(Jetabt)
4 megaton, single warhead delivery, reentery, detonating 1500 metres above ground level, about whole of Singapore will feel shockwave, taking Macritchie Reservoir as Ground Zero, buildings in Toa Payoh, Braddell, Bishan, Ang Mo Kio, will suffer destructive damage. Buildings in Newton, Yio Chu Kang, Bukit Timah, Bukit Batok, City, as far as Hougang and Geylang will suffer heavy, un-repairable damage. Jurong Islands, Tuas, Jurong West, Changi, Bedok and Punggol/parts of Sengkang will suffer minor shockwave damage.
How can this be possible? Singapore is so small; if got atomic bomb explode 1500 metres above ground level, then entire city will feel shockwave. how come Jurong Island, Tuas and Jurong West/Changi only suffer minor damage?
4 mega-ton is very heavy liao : that's 400 tons! surely even batam area will feel shockwave.
(Ponders)
I don't get you.. in other countries, when war comes, PEOPLE flee. Correct. They are civilians, women and children.
In Singapore, all MALES are NS Men, they have the duty to defend the land therefore their exit permits will be cancelled.
that means, the fate of us SG males are SEALED right from the day we're born in this fateful country, to be helpless mice destined for war since birth? KNN! WTF? i tell you, if enemy invade SG and i'm forced to fight, then it won't be a fight between nations anymore. it'll be a fight of idealism and for my own fate. KNN.......never heard of anything more absurb. in SG, are we even given a choice? if no, then i'll fight it myself! sabo my own army! help enemies if they're not so bad. who knows? maybe a new SG will be like the West. this may be an opportunity to break free of you-know-who.

(Ristar)
the people are oppressed, the media is state run, any opposition crushed/sued, monopoly of everything in sg, control of everything in sg, speakers' corner a bloody joke, to even imply the govt is like NKF equals to sued until bankrupt and cannot pay debts even after working like a bull for several lifetimes, even during election the PAP sign is much larger than the opposition's, nobody listens, the ONLY country with MM and SM even though we are MUCH smaller, and we pay all of them Ms more than the US president while some people are so damn poor and have to jump onto the MRT rail to commit suicide to get some attention... u cant even get a BJ without telling the ger not to bao toh uÂ…
right, right! regarding the BJ thing, are you refering to that malay cop a couple years back, whereby he ask a girl or something to give him a BJ? he was charged, even though the girl was a willing party. there was no penetration/sexual intercourse and he still got in trouble! got a few readers of the Straits Times Forum section wrote in the other time to ask the court to change the law, because that anti-oral-sex law is based on 1800s Old Britain law and that's outdated(because in 1800s Britain, oral sex is considered anti-Christian or something un-orthodox; got to do with Christian religion, and so those old Britain courts set the law) already.
eh, if i wanna try bondage, doggie, super-bear-hug, trishaw/bicycle, 69, reverse-cowgirl, must apply form anot? where apply? through MP?

(Maxwell)
well even though they had signed a treaty to ban usage of uncontolled nuclear bombs, however superpowers like US, are constantly stocking up their supplies of nuclear warheads. Thus when a war breaks out the treaty itself will render useless and even though there's UN, i doubt its capability as a peacekeeping organisation. However the usage of nuclear bombs will not come in so early in a war unless the conflict worsens to a degree of unrepairable situation.
yeah, the treaties only hold true in peacetime. in wartime, the treaties are worse than toilet papers because no one will abide by them. this is the desperation nature of humans. countries are run by humans and if countries are angered, they don't give a damn so long they've the confidence to win.
like in world cup, where Zidane head-butt the Italian guy. he knows this is THE WORLD CUP and there are RULES, but he still don't give a darn. in this world, there's treaties and such, but if say, a country like Russia(though unlikely) bombs US one day, you think the treaties will be valid? No. all countries will start taking sides straight away and fight.
in human history, people sign so many treaties enough to fill the largest American library, but still got endless wars. KNN.
(CountDracula)
first off, the scenario is unlikely....china has gone too far down the capitalist road to do another 'cultural revolution'..already saddled with its own ethic problems, it's got a full plate.....north korea needs to either 'walk through' china or gamble against its southern cousins with us troops....
north korea is unlikely. even if they can develop atomic/nuclear bomb also no use. this is because their country is poor and has no economic backing. they cannot sustain long if the US put full sanctions on them. not to mention other major countries like China etc. they can be defeated as easily as Iraq.
china is different. the rate it's expanding now, both military and economically, is exactly like the way America rose up to the top of the world back in the 17 - 19th century. if it keeps up for another 20 years, then it can challenge US, no problem.
our dear MM also got mentioned some time back in ST newspapers in an interview. he said something like china won't be a threat in the next 5 - 10 years, but will be on par or surpass the US in 20 years(or 25) or so.
seems that countries are taking turns to become superpowers. in before 19th century, it's UK. now US.
now the pioneer mag keeps advertising the capabilities of 3SIR... im not sure how 3G they are, anyone from there?
whoa, u got read Pioneer mag also meh? last time before i ORD, i got tell them to unsubscribe from this mag, but KNN, they still send to my home every month? it's S$14 per year!
the mag is really corny. it keeps advertising the officers and generals doing "real work" and how they care for the men. NSFs seldom get the chance to get interviewed in the mag, so it's more like a Officers' Club magazine to me. and when NSFs get interviewed in the mag, it's always about praising the officers for being so attentive to their welfare and how patient the army is when teaching them new things....all that kind of praise lah.
maybe they get rewarded for 5 days off / no extra duties?

