I agree with you... somemore on those bicycle roads, sometimes, there are people walking too. Where to cycle?Originally posted by autumncs:When cyclists cycle on the pavement, pedestrians complain. When cyclists cycle on the road, motorists complain. The most controversial part is when a cyclist want to cross a road. Should he use the pedestrain crossing? or should he follow the vehicles at the traffic junction? Also, when an accident involves a cyclist, people always assume that it's the cyclist's fault, regardless of whether the other party is a pedestrian or a motorist...
Here cannot cycle, there cannot cycle, then where do you expect cyclists to cycle? In the sky?![]()
no la.. cannot say like that leh.. no matter what, if you are a motorcyclist or motorist, the other road users should have the right of way at all times. Even say for jaywalkers, you cant very well knock them down what, you have to slow down for them and hope TP sees themOriginally posted by BadzMaro:man..
like dogs on the road.. u dun need to stop when u got right of way. Besides... like some say , its pedestrian.. so Blagla on Bike is not considered pedestrian crossing a pedestrian crossing hence... continue on driving.
Need to show these ppl what are the purposes of different signs and road rules.
Originally posted by UandMe:erm.. isnt a zebra corssing same as a pedestrain corssing? I'm talking about the ones whtih stripes here, which can be found on slip roads of cross junctions. Not traffic lights or any other type..
[b]it's pedestrian crossing and not zebra crossing rite? i thought who's rite who's wrong is simply determined by whether the traffic light is showing green man or not?
people shouldn't cycle across pedestrian crossing is probably just to prevent them from hurting other pedestrians, dun think drivers should bo chup the guy just because he's cycling across it. And wat will a pedestrian crossing be called if cyclist is allowed?[/b]
eh pls la.. If i got car i already would have drive back instead of waiting for the shuttle bus. I'm just telling this story for people to be aware since i know a lot of people take IMM shuttle busOriginally posted by gnoik:If u so good, go buy a car lar or take over the driver. Why take free shuttle service?
Why must u break the uncle rice bowl!!!![]()
for once can you stop it!!Originally posted by Tan Ah Teck:To be honest, life is cheap for the non-elites in Singapore.
My name is Tan Ah Teck and I am an honest man.
I'd like to raise my point of view.Originally posted by madster86:For all people who take shuttle buses to and from IMM, pls take awhile to listen to my story here.
About an hour ago at around 9.30pm, i took the shuttle bus from IMM to JE MRT. Just as we were reaching ( at the pedestrian crossing near the back door of JE popular), there was a blangala (i presume) cycling cross the pedestrian crossing. The bus driver saw him ( I know cos i saw the driver wave to the cyclist) but to my horror just drove straight through without any signs of stopping.
A few seconds later, a female passenger let out a sharp scream and the next thing i know, all the standing passengers were thrown forward. To my relief, the cyclist was unhurt but the driver acted like the cyclist was in the wrong. He even gestured angrily towards the cyclist.
The incident left me shaken as god knows what would happen if the driver had not e-braked in time. Any1 knows where i can report this incident?
Btw, the bus number is PA 177D and the driver is a plumb chinese guy with a pot belly who looks in his late 40s.
eh yes, i understand what you are talking about. I too had seem many foreign workers cycling by the side of the road when pavements are avaliable. However, in this case, this guy was on a pavement and using the crossing to get to the other side. I felt that any safe driver would have slowed down or stopped. Say the driver has the right of way but do you dare say that everything you have the right of way, you can just chiong ahead? I have also seem circumstances in which drivers give way to others even when they have the right of way. So in this case, I'm assuming (might be right or wrong) that the driver is a 'lu ba' who thinks that once he has the right of way, he is king. Worse of all is that dozens of lives are also in his hands..Originally posted by MS:I'd like to raise my point of view.
I had my fair share of experiences when driving in the Northwest region frequently in the past. Some foreign workers will suddenly appear out of no where & dash across the roads out of no where.
At my current workplace, there's a domitory right opposite. Foreign workers riding bicycles or walking in the middle of the road or do the sudden appearing cum dashing across the road stunt between vehicles is a common thing. I often have to slow to a crawl and kept horning from behind to alert him of my presence. However even with high beams, horning, half clutch speed, the bugger will still quite often heck care about you. sometimes even turn right into my lane and I must brake my vehicle suddenly to allow him to get away safely in case I hit him down.
There is the side of the road or pavement but these foreign workers prefer the middle of the roads. So I think you ought to see from dual perspective and understand the driver of PA177D before making a complain in case you got the wrong guy.
Since they are building the road, why not ask them to widen the road and reserve one part of the road exclusively for cyclists? (Cycling lanes are common in many cities, esp those in China...) lolOriginally posted by ah_kwang:dun forget they are the ones who build the road ah. make them angry and they dont build for you liao ah.![]()
Originally posted by madster86:i'm not against jaywalking, but if you jaywalk pls do so safely and don't inconvenience other pple. you see idiots doing destrtuctive jaywalking all the time in geylang, little india and the malay village near hari raya, we should make a rule that its ok to knock them down so that they will learn their lesson and not do such stupid and inconsiderate things.
eh yes, i understand what you are talking about. I too had seem many foreign workers cycling [b]by the side of the road when pavements are avaliable. However, in this case, this guy was on a pavement and using the crossing to get to the other side. I felt that any safe driver would have slowed down or stopped. Say the driver has the right of way but do you dare say that everything you have the right of way, you can just chiong ahead? I have also seem circumstances in which drivers give way to others even when they have the right of way. So in this case, I'm assuming (might be right or wrong) that the driver is a 'lu ba' who thinks that once he has the right of way, he is king. Worse of all is that dozens of lives are also in his hands..[/b]