wow...foreign talent ah?Originally posted by Cystaire:Do me a favour and read real science journals like Nature or Science or at least popular magazines like Scientific American.
If all you know about science is from creationist websites, then you will miss out on the real discoveries that is happening right now.
This is public forum so I won't talk about the details of my own work, but I am studying evolutionary biology and of course I have a testable hypothesis (with approved funding) and I am testing it right now.
I am not the only one, there are thousands of scientists studying evolution and many more applying its results to daily life.
Contrast that to a handful of creationist who have discovered... what exactly?
*Sigh*Originally posted by banzie:No you are not proving my claims... you can't even prove your own claims.... just by stating this and tat... it doesn't matter what kind of scientific education one has... I sees that you have difficulty defending yourself.
No, I'm Singaporean.Originally posted by Xtrider:wow...foreign talent ah?i wished i got the chance man...haha....
I should clarify that this is a misrepresentation of science. Of course direct imaging of a virus is only possible in more modern times (Electron microscope ~1950s) but scientists and doctors have been aware of the characteristics and effects of viruses for many years.Originally posted by banzie:Yea with a microscope right? How come no one says that 100 years ago?
The immediate reaction to Jenner's work was ridicule. Critics, especially the clergy, claimed it was repulsive and ungodly to inoculate someone with material from a diseased animal. A satirical cartoon of 1802 showed people who had been vaccinated sprouting cow's heads. However the obvious advantages of vaccination and the protection it provided won out, and vaccination soon became widespread.Reproducible and systematic effects rule
Originally posted by Ito_^:where is banzie har? lunch?
Originally posted by Xtrider:hmm...there are still many phenomena left unexplained till this day. for eg cosmologists are still unable to ascertain the whether the universe is finite or infinite,how the universe began etc etc....
[b]The greatest joke ever, is to explain to people that they are trying to prove something which doesnt exist in the first place. I tell you why religion exist. Religion came before science because people fear and do not know what is happening around them, so they attribute it to some supernatural power. However, as science progress, people become more knowledgeable. Do u believe that the light in ur house is powered by electricity or some supernatural power? Similarly, some dude from 1 BC will atribute the lighting to god's work because he simply wun understand the concept of electricity. So unless science can prove everything, there will always people who believes in god and religion.[/b]
Originally posted by ProudlySingaporean:Good article.
hmm...there are still many phenomenons left unexplained till this day. for eg cosmologists are still unable to ascertain the whether the universe is finite or infinite,how the universe began etc etc....
even though there are many credible scientific papers postulating the events immediately after the Big Bang, like the creation of all the types of matter the scientific world knows today, eg electrons protons,carbon etc etc, knowledge of the creation process is ultimately not the knowledge of the creator and till today there isn't any solid scientific study that succeeds in telling us why the Big Bang happen.
in the bewildering mix of scientific theories that are being thrown up everyday in Man's pursuit of understanding of the world around us and with so many uncertainties, wouldn't it be nice to have an anchor that gives rise to a more stable development of science for the long term? esp so when modern science, while giving us factual truths like how lightning is created, it can also be problematic and confusing....thinking of the recent declassification of pluto as a planet makes me wonder just how many of those so called 'established scientific truths' out there are acutally infallible.
in short i agree that people become more knowledgeable as science progresses,but knowledgeable in the sense that people are more aware of how things work in our life and not so much in the creation of stuff that existed in our universe eons ago and the reasons they are created for.
i think that atheists are perhaps too overconfident about the prowess of science in explaining every phenomenons while ignoring the flaws of modern science,and also maybe too arrogant to appreciate the fact that Man is still a finite being with limited resources. So in the meanwhile what's the harm in believing in myths and the supernatural while seeking answers for it?![]()
just my $0.07 worth(GST increased liao)
the last part is funny...Originally posted by ProudlySingaporean:hmm...there are still many phenomena left unexplained till this day. for eg cosmologists are still unable to ascertain the whether the universe is finite or infinite,how the universe began etc etc....
even though there are many credible scientific papers postulating the events immediately after the Big Bang, like the creation of all the types of matter the scientific world knows today, eg electrons protons,carbon etc etc, knowledge of the creation process is ultimately not the knowledge of the creator and till today there isn't any solid scientific study that succeeds in telling us why the Big Bang happen.
in the bewildering mix of scientific theories that are being thrown up everyday in Man's pursuit of understanding of the world around us and with so many uncertainties, wouldn't it be nice to have an anchor that gives rise to a more stable development of science for the long term? esp so when modern science, while giving us factual truths like how lightning is created, it can also be problematic and confusing....thinking of the recent declassification of pluto as a planet makes me wonder just how many of those so called 'established scientific truths' out there are acutally infallible.
in short i agree that people become more knowledgeable as science progresses,but knowledgeable in the sense that people are more aware of how things work in our life and not so much in the creation of stuff that existed in our universe eons ago and the reasons they are created for.
i think that atheists are perhaps too overconfident about the prowess of science in explaining every phenomena while ignoring the flaws of modern science,and also maybe too arrogant to appreciate the fact that Man is still a finite being with limited resources. So in the meanwhile what's the harm in believing in myths and the supernatural while seeking answers for it?
just my $0.07 worth(GST increased liao)
dammit sia. pluto was my favourite planet.Originally posted by Xtrider:the last part is funny...the declassification of pluto, is simply what it is, classification. It doesnt mean tt pluto will cease to exist or anything like tt. Yea true. Since science is still in progression, there will still be religions and supernatural believes to replace it.
