(Chenc)
Iraq was is the few exceptions, where US somehow justified it (whether reasonable or not). China or Malaysia or etc will not invade just to gain power.
No country is completely self-sustaining and they in one way or another have to trade with other countries. So if one country carry out a war, UN and other countries will stop trading or come up with some restrictions and control. Like the US done to the N.Korea
Yeah, but if that's the case, how did the Vietnam War, the 1950s N. and S. Korea etc. started? The other countries could have put sanctions on those warring countries, but they didn't. War still broke out.
(CindyFeh)
3. Shoot your commanders first because they are paper generals only. Fight for them, sure die.
Yeah loh, i agree. so nice to hear such words coming from a girl somemore!

(Snop Coolz)
1 thing..if N.korea attack us...1 tiny nuke from them..our grounds are already flatten...mayb even johor also gone...
if china attack us..we will b fighting an army of men..u think singapore can actually win any country?
no lah....if a modern day nuke drops on SG, not only SG......but Batam, KL, Johor and all surrounding islands and cities will be also gone.
last time in 2000, got one nuclear scientist says the average nuclear bomb is 9.6 times more powerful than the Hiroshima and Nagasaki one. now it's 2006. maybe it's 15 - 25 times more scary!

(Chelzea)
mai kong jiao wei lah Laughing u think 1 WW2 izit Laughing i nuclear come,singapore sink liao
Sinking Japan, and now, Sinking Singapore?

(Ponders)
Exit permits will not be issued and those issued will be cancelled.
i wonder why they can do this.......those high-up folks always proclaim SG is a "democratic" country, but if war comes, then we don't even have the chance to flee? i remember in other countries, when war comes, people just take trains, buses, planes or whatever to flee and the gahmen also encourage them and let only the army stay to minimize casualties.
whoa....if let others know about us, we sia-sway liao. war come cannot run, then be sitting ducks wait for God of Death to pay you visit lah? then the death god also will be very busy, must work overtime liao.
and i think there is enough peer pressure to make you stay.
i agree. SG people tend to listen to the laws at the last minute. like for every NSF, they hate NS but force themselves to do it. but then, in war......if you're forced to fight war with total reluctance and ill-will, then sure die one.
not only waste lives, but effort and country also gone.
(Maxwell)
agree with the thread starter that one day war will bring out again. Look at the current UN, although it's better and stronger than the league of nations of last time, it's very much dependent on US which is the main financial support of UN. UN itself is to prevent any possible war or threat through peaceful means, but it seems it can't do any thing to US when they decide to declare war on another country in the name of terrorism. Someday history will repeat itself.
yeah, but as Clinton once said, "Asia will be the region to watch in the new millennium". i think very true. the terrorists are dangerous, but they're nothing compared to huge superpower countries. USA now distracted by terrorist and it really has it's foot stuck deep in quicksand. if it's foot is still sinking in the terrorist/Iraq quicksand 8 years from now and china's military strength is more powerful, it can defeat the US with no problem and I think the terrorists will be glad as well.

but if china really attacks, no problem as well, because i believe Japan(with it's self-defence force) can still hold them off a little and South Korea will also do something. maybe N. Korea and Russia will help China(thereby the new Three Axis of Evil) to defeat their long-time eye-sore, the US.
after US is down, then we all die liao.
(SixSentinels)
"The nations of the world will have to unite, for the next war will be an interplanetary war. The nations of the earth must someday make a common front against attack by people from other planets.
that remark from McAurthur is really naive. the next war, WW III, will involve entire continents capable of destruction never witnessed before in history. the destruction scale will be a lot more than WW I and WW II combined together. it'll probably be the mother of all wars ever fought.
anyway, if humans managed to survived, then McArthur's statement might be right : we'll be facing aliens in WW IV.
or maybe we call it Star Wars I already?

(Nullifed)
If nuclear weapons are involved i sugges we don't waste any of our time and effort and let's all sit down and take a smoke break and look up in the sky where there will be a bright flash of light.
the night before that happens, i'll have all the sex i can first before i die. don't care liao.....all human lust will run wild.
(NewAge)
Have anyone notice the different in age which equal experience between Singapore generals and those of other countries. Ours are mostly in the 30s or 40s while the US generals are in their 50s or 60s. So do anyone still have confident in yr general?! Please dun forget most of them are scholars. They might not be promoted because of merit but becasue of them taking mindef scholarship thus mindef nurture them.
the generals in other countries(in this case, i'll focus on the US) get promoted not because of paper qualifications.
all of them are true war veterans who've at least participated in the Vietnam war, the Korean War etc., serving as young officers back then. they're not like SG, whereby if you're a President scholar and you sign on in army, you get promoted to Captain right away and get promoted non-stop until you reach Brigadier/Major-General.
our generals are more like having ceremonial purposes, such as always visiting foreign countries to cut red ribbons, receive "regional cooperation medals", get confered a title in a certain regional country(Highest White Knight by the Order of the King of Thailand, try that) and make "so-and-so" pledges.
everyday sit in air-con office sign documents, approve contractor/public works, review the financial budgets of camps blah blah blah....they make better executives in SG Shenton offices, though.
(AigloSicle)
Such a situation is entirely hypothetical. the chances of any country attacking singapore is quite slim. anyway even if we do get occupied it is relatively safe to say that the occupation wouldnt last forever as history tells us that no occupation has truly succeeded.
yeah, but i don't want to see my family killed or get myself tortured!
anyway, one of the posters mentioned something like even if china rush down upon us with no weapons, they also win.
correct le! china's army alone is a lot more than entire SG population!!!!!
even if let's say, 500, 000 china troopers descend upon us non-stop from all directions carrying swords and spears, we also no chance one, because the outnumbering problem overshadows our gun-and-bomb advantage. by the time we load our ammo, their next batch is coming again, like the tide at sea. die liao.