Me choose RP because of the course...Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I agree to a certain.. Firstly RP's COP is depend on the quality of the student and etc factor.
RP is not a dumping ground for people kenna rejected by other poly. RP uses PBL which many people still not farmilar with. This creates a stigma. Why not you ask Mayi why chosed RP?
Oh I See.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Me choose RP because of the course...
People ask me why choose IT when other polys have it too. What they don't have - IT Security.
By the time they have, I'm already a second-year student. Want to switch also cannot.![]()
Something like tat my Rp course COP i think is 26 but my L1R4 16 lay......Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Comparing our courses COP with other similar courses COP, our COP is high. However, I definitely don't believe that they perform worse than other poly students for O Levels.
Many of my classmates have in fact perform better than the COP, by 5 points or more. If the COP is 14, they have 9 points or less.
U can request...but it doesnt mean it would be approved...so in the end...U have to take the chance that U might have to study something that U dont really like.Originally posted by shane123:if u cant get into a course u want, try to get into another 1 first...then see dean or whoever to request a change.....but pls do ur research first and find out from ppl who r already studying....
got to see what he apply for ma ..n ur fren study the thing not same as urs..so maybe urs easier to get job?Originally posted by browniebaobao:not v good ba..
got a fren study bio medical science de..
graduated more than half a year then found a job..
very pathetic..
i haven graduate already got 3 job offerings liao.
AHahhaa...that's y i barely scrapped passed VB and maths!!Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:too much of every thing is a bad thing. not everything can be teach using PBL.
some faci say that module like math and science use pbl teach not very effective.
cause these modules are too content driven.
lets don't talk about the students, i see many facis come and go . one of my module change faci 3 times and module chair 1 time
oh ya our high cop is the reason why rp is a dumping ground.
which explains the standards of rp.
sad sia.....whenever i go sch i feel so freaking depress.
Exactly, the best doesn't necessary equates to success. And being shy and introvert has no place in this world - you have to be outspoken, and this is a necessity, not an option. And hence, RP PBL approach trains one to be outspoken and communicative - because we have to present everyday.Originally posted by shane123:hey guys, becoz of this, the best doesn't shine......if u can get average grades but u can talk...u shine(get As)....
it is also happening to the local unis...especially SMU......u can go ask ard what the employers think of smu students....
its really a flaw. juz becoz a student who doesn't speak much in class doesn't mean he cannot contribute effectively in class....
consideration shld be taken of his indv assignments etc.....answers given for different qns when tutors ask for it.....
oh ya.....NUS or NTU...at most 10-20% for participation......
i still feel its better to be given the right facts......as in we r taught the correct stuff before we go out there and experiment/RnD etc to come up different analysis etc.....
if u cant get into a course u want, try to get into another 1 first...then see dean or whoever to request a change.....but pls do ur research first and find out from ppl who r already studying....
100% agree with uOriginally posted by weeie:if you are good.. you can excel anywhere.
I have never came across any UT test with a total score of 37.Originally posted by Prophecy_Master:In rp it is very easy to score As. i mean a straight rows of them. and the test we have there are called " UT"
let me give u an example, at UT of full mark is 37. i got 15. and my grade is B.
i was lauging my balls away, the passing mark should be 18.5.
here is the rank of grade
D D+ C C+ B B+ A.
F is fail
d= conditional pass
c= pass
indeed in rp they do things really differently.
the daily grade is even easier to get As, be hyper active when the faci is around, then during presenation talk and give example show understanding confirm A.
He says EXAMPLE!!Originally posted by AugoeideS:I have never came across any UT test with a total score of 37.
If you are going for specific IT courses like gaming, multimedia, etc, I suggest you choose other polys. Not to degrade my own school, but I feel it's better. They spend 3 years studying about them, whereas we spent 1 year on it.Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:i oso wanna take the IT course there, but temesek better or republic poly one?![]()
LOL...Originally posted by TXian:AHahhaa...that's y i barely scrapped passed VB and maths!!![]()
temasek poly gtOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Me choose RP because of the course...
People ask me why choose IT when other polys have it too. What they don't have - IT Security.
By the time they have, I'm already a second-year student. Want to switch also cannot.![]()
By the time TP and SP offer, me already Year 2 going on to Year 3.Originally posted by Chelzea:temasek poly gtcut off pt is abt 8
ermm if u can go JCOriginally posted by R3SsH|n:if u fail jc and want to go to republic poly as an escape route, don't...
the PBL will probably kill you before u even enter the expressway going into RP...![]()
I just went to check TP's site. It's 18 points for this course.Originally posted by Chelzea:temasek poly gtcut off pt is abt 8
no...i mean they teach PBL in Rp...jc students will not be able cope...since jc students only can study off textbooks..Originally posted by Chelzea:ermm if u can go JCyr L1R4 chao chao will be abt <14
most would have single digit
u will be ALMOST all eligible for any courses in any POLY