i would not even bother to laugh waste my time...let the indon gahmen solve their own probs...hav to train them...if they have an early warning system inplace they will be able to evacuate the ppl on time before desaster strikes. one thing is sure no donations from me..i rather save it for my own medical bills when the haze returns....the prob wif the haze dates back to 1991 and almost 2 decades later its still the same.Originally posted by snop_coolz:next time they kana hit by tsunami we dont give a sh!t..instead we should laugh and say..now the tsunami has helped to bring ur forest fire down..
Pray lah if tml have tsunami to wipe out the fire i treat u to dinnerOriginally posted by snop_coolz:next time they kana hit by tsunami we dont give a sh!t..instead we should laugh and say..now the tsunami has helped to bring ur forest fire down..
not bad...it will also test the indon gahmen on ttheir responsive level to disaster early warning alert. if they evacuate the ppl in time, tsunami will just put out tthe fires and all our skies clear....one stone kill all birds with no casualties......i am for the dinner treatOriginally posted by NewAge:Pray lah if tml have tsunami to wipe out the fire i treat u to dinner
Their farmers ignorant our fault is it? Their problem so they better settle themselves, don't bother us.Originally posted by Ponders:Give indonesian govt a break leh.
The farmers suka suka burn forest, one time burn entire hectares...
deploy entire army also cannot put out.
Blame the farmers for their ignorance who never stepped out of their own village.
hmm.. in January 2005, when a bush fire broke out in Tampines, even our SCDF can't handle it.Originally posted by phber:Their farmers ignorant our fault is it? Their problem so they better settle themselves, don't bother us.
Haze so many year liao, all the laws and policies are drafted, prepared and discussed until sian liao. Why they never enforce?
Country too big, not enough manpower to enforce, our fault is it?
So many excuse, they not paiseh ah?
No, it's not holiday. It's called State of Emergency.Originally posted by mistyblue:even if its 5000, you think singapore will have holiday?
Originally posted by Deportivo:I believe they are right.
I am starting to doubt NEA meaurement of air pollution. Only 130 at this moment? They have to be kidding.
This is what i found in wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pollutant_Standards_Index
"The Pollutant Standards Index, or PSI, provides a uniform system of measuring pollution levels for the major air pollutants. It is based on a scale devised by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) to provide a way for broadcasts and newspapers to report air quality on a daily basis.
The PSI is reported as a number on a scale of 0 to 500 and is the air quality indicator. These index figures enable the public to determine whether the air pollution levels in a particular location are good, unhealthy, hazardous or worse. The PSI is used in a number of countries including the United States and Singapore. [b]However since 1999, the United States EPA has replaced the Pollution Standards Index (PSI) with the Air Quality Index (AQI) to incorporate new PM2.5 and ozone standards."
It is stated in NEA's website:
"Note:
Hourly updates of 3-hr PSI readings are provided from 6am to 12am.The 3-hr PSI readings are calculated based on PM10 concentrations only."![]()
Originally posted by vizuel:finally some1 in this trade said something....
I believe they are right.
There are 5 pollutants designated as 'criteria pollutants' in the reporting of the PSI. They are:
dust or particulate matter of 10 micron in size (PM10),
sulphur dioxide,
nitrogen dioxide,
carbon monoxide and
ozone.
The recorded levels of these pollutants are used to produce a single index (PSI) on a scale of 0 - 500. The [b]highest reading of only any one of the criteria pollutants when converted into its corresponding PSI values shall be reported as the air quality level for the day.
Remember PM10 is invisible. If you can see the haze, you are actually looking at the larger particulates. The available equipment only measures the concentrations of particulates at invisible sizes. So thick (visible) haze need not necessarily correspond to high PM10 (invisible) readings all the time.
Also remember smoke comprises condensation and vapours as well as dust. In the morning, there might well be mists as well. These also add to the reduced visibility. Condensation and vapours are not measured by the equipment because the air is dried before it is passed over the sensor.
PM10, being smaller and lighter than the bigger dusts, can also travel faster and further. Therefore it is also possible that a thick (visible) haze which is a few days old contains only the bigger and slower moving particulates. Most of the (invisible) PM10 may have already blown away, especially if there are no fresh new source of the lighter PM10.