liak wu kiu jiu ho.Originally posted by Fatum:dai wan eh hokkien uay gang wen lang eh hokkien uay um sio sang eh ....![]()
How come I dun understand dis?Originally posted by pipipopo:aw aw pong sai gou sin ka por bo beh chao![]()
si tiam? ler mian koon?Originally posted by pierre^^:the drama in taiwan always use hokkien one mah
u can watch tv at 4 am every weekday
Like wah vs gua.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:liak wu kiu jiu ho.![]()
eh?Originally posted by pierre^^:the drama in taiwan always use hokkien one mah
u can watch tv at 4 am every weekday
Actually Hokkien has many variants. Taiwanese Hokkien has many Khek (for example su for "4" rather than "si") and Japanese ("pang" for bread from Japanese Kibun, rather than our "loh-ti" from Malay) influences.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:It's Minnan actually. If you know Hokkien, you should have no problems understanding them.
Yup, but that's Singapore's version. You can't compare. You probably won't understand quite a bit if somebody talks to you in pure Hokkien.Originally posted by Cystaire:Actually Hokkien has many variants. Taiwanese Hokkien has many Khek (for example su for "4" rather than "si") and Japanese ("pang" for bread from Japanese Kibun, rather than our "loh-ti" from Malay) influences.
Our Hokkien has many Malay influences. Even Cantonese has mixed in, for example Kan Cheong, which should be Kin Teew in Hokkien.
Actually China prefer the northern dialect that they call mandarin. I dun think they support Hokkien ah!Originally posted by littlefishtan!:CHINA RISING! So all the chinese ad hokkein stuff will come back! Dont worry!
wrong . hokkein will disappear in china too . more and more ppl now speak mandarin . go xiamen see see . very few ppl speak hokkien .Originally posted by littlefishtan!:CHINA RISING! So all the chinese ad hokkein stuff will come back! Dont worry!
Cor-right... must not siah sway our common speak. Must be expert first! Hokkien sekolah tinggi!Originally posted by Quincey:Won't one la. In fact, we are proliferating it to outside our shores. My Singaporean friends and I on campus always speak Hokkien with a mix of English (in other words Singlish la). Haha, then all the ang moh hear us speak all damm curious la. One of the lingustic tutors even invited us to one of his tutorials to demonstrate how Singlish is spoken. Obviously, we decline la. Wait ask cheem cheem question cannot answer, that time lao kui.
Hokkien actually very art-ful one. How can say crude? How can?Originally posted by sermodabian:Hokkien in Singapore and Min Nan Yu in Fujian and Taiwan sounds absolutely different. One's crude, the other's refined. And ours is a very diluted version anyway.
But Hokkien is still one of the more spoken dialects in Singapore as with Cantonese, so if it should go extinct, the less common dialects would probably go first.