(Ryousuke)
The point is how many days we can hold as water supply is being cut
that's the problem. SG is too small to defend. in China, US, Russia, Australia, Germany, Brazil, India and even Malaysia, the country is spacious and big. thus, even if enemy lines managed to land on the country, the country can still take the time to slowly plan the next step because they still have many chances and resources.
like in WW II. Germany bombed London non-stop for weeks, 24/7. but they cannot even capture the city or severly cripple UK, because the country is big and cannot be overtaken in a matter of weeks, even months.
same goes for Germany VS. Russia. the germans conquered Europe but cannot even invade the Western regions of Russia then(got the winter storm to hold back those german troops until Russia mustered enough power to fight back).
china also same. japan captured shanghai, beijing, guangzhou and others, but 99% of chinese lands still intact! they got complete chance to stall for time until all of eternity.
SG leh? enemy bomb City Hall or a Singtel station. next second, the country cannot function properly anymore. even if SAF wants to send SMS message to your phone to ask you to report camp for war also cannot. the next moment we know, the enemy soldier is knocking on our HDB block and saying "Ni Hao!".
if i'm not wrong, most of the SAF war contingencies and plans are made with the assumption that the telecommunications are not cut and everything is intact. the thing is : even if our air force is formidable, by how much?
in reality, assume that each SAF pilot can shoot down 5 planes(that's a best case scenario already). but surely there'll be 1 miss. and if this 1 single miss means the enemy manage to drop a single bomb(atomic / hydrogen / normal) on SG, then i can say we lost already.
in average case scenario, we'll be sure to kenna 5 or more bombs from air strikes mah. so how? die loh. 3G SAF? are they refering to SAF men with 3G phones?
against USA, its always the same.
1st: Tomahawk missiles destroys vital installations.
2nd: Air strikes. 1 X CVN (Nuclear powered Aircraft Carrier) is capable of carrying more than 80 multirole fighters and support aircraft. in addition, they will position the USAF within striking distance in allied countries.
they will achieve air superiority easily if not immediately as their Tomahawks has already destroyed vital installations or is working in tandem. they'll win by sheer numbers with experienced fighter pilots. commando elements infiltrate and paints targets for the pilots who destroys them quickly and effectively.
3rd: US Marines and Army heavily supported by Close Air Support and shelling from naval guns.
4th: we die/surrender. they conquered Iraq quickly. ours will be in a matter of days, if not hours.
no lah; US won't conquer SG one. what for? they got no use for us. they're aiming China, i can tell you. besides, if US want to conquer, they wouldn't have waited so many decades. they could just use the atomic bomb after WW II, especially since they're the only countries with that bomb at that time.
anyway, from what i know, USA's trump card in war has always been their air force, because it's the number 1 most freaking strong in the world. their other trump card is the neutron bomb, of course.
(SiaoKao / Barking Mad Doggie)
If you dun like PAP gov.. what have you done to change that? Chit Chat in SGF?? No wonder PAP still in power!
if you fight enemy/offend them but beg them like a dog and choose to serve them loyally, they might let you live. the chance is less than 10%, but at least still got chance.
if offend you-know-who, He will sue till you bankrupt and sleep on the streets and keep watching your every move. if you make one more wrong move, he'll further sue again until u suffer a fate worse than death.
(Grandeur)
“I do not believe that civilization will be wiped out in a war fought with the atomic bomb. Perhaps two-thirds of the people of the earth will be killed.” quoted by Albert einstein
einstein is wrong liao. when he made that statement, it's with the knowledge and assumption of the atomic bomb. he never thought that nuclear technology will progress to such a state today, and now we're talking about the neutron bomb and inter-continental nuclear missles. the atomic bombs in WW II only can be dropped from the sky. now it's able to fly everywhere and inflict way more damage.
good day,
nikar.