obviously you have not step into the person's shoes.I don't know about u but I don't anyhow take medicine if I am not sick. Furthermore this medicine got a lot of side effects (money, effort, time) Using your method of taking medicine, I have to take all the medicines for all the sickness in the world even when I am perfectly healthy
You have to assume that christianity is the cure for disease first.
Not really.... you can still go to Church then go to heaven recieve everything that Christianity has to offer.... frenship... helps, brotherhood.. frendly people, fun activities, something to do and enjoy on weekend and Christmas, eat free food and drinks and attend all the seminar ALL FOR FREE!!! Trust me on that one... you can really stay in a church without paying a single cent and recieving so much back... No problem at all...Originally posted by stupidissmart:I don't know about u but I don't anyhow take medicine if I am not sick. Furthermore this medicine got a lot of side effects (money, effort, time) Using your method of taking medicine, I have to take all the medicines for all the sickness in the world even when I am perfectly healthy
You're really out to offend people aren't you?Originally posted by Oriakan:xtian ask you to go to church and believe in their foolishness because it gives them psychological reassurance("Hey, if so many people believe in X, X must be true right!")
Secondly, they have 'mission' in their babel to go baptize in the name of the father,son,spirit. Thus, they continue to propagate their stupid beliefs.
Well, you do have a different perspective whether something is a side-effect or not. To you, probably money spent on yourself is always better than using it to do good.Originally posted by stupidissmart:I don't know about u but I don't anyhow take medicine if I am not sick. Furthermore this medicine got a lot of side effects (money, effort, time) Using your method of taking medicine, I have to take all the medicines for all the sickness in the world even when I am perfectly healthy
If by offend you mean, "I'm not respecting the beliefs of others", you are absolutely right. Why is religion or any other superstitious beliefs free from the public domain of rational criticism?
You're really out to offend people aren't you?
I can't believe you're asking such a question. It's so dumb I won't even bother explaining. It's not your not believing in religion that's disturbing. It's your choice of words. Apparently you have some very deep hate against religion. I wonder why. Personal experiences maybe?Originally posted by Oriakan:If by offend you mean, "I'm not respecting the beliefs of others", you are absolutely right. Why is religion or any other superstitious beliefs free from the public domain of rational criticism?
Even more so when those beliefs are dangerous and harmful to the individual and society?
that same church said that god is a god of wealth and not of humbleness. that church is just wrong.Originally posted by sermodabian:The thing that I really didn't liked about preaching to your peers is the use of "if you don't believe in Jesus, you will go to hell". And the over-emphasis of this "ticket to heaven" (I've heard sermons myself which just keeps ranting on and on about the exclusiveness of this ticket to heaven to christians, as if christians have really found some good bargain), even in the churches (I attended church for 3 years). Sometimes I really dunno if christians go to church because of this ticket to heaven or whether they are there to worship God.
But the worst sermon I attended is a particular mega church which the pastor preaches: "it is alright for christians to show off their wealth because God made them wealthy."
Not christians-bashing, but just relating my own experience.
Buddishts believe that you will reincarnate until you archieve enlightment. (which is to see that EVERYTHING around you is an illusion). read it somewhere. pls clarify.Originally posted by Ito_^:actually got leh.
i sometimes see buddhists promoting their dharma cds, or centers.
but very rare la.
You won't bother explaining because you can't.
I can't believe you're asking such a question. It's so dumb I won't even bother explaining. It's not your not believing in religion that's disturbing. It's your choice of words. Apparently you have some very deep hate against religion. I wonder why. Personal experiences maybe?
Every time someone points the so many flaws in religions, the old "respect the beliefs of others " speech comes out. Stupid and dangerous beliefs are NOT meant to be respected. All beliefs should be up to scrutiny.
In any case, you have the right not to believe. And I personally don't anything wrong as a person to not believe. But to intentionally use words to offend people, and be so disrespectful, then it's a different thing.
Just because I do not flower coat and run around bushes to get to truth's points,you say my choice of words is "hardly rational criticism".
Do not kid yourself, your choice of words is hardly "rational criticism", but just direct flaming.
Stop acting so noble and pretending as if you're doing a good deed for others when you're just blindly shooting your mouth off.
So errmm... All the chinese temple people don't pray for money? Cai Shen is for praying for vege issit?Originally posted by aloof_guy:that same church said that god is a god of wealth and not of humbleness. that church is just wrong.
