hi darlingOriginally posted by smudgey:Hey my mum is going hokkiado end of this month.... i know it's not a great time to go as it's very very cold (abt -8degrees) but she booked liao...
so i wanna ask about winter wear... any one know what different grades of long john there are... heard if buy one for very very low temps, when move indoors it'll be too hot even without jackets..
does anyone here have any experience with temperatures as cold as -8 degrees? can advice on winter wear?
Originally posted by Space1999:hi darling <![]()
>
the problem is when she moves from outdoor to indoor, the excessive clothing will make her sweat too much and the change of temperature suddenly can cause sickness, wear one pc of long john, and the rest should be a wool sweater and jacket which she can take off immediately upon entering a heated area
glove and earmuff is good too.and something to cover the neck . she dont have to look cool but just comfortable is good
drink lots of water. otherwise hve fun
ah nearly forgot make sure she wears a good pair of shoes , she could easily fall down cause ice makes the ground slippery, and if old lady fall down it will be very bad cause the surface is very hard < is sports shoes good enough?>
I personally hate long johns and I never wear them now ... thicker pants like corduroys are good enough for me ...Originally posted by smudgey:thanks Cool-gal, Ditzy, and Fatum...
so i gather that a normal long john and a THICK jacket is enough? cos a sales gal told my mum that there's a lot of different long john for different temperatures....
Cool-gal, is there any way to prevent the nose bleed? cos my mum is quite prone to that....
shoes with lots of grip should be okOriginally posted by smudgey:
Drink lot's of water..... Himalaya moisturiser.... Checked!Originally posted by Cool-gal:sad to say, i dun noe man.
i was told tat i didnt had enough water due to dry weather.
for moisturiser, ask her to try himalayas brand, quite good.
drink lots of water n dun forget her gloves. very very crucial. and scarf to cover her face against the blow of cold wind.
no no no... no bah chang!!! hehehe ok.... corduroy and good jacket.... Checked!Originally posted by Fatum:I personally hate long johns and I never wear them now ... thicker pants like corduroys are good enough for me ...
as long as your extremities are warm, a good jacket would be good enough ....
you wouldn't want to be wrapped up like some bah changs right ? ...
shoes with lots of grip.... hmmm.... like what? her's is a normal sport shoes for walking....Originally posted by Space1999:shoes with lots of grip should be ok
but still she have to walk slowly , over there they sell some spikes you can attach to your shoes, but you look like a bloody idiot
so ask her not to run !very very very slippery!
ask her to walk behind somebody and thread on those ground most walked , then if its slippery the person in front will fall down first
hence warning her!
hahaha are you serious?Originally posted by alexkusu:Use the japanese hand warmers and plaster all over your body. They are called hokairos or something![]()
ooh i think Cool-gal mentioned....Originally posted by Chin Eng:did any one mentioned lip balm? lip crack very cham one.
neutrogena lipbalm is good. long lasting.Originally posted by smudgey:ooh i think Cool-gal mentioned....
ok Lip balm..... Checked!
thanks cool-galOriginally posted by Cool-gal:neutrogena lipbalm is good. long lasting.
im so hurt you doubt me that wayOriginally posted by smudgey:hahaha are you serious?![]()
Awww....Originally posted by alexkusu:im so hurt you doubt me that way![]()
for camera using AA batteries, chances of 'hanging' would be higher.Originally posted by smudgey:Oh by the way i was also wondering about electronics...
Camera and video cam.... will the cold weather cause these things to 'hang'?
any way to prevent it????
plus if it does 'hang' when we return to singapore.... will it damage the camera or video cam???
hmmmm.... a bit risky hor.... my precious cam!!!Originally posted by kenn3th:yea, there might be a problem of condensation, so normally what i would do is to store it in a warmer place eg: nxt to heater to play safe. but now most products are tested to extreme temperatures,so condensation might nt happen..
towel ah.... ok checkedOriginally posted by Cool-gal:for camera using AA batteries, chances of 'hanging' would be higher.
for most electronic products, are so called 'not' allowed anything below than 5'C.
as the moist will get into the processor chip thru any openings (eg:battery compartment) thus spoiling it.
always prepare a towel or something thick to cover it up once finishing taking few shots.