Just wait and see who comes out better at the end of your lives... gamblers might end up in jail or end up killing themselves even.Originally posted by pierre^^:two days ago went our with 2 frens to vivo
den they started talking abt finances and investment in shares
so they ask me what i wan to do in future
i reply i jus wan a stable cubicle job lor, doesnt matter which company as long pay is decent enuff
so they chided me for lack of ambition
One say he going to invest in stocks, the other wans to buy up companies that are in the mindst of bankrupcy
but to be honest i tink their fiances pooled together is enuff for 1 lot of shares oni
den they started like expert saying which share good, den look at what balance sheet
Somehow in their eyes i am useless, and in my heart i am very tempted to tell them hor, i dunno see on tv how many times so called experts like them, also kana burned.. plus they haven even started investment yet
Oh ya to prove their superiority, they brag to me they reading books like making money etc.. and i only read storybooks
Sianz.. wad is wrong with stability? Can i choose the life i wan to live sia..
but i still love my frens all the same despite our differences, coz noe them for more than 10 yrs le
Very true.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Actually, if u look from another pt of view, ppl who aim low are less hardworking and have little improvement in their life. If at this stage, you refuse to aim high n settle for a so-so lifestyle. When the times come that your lifestyle becomes a burden for you, there will be little chance for you to make a comeback.
it works both ways.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:Actually, if u look from another pt of view, ppl who aim low are less hardworking and have little improvement in their life. If at this stage, you refuse to aim high n settle for a so-so lifestyle. When the times come that your lifestyle becomes a burden for you, there will be little chance for you to make a comeback.
Agreed, and many times, the short cuts are illusions and delusions... no choice but to plan long term and work at it day by day...Originally posted by dragg:it works both ways.
Many people die because they have that attitude... try and see.Originally posted by dragg:not everybody is fated to make it big. if you have to prove it then go ahead.
plenty of people are into stocks and investments. most of them got their fingers burnt. you never know until you try.
Your examples don't make much sense because the topic is essentially about creating for yourself a better future by learning about business and investments. You don't have to be a smart person to know that taking heroine and gambling are undesirable. Does this mean that you shouldn't try to create a better future for yourself through other avenues besides working for a salary? Of course not.Originally posted by onceinabluemoon:Many people die because they have that attitude... try and see.
Many things you do not try and see... like taking heroine. Gambling is addictive, try and you might end up destroyed. Better to read up all you can about gambling then to "try"
I second that!Originally posted by MingFreeman:Ignore them. Just do what you are comfortable with. Living a stable and secure life is nothing wrong.
From their strategies, it looks like they are taking stupid risks. Its not wrong not to take risks but it is wrong to take stupid risks.![]()
i understand how your friends feels..Originally posted by pierre^^:two days ago went our with 2 frens to vivo
i reply i jus wan a stable cubicle job lor, doesnt matter which company as long pay is decent enuff
One say he going to invest in stocks, the other wans to buy up companies that are in the mindst of bankrupcy
but to be honest i tink their fiances pooled together is enuff for 1 lot of shares oni
den they started like expert saying which share good, den look at what balance sheet
Somehow in their eyes i am useless, and in my heart i am very tempted to tell them hor, i dunno see on tv how many times so called experts like them, also kana burned.. plus they haven even started investment yet
Oh ya to prove their superiority, they brag to me they reading books like making money etc.. and i only read storybooks
but i still love my frens all the same despite our differences, coz noe them for more than 10 yrs le
The thread starter was talking about one of his friends talking about buying and selling stocks and shares to make it big...Originally posted by Enigmatic1:Your examples don't make much sense because the topic is essentially about creating for yourself a better future by learning about business and investments. You don't have to be a smart person to know that taking heroine and gambling are undesirable. Does this mean that you shouldn't try to create a better future for yourself through other avenues besides working for a salary? Of course not.
People who don't have the courage to go for their dreams die a little inside everyday. I don't think anyone wants to lie on their deathbed when their time is up and think about the things they wanted to do but never did, either because of a lack of courage or because of a lack of will.
some correction.... there is no secure way of living in the 1st place. no more secure job world wide...Originally posted by kenn3th:relax la.. urs is the most secure way of living
earn enough money to,
buy a car, with $ left
fully pay ur hdb,
so u can buy a condo in the long run, and use those rents to pay the house loan.
theirs right is risky as one step means death if they do nt have capital
they may earn alot, but if something bad happens, it's sayonara to them ... they may be happy now, but it may nt be alwayz like that![]()
it a BIG risk to plan for 25 years in today context...Originally posted by onceinabluemoon:The thread starter was talking about one of his friends talking about buying and selling stocks and shares to make it big...
I think it is better to have a realistic 25 years plan... short cuts can cut short your life.
While I agree with your sentiment I would like to point out that there is no way that buying shares can cause you to become bankrupt unless you borrowed money to buy it.Originally posted by nanren4ever:Nothing wrong in not wanting to take risks. Its all up to the individual. Not everyone wants to lead a life where they wake up the next day and discover that the stocks and shares they bought have just caused them to become a bankrupt.
mutual funds or unit trusts have traditionally yielded reasonably good returns over >20 yrs. Even those investment insurance plans are some sort of a masked mutual fund. The Singapore govt take our tax money and put into mutual funds also (an average of 9% yield).Originally posted by dragg:take a look at the market now.
a lot of counters are over-priced already.
if and when someone negative happens someone will lose big again.
in the end it is only the major players that benefit.
they have ambitions, thou hard to achieve but they still willing.Originally posted by pierre^^:two days ago went our with 2 frens to vivo