There are so many different denomination and churches I'm sure there is one that is suitable for you.Originally posted by sermodabian:Ironically, I started in a small church, and it operates in the same fashion as a mega church. I've hopped to small churches before (Yes I know church-hopping is criminal). I don't think its a matter of the size.
Mmmm... maybe some people do it for the money. Maybe some people don't believe that God exists. But others do. From the way I see it, those who ask others to go to church really care about them. If they didnt really fear God and love Him -- if they didnt believe in his word -- they wouldnt feel the same urge to introduce Him to their friends, family and colleagues.Originally posted by ReinaTanaka:they want to earn money one la. commercial de.
i knwo this guy, when his colleague ask him go church he angry until scold vulgarities. lol. anyone tihnks that those ppl really really believe god exists?
You think shopping issit?Originally posted by banzie:There are so many different denomination and churches I'm sure there is one that is suitable for you.
I've church-hopped before, they operate in the same manner. Big small same.Originally posted by Chelzea:CHC is a exceptional church u meanu shld visit other churches to get a different perspective
The Bible is about what some guys said. It was also written by some guys. It's only human to err. So one cannot expect the Bible to be completely flawless.Originally posted by sermodabian:Unfortunately, the way the church operates is a bit like MLM. One thing that the church is over-obsessed with these days are figures. I have attended two prostestant churches and the sad thing about it is that there is over-emphasis in "recruiting" people than the follow-up or guidance and fellowship.
I converted to christianity at a point when I didn't really know much about the religion but was under a pressured altar-calling session which turns out to be a bit forced as I was made to say the sinner's prayer. Before I converted, people were warm friendly and enthusiastic around me, but that changed after I converted. I was thrown aside and assumed to be able to pick things up myself (ie. read the entire bible) or learn how to say prayers, how to relate to God, how the whole thing works. I didn't have the benefit of sunday schools like my cell group mates. I felt neglected.
Regular church-attendance didn't help much either as sermons focussed on selective text randomly from here and there and at the end of the day, I only get a fraction of the picture, in bits and pieces. Ultimately, I came to a conclusion that people seemed more involved in clapping hands, jumping, shouting, yelling, fainting and going into trances than the actual education of the word itself. One particular mega church has its proportion of its regular session flipped around such that more time is spent on the concert part and the actual sermon is just flashed over, in point form. Cell groups operate in similar fashion, and increasingly caused my discomfort in this bizarre relationship with my church-going peers, where it is an extreme cycle from nonchalent relationship during the weekdays to uncomfortably intimate sharing sessions on saturdays.
I dunno whats the rationale behind mega churches, whether its for bringing in more money or preaching to the world so that Jesus would return.
I am agnostic now largely because of the way the church operates. It's scary. And attending a world religions module at NUS kinda also opened up my perspectives to the other religions of the world. And I realised the bible is not as flawless as I thought before. No offence.
Then of coz... the core doctrine of Christianity should not be different from one denomination from another... Unless you are not visiting the right church...Originally posted by sermodabian:I've church-hopped before, they operate in the same manner. Big small same.![]()
Have u visited a church in a traditional setting b4?Originally posted by sermodabian:I've church-hopped before, they operate in the same manner. Big small same.![]()
just like if you found a cure for a deadly sickness you'll tell everyone who has the sickness to get the cure.... so if your fren ask you to go to church... is because your fren cares for you....The thing is u claim they have a disease, and force them to get a "cure" when u can't prove they have a disease. If u think these friends care for u when they ask u to go to church, then I (and the people who wanna give the message tat your religion is wrong) care for these religious people as well and tell them not to go to their "temples". They r wasting their valuable time, money and effort going for the wrong things. We all have the same intentions.
