want to do the stock take.
Then that night of stock take tell them you MC.
They will have fun.
typical solutions..not happy dont do...i mean come on..u need to do something to improve the quality of ur life...sometimes u need to complain n make nose then there will be changes...cant stand this kind of attitude...not happy dont do..Originally posted by Xcert:not happy with the job then just dun do lor...
U do like that only sabo those working that nite...
u never wonder how much their big boss is getting ar?Originally posted by FireIce:if they are going to pay the stock-takers $100 for one nite of work, then u think Giant still can sell their things so "cheap"?
its easy for us to sit down and tell people....go complain...go....Originally posted by valentinoo:typical solutions..not happy dont do...i mean come on..u need to do something to improve the quality of ur life...sometimes u need to complain n make nose then there will be changes...cant stand this kind of attitude...not happy dont do..
or just do..nevermind lah..its ok to be underpaid...
losers
what i mean is if u feel the company is exploiting...giving low pay why cant u complain about it? this is of coz before u accept the job...not after u accept then u kao pei and dont come to WorkOriginally posted by Xcert:its easy for us to sit down and tell people....go complain...go....
at the end of the day....for the stock-count...when the rates dont change...is the threadstarter going to do it?I dunno...its his consideration.
my point is if he commits to do the job...then show up and do it...dun fly kite and then most likely those that turns up for the job would have to do the threadstarter's share of the job...what has the recruiting staff got to lose?nothing.only those doing the stock-take suffers.
as if complaining got use?Singapore has no minimun wage rules so there is no benchmark to decide if a company is exploiting their workers.....It is all free will btw the 2 parties.In the end,the basic crux is just that the company decide at a rate where it thinks it can get all the help it needs,if the rate is set wrongly,then they only can blame themselves for paying too low,but since at these kinda rates,they can still find more than adequate takeup rate,they have nothing to lose out since they are not breaking any laws.Originally posted by valentinoo:what i mean is if u feel the company is exploiting...giving low pay why cant u complain about it? this is of coz before u accept the job...not after u accept then u kao pei and dont come to Work
I think it's because more importantly, they need to have some of their own retail assistants to come back to work the following day.. if all go to do stock take, the next early morning all go back home to rest, nobody will be merchandising and stacking the stocks which arrive the next day and on the stock take day itself, and no retail assistant to station in the sales floor to serve customers also. Hypermarkets' stocks very siong de leh, all come in pallets. Can't imaging the whole storage and backyard jammed and packed with pallets and cartons laying here and there, and pallets and stocks are not supposed to be parked in sales floor unattended. And the pallets of stocks etc or cartons etc cannot be parked anywhere which block the fire extinguishers or fire exits because of very important strict rules.Originally posted by Syndicate:Yes to some people, 40 is alot to them. But underpay is another issue. They prolly cant ask thier own worker to work overnite cause company might have to pay more. So they hire people outside (mostly students cuz they dunno the rates) and work so they dont have to pay more.
SG Company nowadays must practice how to take care of own workers, even though is temporary. 4.50 an hr for overnite is underpay.
GEM (Go Xtra Miles) , im sure u ppl have seen the ad on tv. The rude dude over at 'G' is simply one of those that gotta be shortlisted to be kick right at his arse.
can complain to the taukeh of SINGAPORE or not... ? maybe they should set minimum wagesOriginally posted by Aveme:as if complaining got use?Singapore has no minimun wage rules so there is no benchmark to decide if a company is exploiting their workers.....It is all free will btw the 2 parties.In the end,the basic crux is just that the company decide at a rate where it thinks it can get all the help it needs,if the rate is set wrongly,then they only can blame themselves for paying too low,but since at these kinda rates,they can still find more than adequate takeup rate,they have nothing to lose out since they are not breaking any laws.
you can wait long long for a minimum wage rule to be implemented.If such a rule come up,it will only go against what the govt wants all the time,that is let singapore labour's cost be competitive so that more foreign companies will want to come invest.So tell me that the present govt will actually now want to think of poor people? Yeh right,ask them help themselves,dun depend on the govt.Originally posted by Syndicate:Haha.. seen loads of u ppl comments. Anyway, dad told me nt to take the underpaid job. Not worth it. So i didnt work.
yup, dun work let ppl do lor.. In conculsion. Singapore should haf Minimum wage.
Example. People who work nightshift should be paid reasonably higher then day shift. Considering those who got family, at night work, day time slp, no time to accompany kidz n wife. Yup. Just one of my idea.
What u guys gotta say?
thats very true...the thing isOriginally posted by Aveme:you can wait long long for a minimum wage rule to be implemented.If such a rule come up,it will only go against what the govt wants all the time,that is let singapore labour's cost be competitive so that more foreign companies will want to come invest.So tell me that the present govt will actually now want to think of poor people? Yeh right,ask them help themselves,dun depend on the govt.
And b4 such a minimum rule will even be considered,the first thing that is actually needed is to increase back the CPF contribution rate to 20%,so many years has passed by with initial promises to increase it back has seen nothing being done so it already shows the govt is not willing to increase the cost of singapore labour and thus no chance for a minimum wage rule