Originally posted by sermodabian:Unfortunately, the way the church operates is a bit like MLM. One thing that the church is over-obsessed with these days are figures. I have attended two prostestant churches and the sad thing about it is that there is over-emphasis in "recruiting" people than the follow-up or guidance and fellowship.
I converted to christianity at a point when I didn't really know much about the religion but was under a pressured altar-calling session which turns out to be a bit forced as I was made to say the sinner's prayer. Before I converted, people were warm friendly and enthusiastic around me, but that changed after I converted. I was thrown aside and assumed to be able to pick things up myself (ie. read the entire bible) or learn how to say prayers, how to relate to God, how the whole thing works. I didn't have the benefit of sunday schools like my cell group mates. I felt neglected.
Regular church-attendance didn't help much either as sermons focussed on selective text randomly from here and there and at the end of the day, I only get a fraction of the picture, in bits and pieces. Ultimately, I came to a conclusion that people seemed more involved in clapping hands, jumping, shouting, yelling, fainting and going into trances than the actual education of the word itself. One particular mega church has its proportion of its regular session flipped around such that more time is spent on the concert part and the actual sermon is just flashed over, in point form. Cell groups operate in similar fashion, and increasingly caused my discomfort in this bizarre relationship with my church-going peers, where it is an extreme cycle from nonchalent relationship during the weekdays to uncomfortably intimate sharing sessions on saturdays.
I dunno whats the rationale behind mega churches, whether its for bringing in more money or preaching to the world so that Jesus would return.
Try a small traditional church.Originally posted by sermodabian:Ironically, I started in a small church, and it operates in the same fashion as a mega church. I've hopped to small churches before (Yes I know church-hopping is criminal). I don't think its a matter of the size.
Whats the diff between a small and big church?Originally posted by laoda99:Try a small traditional church.
Boring sometimes, but welfare definitely taken care of / theology sound too.
Small church is like a family; everyone knows uOriginally posted by TYING:Whats the diff between a small and big church?
oh ic...Originally posted by laoda99:Small church is like a family; everyone knows u
Big church = you are just a fish in the ocean
when an organisation gets too big, there will be bound to have corruption.. and bureaucracy will get in the way of its ideal intent. even if its divine and blessed and all the mumbo jumbo, it still have to face much secular problems.Originally posted by TYING:Whats the diff between a small and big church?
U mean tithing?Originally posted by TYING:oh ic...
But u all don feel the pinch when you have to donate 10% of your salary to the church meh?
no offense, just asking.![]()
Originally posted by Ito_^:you wont earn a commision im afraid.
Lets say you see this promotion of a dkny watch selling at only 5 $ in a retail outlet, unlimited stocks.
You buy them for yourself, and used it, and found out it was exellent If you have a good friend you would definitely tell him about this offer would you?
You want to tell your friends about the good news. Because you want your friends to feel how good the watch is too.
And you earn a commision from it, lets say, a better chance to eternal salvation.
[b]That is MLM.[/b]
Pls dont use CHC as your example.. From fellow forumers post, it can be seen that CHC did not teach the right thing, that you must tith with a happy heart. and not do that for the sake of it.Originally posted by weeie:my sister joined city harvest and everytime spend and tithe until herself no money... so stupid fsck!
get bonus still give them 600 bucks... why so stupid?
never bring home money to parents still give money to church.
i'm wondering what she learn there. LOL
but i think if you join this kinda place...and most people tithe...and if you don't tithe ... they will make you paiseh right? so you needa tithe to save face.![]()
Originally posted by davidche:you wont earn a commision im afraid.
Why must you twist my example?
When you see a good unlimited stocks deal. You would tell your friends whether or not you earn anything from it!
indeed...Originally posted by Cystaire:
Analogies are such terrible things.
No way. They are all mine! MINE ALONE! MUAHAHAHAHA!Originally posted by davidche:you wont earn a commision im afraid.
Why must you twist my example?
When you see a good unlimited stocks deal. You would tell your friends whether or not you earn anything from it!
ya lor.. these kinda topics can argue for a thousand years and nothing will come out of it.Originally posted by moongster:Personally, I think this kind of discussion will go nowhere because believers and non-believers are basing their arguments on different axioms to begin with.
Originally posted by Ito_^:You can do anything for love, but you can't do that?
No way. [b]They are all mine! MINE ALONE! MUAHAHAHAHA!
but i can't do dat or ill go to hell.[/b]
Originally posted by Ito_^:seriously i dont think you will do that
No way. [b]They are all mine! MINE ALONE! MUAHAHAHAHA!
but i can't do dat or ill go to hell.[/b]
there is one more example.. like the cell group leader will always psycho the members to go church or something... that's what i overheard from the phone conversation..Originally posted by davidche:Pls dont use CHC as your example.. From fellow forumers post, it can be seen that CHC did not teach the right thing, that you must tith with a happy heart. and not do that for the sake of it.
CHC is a exceptional church u meanOriginally posted by sermodabian:Unfortunately, the way the church operates is a bit like MLM. One thing that the church is over-obsessed with these days are figures. I have attended two prostestant churches and the sad thing about it is that there is over-emphasis in "recruiting" people than the follow-up or guidance and fellowship.
I converted to christianity at a point when I didn't really know much about the religion but was under a pressured altar-calling session which turns out to be a bit forced as I was made to say the sinner's prayer. Before I converted, people were warm friendly and enthusiastic around me, but that changed after I converted. I was thrown aside and assumed to be able to pick things up myself (ie. read the entire bible) or learn how to say prayers, how to relate to God, how the whole thing works. I didn't have the benefit of sunday schools like my cell group mates. I felt neglected.
Regular church-attendance didn't help much either as sermons focussed on selective text randomly from here and there and at the end of the day, I only get a fraction of the picture, in bits and pieces. Ultimately, I came to a conclusion that people seemed more involved in clapping hands, jumping, shouting, yelling, fainting and going into trances than the actual education of the word itself. One particular mega church has its proportion of its regular session flipped around such that more time is spent on the concert part and the actual sermon is just flashed over, in point form. Cell groups operate in similar fashion, and increasingly caused my discomfort in this bizarre relationship with my church-going peers, where it is an extreme cycle from nonchalent relationship during the weekdays to uncomfortably intimate sharing sessions on saturdays.
I dunno whats the rationale behind mega churches, whether its for bringing in more money or preaching to the world so that Jesus would return.
I am agnostic now largely because of the way the church operates. It's scary. And attending a world religions module at NUS kinda also opened up my perspectives to the other religions of the world. And I realised the bible is not as flawless as I thought before. No offence.
onli certain churches like CHC loves to emphasise on it every other dayOriginally posted by TYING:oh ic...
But u all don feel the pinch when you have to donate 10% of your salary to the church meh?
no offense, just asking.![]()
CHC is a exceptional church wadOriginally posted by weeie:my sister joined city harvest and everytime spend and tithe until herself no money... so stupid fsck!
get bonus still give them 600 bucks... why so stupid?
never bring home money to parents still give money to church.
i'm wondering what she learn there. LOL
but i think if you join this kinda place...and most people tithe...and if you don't tithe ... they will make you paiseh right? so you needa tithe to save face.![]()
ren bu wei ji, tian zhu di mie.Originally posted by davidche:seriously i dont think you will do that
if you have something good, you will definitely tell your best friend.
If you keep to yourself, then you must be a selfish loner.
pls dont disagree just to disagree.
ya lor.. quite true. they can make do with little money.Originally posted by Chelzea:onli certain churches like CHC loves to emphasise on it every other day![]()
traditional churches like methodist n ... are nt so hard up for cash![]()