u r from pwc?Originally posted by blu_sky:x2
But if you dun mind working super duper damn long hours, they can offer quite good exposure and market value.
actually PWC may not require you to work as long hours as others. Depends on your luck!
PWC is the most difficult to get in.Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:icic.. i looked at the websites of the big 4 firms ar.. apparently pwc seems to b the best place to go.. any1 here works in pwc?
huh.. they want min 2nd upper ar? if i get 2nd upper, i go bank liao lo, who still wanna work in audit firm.. haha..Originally posted by marcuz1977:PWC is the most difficult to get in.
If you are not second upper or first class honors in NTU or SMU, can forget about it.
The other big 3 on the other hand are dam easy to get in.
Actually, in today job market, why bother with the audit firms?
Low starting pay - $2,000 and super long hours.
Go work in banks better. Starting pay $2,500 and not as long working hours and more bonus. Increament in banks can be a lot too.
Precisely, thats why the audit firms are severely understaffed now. But their top management dun really care much. The starting pay has been stagnant for long time. 2,000 bucks has been around since 2001?Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:huh.. they want min 2nd upper ar? if i get 2nd upper, i go bank liao lo, who still wanna work in audit firm.. haha..
you seem to know about the big 4.Originally posted by Parka:Yup. The compensation policy determines how people behave. But sooner or later, they will have to increase the starting salary to attract more people when their reputation goes down the drain.
PricewaterhouseCoopers......Originally posted by alexkusu:Ernst & Young?
Pricewaterhouse?
those counted ah
there is no such thing as to which one is better.... all the big 4 have various clientele which made them great for industry exposure. More than 70% of the listed firms in singapore are with the big 4, hence, you will get the most exposure. PwC and EY are the larger players relative to KPMG and Del. Hence, they are able to recruit abit more than the latter two. Having said all the above, whether you end up with a good exposure or work experience or not, depends on alot of factors too.Originally posted by marcuz1977:you seem to know about the big 4.
in your opinion which one is the better one(s)?
Originally posted by marcuz1977:you seem to know about the big 4.
in your opinion which one is the better one(s)?
Why didn't they choose KP or DT?Originally posted by Parka:Most of my friends work in EY & PWC.
Which one is better? Depends on what criteria you're using to judge them. But they are not really that different.
Originally posted by marcuz1977:Why didn't they choose KP or DT?
haha impossibleOriginally posted by Parka:I think it's the other way round. Why didn't KP and DT choose them?
Yes bank is good. All banks give u over 20 days of leave annually even if you are fresh grads. 3 mths bonus is common in banks. OT can claim higher amount of dinner money. Pay rise with promotion can be very significant.Originally posted by dinky1409:KPMG, Deloite Touche, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, Ernst & Young
I heard accountants no life arh? Wahlao, I want to have life also leh.. Basket work my ass off but cannot enjoy for what sia.. Work with bank good is it?
i think office politics are inevitable regardless where you go...Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:the culture is v impt.. i noe kpmg's culture is very open.. all like fren fren one.. i dun realli like those where they play rank..
i v interested in pwc leh, but according to marcus its v hard to get it.. haiz..