Banzie is right.Originally posted by banzie:Not really.... you can still go to Church then go to heaven recieve everything that Christianity has to offer.... frenship... helps, brotherhood.. frendly people, fun activities, something to do and enjoy on weekend and Christmas, eat free food and drinks and attend all the seminar ALL FOR FREE!!! Trust me on that one... you can really stay in a church without paying a single cent and recieving so much back... No problem at all...
There are tons of starving children in india and africa recieving helps from christian organisation every day too...
Are you an Atheist? If so, let me tell you why i think there is a God.Originally posted by SumOne:You're really out to offend people aren't you?
Please clarify with pple at Buddhism Bliss.Originally posted by aloof_guy:Buddishts believe that you will reincarnate until you archieve enlightment. (which is to see that EVERYTHING around you is an illusion). read it somewhere. pls clarify.
I agree with you, the idealogy of that church is very wrong.Originally posted by weeie:my sister joined city harvest and everytime spend and tithe until herself no money... so stupid fsck!
get bonus still give them 600 bucks... why so stupid?
never bring home money to parents still give money to church.
i'm wondering what she learn there. LOL
but i think if you join this kinda place...and most people tithe...and if you don't tithe ... they will make you paiseh right? so you needa tithe to save face.![]()
Erm...... Did you quote correctly? Or were you replying to the post I quoted?Originally posted by aloof_guy:Are you an Atheist? If so, let me tell you why i think there is a God.
Without a supreme ruler, there isn't any rules to follow. Hence, we are unable to differentiate between good and bad rules. Murdering a person might be good as he can prevent him from doing another bad thing! This can be conceived as a good rule. Another example would be Hitler whose an Atheist believing in the Arian race. He massacred millions of jews thinking it was ok as it was for the good of his race!
However, God sets the supreme rule which overrides all others. Hence differentiating between Good and Bad.
Goal:Originally posted by laoda99:Please clarify with pple at Buddhism Bliss.
I dun think they would say everything around you is an illusion.
The drumstick u ate yesterday definitely real.
U wanna check with An Eternal Now at Buddhism Bliss?Originally posted by aloof_guy:Goal:
Enlightment - Nirvana - The realisation that al of reality is an illusion at which point the soul dissolves.
hurr what do you mean?Originally posted by laoda99:U wanna check with An Eternal Now at Buddhism Bliss?
Check with the guys at Buddhism forum.Originally posted by aloof_guy:hurr what do you mean?
I won't because it's straightforward. Don't think so highly of yourself.Originally posted by Oriakan:You won't bother explaining because you can't. Laughing . My choice of words you say?
You're right. I do hate religion along with all other superstitious beliefs in the same manner that I loathe smoking,drugs,excessive drinking.
It's not about sugar coating anything or deceiving anybody of anything. It's just how you seem to want to purposely offend rather than any good you claim to be doing. No one's asking you to lie or anything, but you're at the opposite extreme. You can get your point across without being so offending. Logic or no logic, your choice of words leaves much to be desired.
Every time someone points the so many flaws in religions, the old "respect the beliefs of others " speech comes out. Stupid and dangerous beliefs are NOT meant to be respected. All beliefs should be up to scrutiny.
If, I were now to go around persuading people that murdering people is a good thing, would you respect that belief? Laughing
[/quote]
You're not pointing out any flaws, you're just directly flaming and using words with the direct and complete intention to offend. Honestly, I find your blind hate even more dangerous. And you haven't even pointed out which beliefs are dangerous but just lamblasted all religions as dangerous. Blind hate, dangerous indeed.
Why don't you try? You have to believe in it first don't you?[quote]Just because I do not flower coat and run around bushes to get to truth's points,you say my choice of words is "hardly rational criticism".
At least when I state the truth, its better than you theist who runs around confounding people with you're lies about how some man on a stick loves them,how if they pray to imaginary friends who love them,they will get what they want etc
Originally posted by aloof_guy:guess you dun really understand this profound statement. enlightenment, in short, is the realisation of the fact that material and superficial stuff does not bring you true happiness. A stage where you realise eternal happiness can be found within yourself. (pls correct me if i'm wrong)
Goal:
Enlightment - Nirvana - The realisation that al of reality is an illusion at which point the soul dissolves.[/b]