Oh this kind of cases... plenty out there.Originally posted by weeie:my sister joined city harvest and everytime spend and tithe until herself no money... so stupid fsck!
get bonus still give them 600 bucks... why so stupid?
never bring home money to parents still give money to church.
i'm wondering what she learn there. LOL
but i think if you join this kinda place...and most people tithe...and if you don't tithe ... they will make you paiseh right? so you needa tithe to save face.![]()
It is not a crime to attend church but not contributeOriginally posted by CyNdI)4.eVa:is it a crime to attend church but not contribute? if it is, then does it mean that god is money minded?
haha then i think i can go church liao. church a lot of chiobu. i go there thank god for producing so many pretty sweet things.Originally posted by laoda99:It is not a crime to attend church but not contribute![]()
Hmm....got as pretty as CyNdI meh?Originally posted by CyNdI)4.eVa:haha then i think i can go church liao. church a lot of chiobu. i go there thank god for producing so many pretty sweet things.
more or less lor.Originally posted by laoda99:Hmm....got as pretty as CyNdI meh?
u referring to CHC?Originally posted by sermodabian:Unfortunately, the way the church operates is a bit like MLM. One thing that the church is over-obsessed with these days are figures. I have attended two prostestant churches and the sad thing about it is that there is over-emphasis in "recruiting" people than the follow-up or guidance and fellowship.
I converted to christianity at a point when I didn't really know much about the religion but was under a pressured altar-calling session which turns out to be a bit forced as I was made to say the sinner's prayer. Before I converted, people were warm friendly and enthusiastic around me, but that changed after I converted. I was thrown aside and assumed to be able to pick things up myself (ie. read the entire bible) or learn how to say prayers, how to relate to God, how the whole thing works. I didn't have the benefit of sunday schools like my cell group mates. I felt neglected.
Regular church-attendance didn't help much either as sermons focussed on selective text randomly from here and there and at the end of the day, I only get a fraction of the picture, in bits and pieces. Ultimately, I came to a conclusion that people seemed more involved in clapping hands, jumping, shouting, yelling, fainting and going into trances than the actual education of the word itself. One particular mega church has its proportion of its regular session flipped around such that more time is spent on the concert part and the actual sermon is just flashed over, in point form. Cell groups operate in similar fashion, and increasingly caused my discomfort in this bizarre relationship with my church-going peers, where it is an extreme cycle from nonchalent relationship during the weekdays to uncomfortably intimate sharing sessions on saturdays.
I dunno whats the rationale behind mega churches, whether its for bringing in more money or preaching to the world so that Jesus would return.
I am agnostic now largely because of the way the church operates. It's scary. And attending a world religions module at NUS kinda also opened up my perspectives to the other religions of the world. And I realised the bible is not as flawless as I thought before. No offence.
Originally posted by banzie:1st time see u post such a meaningful thread. all the best for u.
Have you ever wonder why Christian would ask people go church? If you believe that by believing Jesus you'll go heaven and if not you'll go to hell to suffer for eternity... then I think You'll go everyone telling everyone to go church..... [b]just like if you found a cure for a deadly sickness you'll tell everyone who has the sickness to get the cure.... so if your fren ask you to go to church... is because your fren cares for you.... not because his church has a status quo to meet or he earn commission from it... as far as I know no christian get paid asking people to church. Sometime it could be annoying... but just like your mum naggin at you... she cares for you right?...Would you bring someone you totally hate to a very nice place so that you'll face him/her for eternity?... so next time if your fren ask you to go to church.... smile at her/him because you know that its beacuse your fren cares to bring you to a very nice place for eternity.. if not kindly reject your fren for your fren have a heart for you....[/b]
obviously you have not step into the person's shoes.Originally posted by stupidissmart:The thing is u claim they have a disease, and force them to get a "cure" when u can't prove they have a disease. If u think these friends care for u when they ask u to go to church, then I (and the people who wanna give the message tat your religion is wrong) care for these religious people as well and tell them not to go to their "temples". They r wasting their valuable time, money and effort going for the wrong things. We all have the same intentions.