To me, condemning the antics of the misguided few is not tantamount to racism. It is only stereotyping if you tar all the members of the Malay race with the characteristics of the misguided few. So in my point of view, I don't see your friends as 'racist' so long as they maintain the status quo of refraining from tarring everyone with the same brush.Originally posted by skyfoo:Well, in my opinion, to remove all hatred towards the malay race, the government has to do something to reform the malay youths. From my observation, they are the main cause of racial issues. All my "racist" friends have issues against these malay youths, particularly those less educated ones, yet none have problems with the malay race as a whole.
ERS eh?Originally posted by sinicker:when i got my enlistment letter, i kena SCDF.
on enlistment day on the way there, my dad warned me, "dont make friends with the malays there." i know why lah. lol.
den aft POP, i got to be an instructor for the recruits now.
right now, as intakes pass by, i feel i wanna change the way these malays behave and such. but some are really gone-cases. some of those tattooed, got criminal case kinda guys behave well under me. i feel proud of them... but i worry what they'll do in future.
i too condemn ah bengs, but in the case of malay race, the proportion is just too big to list them as the "few big sheeps". the culture among the malay youths seems to be engaging in vices as cool. underage sex, smoking, gangsterism, etc. police reports have revealed that a big proportion, sometimes more than half, are of malay race. this truly shows the seriousness of the issue. thus, i think a big cleanup of these youths shld be the solution. and sorry if i offended u or what, it's just my observation and opinion.Originally posted by fudgester:To me, condemning the antics of the misguided few is not tantamount to racism. It is only stereotyping if you tar all the members of the Malay race with the characteristics of the misguided few. So in my point of view, I don't see your friends as 'racist' so long as they maintain the status quo of refraining from tarring everyone with the same brush.
I myself condemn ah bengs who make a fool of themselves in public and disturb the peace. I know that they're not representative of all Chinese, and as such I don't attribute their antics to all Chinese. Heck, many of my closest friends are Chinese.
The way I see it, though, 'the misguided few' among the Malays, though, is becoming more and more like the norm instead of the exception. While the government can take steps to get them back in line, ultimately I believe that change can only come from within.
So long as we Malays don't give ourselves a great kick in our rear ends and rid ourselves of the idiotic concepts of 'tidak apa-thy' and 'janji Melayu', we can never raise ourselves up from our own drudgery.
Nah, you didn't offend me. I don't see why the truth should offend me.Originally posted by skyfoo:i too condemn ah bengs, but in the case of malay race, the proportion is just too big to list them as the "few big sheeps". the culture among the malay youths seems to be engaging in vices as cool. underage sex, smoking, gangsterism, etc. police reports have revealed that a big proportion, sometimes more than half, are of malay race. this truly shows the seriousness of the issue. thus, i think a big cleanup of these youths shld be the solution. and sorry if i offended u or what, it's just my observation and opinion.
no idea but its still a question that should be raised and a point that was glossed over right?Originally posted by mhcampboy:how much do you pay during your primary and secondary sch years?
well there r just some people r just narrow-minded, and with thinking and mindset like frog in the well, wat to do?Originally posted by laurence82:i stopped talking to this army mate who is biased against everything, including asking me things like why i hang out the Malays
Originally posted by Quarteto Da Pinga:thats so stupid my brain hurts!
[b]
2)(compulsory just like NS) chinese men should get a malay muslim wife and 'enter' their religion,
because some people are born with a smaller brain, therefore they ask such stupid questions.Originally posted by laurence82:i stopped talking to this army mate who is biased against everything, including asking me things like why i hang out the Malays
With this as a weakness, the opposition can use this to question against the government education policies. During their stay in their education, I found that the school do not really care them, let them do whatever they like. Only those who are concerned will try their best to help out. Students can also make friends with them and need not to be feel so scared and may distance themself away which is a not good pratice.Originally posted by sinicker:when i got my enlistment letter, i kena SCDF.
on enlistment day on the way there, my dad warned me, "dont make friends with the malays there." i know why lah. lol.
den aft POP, i got to be an instructor for the recruits now.
right now, as intakes pass by, i feel i wanna change the way these malays behave and such. but some are really gone-cases. some of those tattooed, got criminal case kinda guys behave well under me. i feel proud of them... but i worry what they'll do in future.
Yar. Call police. End of story.Originally posted by Normal^Guy:Kkz..I wanna voice something out here..not tt i wanna b racist or wat..anyway i am also not shooting all malays..If any one of u r free one of these day..During the nite time, ard 12am..come down to Seashell park..located at pasir ris..Recently every nite, there will b some malay guys keep shouting or rather scolding somthing..i duno he is scolding..but still can understand abit..And he con't tt for also 1 hr, ten he stop, i think he's drunk.. i tot tt i can have a peaceful nite..but after a while, he start shouting again..and there's also another grp of malays keep burning lighter at one of the seashell shelter..when the lighter explosive..if u knw, the sound will b damn loud..and it's dangerous lor..u will see them happily running away shouting..And i was already damn fed up lor..at nite they dun need to slp, ppl need to slp leh..they nv work or study. ppl need leh..ten nowadays more jia lat..they take all their Kon pang and start hiting and singing..like no gov lor..they tot here indo ar?? Pls lor..If u guys r free at nite and has nth to do, feel free come down and take a look ur self..no offence..