+1 That's why!Originally posted by dragg:knn, i think it is high time they revert to running dialect programs on tv.
i find the ban of such programs ridiculous. taiwanese and hong kongers dont speak english but yet are doing better than we do.
I am saying our version of Hokkien sounds crude. Go Fujian or Taiwan and listen to theirs and you know.Originally posted by Cystaire:Hokkien actually very art-ful one. How can say crude? How can?
How they scold KNN and CCB in cantonese?Originally posted by Honeybunz:Maybe it's my prejudice, but I would rather hear a girl scolding vulgarities in Cantonese than to hear a Hokkien conversation.
I loved to give others fits by speaking in Hokkien, then switching to fluent English.Originally posted by Honeybunz:Somehow Hokkien sounds equally unpleasant whether it's spoken by Taiwanese or Singaporean.
Whenever I see a guy speaking in Hokkien, I will not bother to look at him, no matter how he dresses or looks. I will start wondering "Is this guy educated?"
When I see a girl with a pretty face, the moment she blabbers something in Hokkien, she will look very unattractive. And her blabbering in Hokkien will usually be accompanied by some highly unattractive characteristics (speak loudly, fierce and agressive, or totally looks ugly).
Maybe it's my prejudice, but I would rather hear a girl scolding vulgarities in Cantonese than to hear a Hokkien conversation.
Hmm, your Hokkien seems to be a tad short on the ending syllables.Originally posted by glenlee193:we should have a ' learn hokkien' tread, people then hokkien wun extinct ma.
any1 can write definations for hokkien words
example------- 1 to 10 is ji neng sa si goh lut chi pui gao zup
Can you read Hokkien fluently?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I loved to give others fits by speaking in Hokkien, then switching to fluent English.![]()
I'd read it in the Borneo style of near-fluency. I'm not THAT fluent like a native Fujian province chap.Originally posted by Icemoon:Can you read Hokkien fluently?
Meaning if you pick up the news script, how likely you'd say the same thing as the hokkien news anchor in 958?
I'm quite confused. Apparently everyone uses the same script, but I'm not sure how one actually read Hokkien or any dialect from the script.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I'd read it in the Borneo style of near-fluency. I'm not THAT fluent like a native Fujian province chap.
We've got different slight variations of Hokkien, mine would be understandable in Sabah or Brunei.
Not sure leh, I heard that there's a bit of difference in pronouncing it.Originally posted by Icemoon:I'm quite confused. Apparently everyone uses the same script, but I'm not sure how one actually read Hokkien or any dialect from the script.
There is no 1-1 mapping from the script to the utterance .. am I right?
Mediocre english only because we have not reached the standard expected for a first language?Originally posted by dragg:after all these years they should have known that the ban of dialect programs is not beneficial at all.
singaporeans speak mediocre english, cannot cope with chinese and cant speak or understand major dialects.
They say Diu! and Yak Chew.Originally posted by Icemoon:How they scold KNN and CCB in cantonese?
the funniest thing is that instead of a british accent, the hongkies ended up with an american one ...Originally posted by Icemoon:Mediocre english only because we have not reached the standard expected for a first language?
I think we are very good liao. Compared with Hong Kong, they can't speak mandarin and english properly, considering they are a British colony until 97. What have the Queen's people been doing?
so what if they cant speak. their economy is as good as us.Originally posted by Icemoon:Mediocre english only because we have not reached the standard expected for a first language?
I think we are very good liao. Compared with Hong Kong, they can't speak mandarin and english properly, considering they are a British colony until 97. What have the Queen's people been doing?
CCB is chao hai.Originally posted by Honeybunz:They say Diu! and Yak Chew.
Hokkien sounds gentle? Sure...Originally posted by Fatum:actually hokkien sounds very gentle when spoken ... hear all the old folks speak hokkien ... they are all very soft spoken .... it's the ah bengs that spoil it ....
but a cantonese conversation on the other hand ... always manage to sound like a prelude to a fight ...
*takes cover ....
its a free world~~ oh its a freeee world~~Originally posted by Icemoon:Mediocre english only because we have not reached the standard expected for a first language?