It will occur if any of your neighbour happen to use the same SSID as you.Originally posted by Ito_^:it does connect to the strongest signal and u can set ur preferred network. i dun understand how come some ppl can connect to wrong network one. i've never connected wrongly for the past x years of my wireless experience.
That's precisely what I meant. I said that it would still have been wrong of the boy to do what he did even if the neighbour didn't encrypt his network. To quote my own words:Originally posted by Ito_^:if u leave ur wallet out in the open, and someone steals it, it doesn't mean the thief is justified to steal ur wallet and gets away scott free.
I mean, it would still be wrong of the boy to steal the network if the neighbour didn't encrypt it.I was just wondering whether the neighbour had taken reasonable steps to encrypt his network and prevent unwanted intrusions. While it would still have been wrong of a thief to steal an unguarded wallet (and he indeed should be punished), the owner should have taken steps to safeguard it in the first place.
Originally posted by Y_Shun:If he never logs in here, confirm + chop that's him.
Is that guy "[b]kog" in sgForums?
Look here!!!!!!!![/b]
If you can tap the wireless, means you are nearby. Wireless signals aren't very strong if you don't use special equipment. Anyhow guess also know...Originally posted by T.Ryousuke:They have the nick of the user laptop/pc but how they know where u r?
You are considered a minor if you are under 16. And your full name won't be published.Originally posted by browniebaobao:i dinoe that it's illegal.
many of my frens do it.
altho he's 17.. but is there a need to publish his pic and name in full ar?
You think that owner care? Although it's pretty easy to trace who's piggy backing your wireless... it is not easy to trace to the exact location... so obviously the owner is no simpleton.Originally posted by LinYu:knn. that fellow shld just set password instead. he shld also share the blame for causing the theft and wasting tax-payer monies for police investigation![]()
Please lor... Windows XP allows you to set the preferred network, so there's no way you can connect wrongly.Originally posted by o0Nite0o:this is damned fucking dumb. Those who dont secure their own wireless networks and kpkb when others use their networks should be buried alive.
There are some configurations where the wireless device will automatically connect to the strongest signal it receives. Many palmtops and smartphones are programmed to do so.
Imagine walking to the living room with ur laptop. Your wireless router is in your bedroom while your next-door neighbour's router happen to be nearer to your laptop.
And than your laptop automatically connects you to your neighbour's router because its signal is stronger at your living room.
Than ur neighbour decides to sue u for tapping into his connection and you get jailed for that.
You can change it. Refer to the manual.Originally posted by o0Nite0o:It will occur if any of your neighbour happen to use the same SSID as you.
The SSID "home" and "linksys" is quite common.
btw... There were times when windows automatically add the strongest signal to my preferred networks. Many people had encounted this before.
Agree.Originally posted by kheldorin:Why don't the owner just encrypt his network with a password? It's alot less troublesome and is a better solution for both parties. He's your neighbor. You have to live close by with the kid's family for goodness sake. Reporting the kid to the police knowing that it could lead to jail time is really harsh.
Another case of a Singaporean being over-dependent on the government to solve their problems.
Originally posted by kheldorin:Why don't the owner just encrypt his network with a password? It's alot less troublesome and is a better solution for both parties. He's your neighbor. You have to live close by with the kid's family for goodness sake. Reporting the kid to the police knowing that it could lead to jail time is really harsh.
Another case of a Singaporean being over-dependent on the government to solve their problems.
The article didn't even say whether the owner did anything to protect his/her network.Originally posted by C-100:Agree.
A wastage of the tax-payer's money to investigate over the matter when u don't protect ur own network (in the case where u dun wan neighbours to tap to it).
Haiz... Singapore seems to be a place with TOO MANY rules to live comfortably...
Even when ur laptop connect onto ur neighbours network accidently or not, u will be charged...
What the heck!![]()
Garyl Tan Jia Luo was accused yesterday of using a laptop computer to gain unauthorised access to a home wireless network on May 13 this year.And now read this part of the law:
6. —(1) Subject to subsection (2), any person who knowingly —Comupter Misuse Act
(a) secures access without authority to any computer for the purpose of obtaining, directly or indirectly, any computer service;
Udon is not under singapore jurisdiction at the moment.Originally posted by GHoST_18:udon should read this article...![]()
Whether or not the kid is in the wrong, I would prefer to know if the owner did secure his/her network. If that was never done, then my take on this is that he/she deserves it. I like Holland's take on this matter. Owners should be charged for not protecting their own networks, not the other way round.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The neighbour is likely to be one of those holier-than-thou idiots who think they enjoy that fleeting moment of exhilaration and joy in their otherwise pathetic existence by causing that kid to be jailed.
No doubt, the kid did something wrong, but I view the neighbour's harsh and at-all-costs method to be similarly deplorable and pathetic.
I disagree. I believe if the owner wants to let his network be publicly available, he should be allowed to do so, and be protected legally under the law.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Whether or not the kid is in the wrong, I would prefer to know if the owner did secure his/her network. If that was never done, then my take on this is that he/she deserves it. I like Holland's take on this matter. Owners should be charged for not protecting their own networks, not the other way round.
If the network is protected... it's another case.
yah and if one get caught, they only have themselves to blame.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Udon is not under singapore jurisdiction at the moment.
If I am the owner and I do not secure, and others use it, then I have only myself to blame. There is case precedence in North Carolina, which is called the placemat theory.
Yeah... we shouldn't tell them what to do. But it's irresponsible. Nothing is free in this world...Originally posted by LazerLordz:I disagree. I believe if the owner wants to let his network be publicly available, he should be allowed to do so, and be protected legally under the law.
Why should we tell them what to do? Let them bear the risks of running a community wi-fi network. In fact, I'm leaning towards the support for a community shared wi-fi run on a consumer node.
It's about how you want to treat intruders, especially if it is unsecured, that matters; to me personally that is..![]()
my dad sent me a summary of the article...Originally posted by GHoST_18:udon should read this article...![]()
Originally posted by udontknowme:my dad sent me a summary of the article...
thank goodness me and me sis in pluto now![]()
The owner is a noob wad....... Dunno how to secure and then hit the roof and called mata when someone tap into his wireless network.Originally posted by StarPuppy:actually the way i see it..the kid isn't at fault
but having a unprotected wi-fi = you are leaving your house front door open
you are asking for people to tap in...![]()