Yup...the top 30 percent will get good honours. Average B and Cs can go Big 4 liao.Originally posted by jianfish9:Need what grades to go to Big4 work ah?
Anyway, I heard from my friends that NTU direct honours does not mean everyone gets it. Only the very good ones will get honours even if it is like 2nd lower.
I meant that the top 30 will prob get good honours (lst and 2nd upper). Another 20-30% will get 2nd lowerOriginally posted by jianfish9:So like 70% will not get honours?
No honours go work where then?
Yeah. No ned good honors to get into Big 3 - EY, KP and DTOriginally posted by Blue Ferret:I meant that the top 30 will prob get good honours (lst and 2nd upper). Another 20-30% will get 2nd lower
Trust me, no need good honours to get into the big 4.
Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:hello, anybody here works or worked in one of the Big 4 Audit Firms?
Care to share abt the culture of the firms? ur experience working in there?
What do u mean by localised already?Originally posted by play_n_play:localized already...
well, i tried checking, they dun explicitly state the benefits..Originally posted by aHGer^83:FYI, vivid, there's info abt the big 4 firm. u can even compare their benefits from their official websites n forums. but not here. so i suggest u make a bit of effort go find wad u want. =)
my bf used to work in one of the big 4 n i will not reveal which one. n he told me dat most ppl here talking crap(except 1). so i suggest u go yahoo.com.sg n key in "big four firm" u'll get wad u want.
Cheers!!!
Well ... this is the benefits offered by one of the big 4Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:well, i tried checking, they dun explicitly state the benefits..
Originally posted by marcuz1977:What do u mean by localised already?
now tts interesting..Originally posted by Blue Ferret:Some updates on the Big 4
The big 4 have raised their starting salaries for fresh graduates by 200. Starting pay is now 2200. PLUS 10% increment for good honours. So 2nd upper class Accountancy grads can earn $2420.
The big 4 will take in any graduate regardless of your degree classification. Just pass degree can liao.
A good effort but still not quite enough.Originally posted by Blue Ferret:Some updates on the Big 4
The big 4 have raised their starting salaries for fresh graduates by 200. Starting pay is now 2200. PLUS 10% increment for good honours. So 2nd upper class Accountancy grads can earn $2420.
The big 4 will take in any graduate regardless of your degree classification. Just pass degree can liao.
the first year increment at the end of one year is $500 minimum.... the starting pay is low. by pay go up very fast...Originally posted by marcuz1977:A good effort but still not quite enough.
The banks are offering $2,500 to average degree grads. If you have good honors, can be $3,000 ++. That you haven't count in the shorter working hours and more months of bonus.
Another thing about the 10% increment for good honors fresh grads. That is going to create another problem. The difference in salary between them and the "average degree" second year assistant will only be $180 (assuming the second year gets $2400+200). The average second year might feel very let down by the small difference in salary and may not be very willing to teach the good degree fresh grad much. They will be thinking: since the good honors is so smart, they can learn on their own.
This is further compounded by the fact that the average second year has been drawing $2400 since July and now suddenly a noob good honors first year is drawing $2420 with zero experience!
I hope they are paying the average second years a bit more than $200. Else people will still leave.
Originally posted by Blue Ferret:Ah thats a clearer and better picture.
There is a 10% pay rise across the board for big 4 staff.
[b]The following is quoted from Redoctober83 from HWZ
With the 10% pay rise, the salary structure of a typical big 4 auditor looks as follows
Assistant -lst year = $2200 (One of the big 4 is paying another 10% more for 2nd upper & above ie $2420)
Assistant - 2nd year = $2750
Senior Associate - lst year = $3630
Senior Associate -2nd year = $4290
Asst Manager = $ 4950
Manager = $6600 [/b]
Agree that 2420 is nothing great. But at least the big 4 kind of guarantee yearly promotions up to the Asst Manager level. which means u will definetly get 5k after 4 years (thats if , u don quit lah)Originally posted by marcuz1977:Ah thats a clearer and better picture.
Which is the unqiue big 4 that pays 2nd upper and above more?
EY? PWC?
Also $2200 and even 2420 isn't anything great.
A second upper and 1st class can get much higher in banks.
Which means a non-competitve grad should join Big 4? based on this line of thought, the 2nd uppper should still join bank cos she has a higher chances of "winning" the competition since by default, she is already very competitive (as evidenced by her higher grades). Thus in the end, Big 4 still end up with few 2nd upper.Originally posted by Blue Ferret:Agree that 2420 is nothing great. But at least the big 4 kind of guarantee yearly promotions up to the Asst Manager level. which means u will definetly get 5k after 4 years (thats if , u don quit lah)
Promotion in banks and other MNCs are more competitive. in banks, u start as a Senior Officer, but how many actually make the promotion to Asst VP? which means that u may enjoy a higher starting salary in the beg, but will lose out to big 4 auditors after a couple of years
Yupz. Working in a big 4 kinds of shelter u from the competitivness of the outside job market (as u don need to pia so hard for that pay rise / promotion).Originally posted by marcuz1977:Which means a non-competitve grad should join Big 4? based on this line of thought, the 2nd uppper should still join bank cos she has a higher chances of "winning" the competition since by default, she is already very competitive (as evidenced by her higher grades). Thus in the end, Big 4 still end up with few 2nd upper.
Hope the increase in salary by Big 4 will drive up the salary for the banks and commercial accountant's pay as well.
"Big 4 = Promotion if ur performance is not "bottom of your batch""Originally posted by Blue Ferret:Yupz. Working in a big 4 kinds of shelter u from the competitivness of the outside job market (as u don need to pia so hard for that pay rise / promotion).
But have to remember that banks normally recruit 2nd upper honor grads, so even u have 2nd upper, u are just meeting the requirement, and thus won give u the advantage in terms of promotion. Visualize urself fighting it out with people of similar calibre as you. In banks, u really need to perform to get promoted, unlike the big 4.
Banks = Promotion if ur performance is "top of your batch"
Big 4 = Promotion if ur performance is not "bottom of your batch"
Get the difference? hee hee