Campus jealousy: Two fined $1,000 for beating up fellow student
The two bosom buddies thought victim was eyeing girlfriend of one
By Chong Chee Kin
A CASE of campus jealousy that spilled over into violence saw two young National University of Singapore (NUS) graduates fined the maximum $1,000 yesterday for beating up a fellow student in April last year.
Singapore permanent residents Jiao Guanxiong, 24, and Tao Lei, 23, were both studying at NUS on Ministry of Education (MOE) scholarships. Both are Chinese nationals.
Jiao, an engineer, was an active student leader in NUS, while Tao, who studied computing, is now a budding entrepreneur who recently snagged a $1.6 million investment deal for his Internet technology company. Both graduated this year.
Yesterday, the two bosom buddies were each fined $1,000 for beating up 23-year-old campus mate Zhang Liang, who they believed was trying to move in on Jiao's then-girlfriend, also an NUS undergraduate.
The court heard that Jiao and Tao had turned up at West Coast Park at around 11pm on April 22 last year to meet Mr Zhang.
Both Jiao and Tao had been unhappy with Mr Zhang for some time.
Jiao felt he had been pestering his 22-year-old girlfriend, while Tao believed that Mr Zhang had been bad-mouthing him.
When the three met at the park, a dispute soon broke out and the two fell upon Mr Zhang, raining punches on him and kicking him.
The youth was taken to the National University Hospital, where he was given outpatient treatment for cuts and bruises. Tao had a cut on his head.
Yesterday, their lawyers, Mr Subhas Anandan and Mr Sunil Sudheesan, blamed Mr Zhang for provoking the fight.
They claimed Mr Zhang hurled insults at them, laughed off their accusations and tried to intimidate them by making a telephone call summoning more people to come to the park to help him.
After the call, they claimed Mr Zhang pushed Tao, sparking a scuffle. Jiao said he leapt in only when Tao was hit in the head.
Mr Anandan said that after the fight, his clients helped their victim and even offered to take him to hospital.
However, Mr Zhang 'continued to posture aggressively and even challenged our clients to stay where they were if they were brave enough', the lawyer said.
Both young men, who received their permanent resident status only this year, were active in NUS activities and held leadership positions in university clubs, the lawyer said.
They declined to comment after their sentencing.
Each could have been jailed for up to a year.
i thought u are a poor memberOriginally posted by ditzy:Only $1000 to get a PRC PR to beat up another PRC PR? I'm all for it!!!![]()
I support the notion, didn't say I'm paying.Originally posted by kenn3th:i thought u are a poor member![]()
Too late - they graduated earlier this year.Originally posted by red_amoeba:See lah, this is the type of FT that our gahmen are trying to bring in, on scholar ship somemore, I say, their scholorship shld be revoked and be given to needy Singaporean student.
They all should have met in Chinese Embassy and fight lor. Singapore no jurisdiction. Then they subject to Chinese law.Originally posted by red_amoeba:wah the PRC student must be rich, can engage Suhbas Anadan to defend for him - so $1K fine to him no problem, his legal fees i think is more than that.
what a stupid reason to pick a fight, the gf is another PRC is it? Wah lao, want to fight over a PRC girl for f**k? That two guys shld have gone to Geylang mah, there the whole horde of PRC, Vietnamese and Thai girls will fight over them loh....
See lah, this is the type of FT that our gahmen are trying to bring in, on scholar ship somemore, I say, their scholorship shld be revoked and be given to needy Singaporean student.
they are still young maOriginally posted by Ponders:i seriously wonder why the double standards..
normally for something like this to happen,
they would have lost the scholarship, PR and deported already.
23-24 is still 'young'?Originally posted by mamamamama:they are still young ma
let this be a lesson to them
i think if this were to happen again
they would most probably be gone from sillypore
quite young lah... still underaged to go some clubsOriginally posted by fudgester:23-24 is still 'young'?
wah the PRC student must be rich, can engage Suhbas Anadan to defend for him - so $1K fine to him no problem, his legal fees i think is more than that.Pls lor...Not only PRC's like that leh...If you look at my class you will know what i mean mah...
what a stupid reason to pick a fight, the gf is another PRC is it? Wah lao, want to fight over a PRC girl for f**k? That two guys shld have gone to Geylang mah, there the whole horde of PRC, Vietnamese and Thai girls will fight over them loh....
See lah, this is the type of FT that our gahmen are trying to bring in, on scholar ship somemore, I say, their scholorship shld be revoked and be given to needy Singaporean student.
i know 23-24 already considered quite old leOriginally posted by fudgester:23-24 is still 'young'?
coz they are not those ah neh ah neh that are worth nothing. can deport anytime and can import another 2 more back lor.. they are PRC FT hor.. cream of china hor.. not easy to find and con to sg one.. so of coz double standard lah.. for them triple standard also can lor..Originally posted by Ponders:i seriously wonder why the double standards..
normally for something like this to happen,
they would have lost the scholarship, PR and deported already.