Like I said... proof please... No point keep saying this and that and this and that... It slike I can say exactly the following...Originally posted by Cystaire:Do me a favour and read real science journals like Nature or Science or at least popular magazines like Scientific American.
If all you know about science is from creationist websites, then you will miss out on the real discoveries that is happening right now.
This is public forum so I won't talk about the details of my own work, but I am studying evolutionary biology and of course I have a testable hypothesis (with approved funding) and I am testing it right now.
I am not the only one, there are thousands of scientists studying evolution and many more applying its results to daily life.
Contrast that to a handful of creationist who have discovered... what exactly?
maybe my grammer wasn't right... now explain again.... "Life Formed" How does it prove life formed from?Originally posted by Cystaire:*Sigh*
Where should I start? You wrote:
"Tell me what does the fossil tells you that you can be so sure that it shows life form? If so why not now? Why must it be in fossil age? Why aren't there any of such else where?"
When you write such twisted questions, how do I address it?
Fossils are remains of hard parts (and very occasionally some soft parts) of life forms that have turned to rock over millions of years. Since they are fossils of course they are in fossil age which is of course not now. They are found all over the world, for example the Burgess Shale in Canada. Other fossil sites include USA, UK, China, Mongolia, Argentina and even Thailand.
And it DOES matter how much science you're been trained, so that I can explain to you based on what you know.
Otherwise if I am going about sympatric speciation and you don't understand, I am just talking to myself.
how u noe a tail is a tail and a head is a head for someone who never seen a coin before?Originally posted by banzie:There is no twisting of facts for both creationist... how can facts be twisted in the first place? Everyone look at a coin in its own perspective.... I may see a head but you can see a tail... so who is right? its the same facts looking at different direction...
that is right but he is giving you his opinion... its just like evolutionist want to tell everyone one that evolution works when its just their perspective derive from the observation... just as creationist does the same.... whose observation is right? who's side of the coin are they looking at?Originally posted by Ito_^:how u noe a tail is a tail and a head is a head for someone who never seen a coin before?
that is twisting of fact if i tell u a tail is a head and a head for a tail.
If we know how...? Why can't we recreate it again?Originally posted by banzie:maybe my grammer wasn't right... now explain again.... "Life Formed" How does it prove life formed from?
dude...there are more than 2 scientists in the world...haha..science is accepted because it works. It is the reason why u can type this out in a forum on the internet. There are disputes because people are trying to refine it to make it better. Evolution is accepted because we share genes with many animals, namely the primates family, and mouse etc. This is one of the prove.Originally posted by banzie:Why most people believe in evolution?
Simply because most of the people in the science group believe so and it sound as if more logical than the other theories... then they tell everyone that... everyone believe it coz they think they are scientist.... its as good as 200 years ago... everyone believe in creation. No proof sorry... evolution doesn't stand in my opinion...
Just like Doctor say you are sick with cancer and you believe so as its his pofessionalism... but you could be mistreated... what if another doctor thinks you had something else? After all it shows the same symptoms...
Originally posted by banzie:In fact a creationist website is offering $250,000 for anyone who can offer read datas on evolution that works.... Since you have it... why not go claim it? Since you said evolution is testable....
Originally posted by bozo43:i think u may wanna take it back...with science they are all possible now...
[b]
I will give u USD5,000,000 is you can :
i) walk on water
ii) bring back to life dead folks
iii) split the Red Sea
iv) turn water into wine.
U ask people to prove evolution, maybe u want to proof creationist? [/b]
If you are so smart... Create life for me to see.Originally posted by Xtrider:i think u may wanna take it back...with science they are all possible now...![]()
Correct me if i'm wrong but science still cannot provide a conclusive answer as to what gravity really is, as in science can explain the how', but arguably not the 'what' and certainly not the 'why' regarding gravity. Perhaps Prof Brian Ridley(physicist at University of Essex)'s book 'On Science' may elucidate the flaws of science more clearlyOriginally posted by Cystaire:I have to emphasize that "established scientific truths" are always being refined. They are not cast in stone and can be fallible. However, theories such as gravitation and evolution are based on so much evidence that it is not easy to displace them. You will need a lot of data to overthrow those ideas.
True...but i guess most of us here dun really die die must believe that dragons or zeus truly exist right?Originally posted by Cystaire:Believing in myths is OK, but it shouldn't be so strong as to displace the trust that we have in our evidence-based approach. Otherwise it can be very harmful.
Originally posted by Cystaire:Take the Edward Jenner case for example. If it was decreed that nobody was permitted to become innoculated, then small pox will still be killing millions of people today.
we can draw a parallel between this incident and all the debate on bioethics that only came about of late. in both cases we are unsure of the eventual long-term consequences of the application of the latest radical scientific procedures despite all the extensive scientific research. so people tend to use religion to judge the validity and feasibility of such radical ideas and hence giving u the notion that religion is sort of like impeding the progress of science. But have you wondered what if there are no safeguards that keeps scientific progress in check? yes scientific progress, such as research in the field of life sciences, will definitely be more rapid but at what expense?
The immediate reaction to Jenner's work was ridicule. Critics, especially the clergy, claimed it was repulsive and ungodly to inoculate someone with material from a diseased animal. A satirical cartoon of 1802 showed people who had been vaccinated sprouting cow's heads. However the obvious advantages of vaccination and the protection it provided won out, and vaccination soon became widespread.