Originally posted by missqibut, i just want a pass for my english i very happy liao...
i think plot is very important.
no matter how good the vocab and grammar; if the story is boring; it will still not get a satisfactory grade.
Satisfactory grade Arrow at least 70% of marks
You will never say that if you read the 'unrevised' version!(if im not wrong)Originally posted by OasisBlue:woah thats greatat least to me.. i sec 3 already but i cant write that gd... i cant even be better than a p5
can someone tell me how to improve my compo writing?
the point is... i can speak well(at least better than writing) but not writing it out... i just cant think of any impressive sentences to write out... and i am very bad at describing...and so i wrote like a pri kid...Originally posted by skeletonsAREcute:You will never say that if you read the 'unrevised' version!(if im not wrong)
I was reading the 'revised' version and I was very impressed until I started reading every single reply and slowly I realised there was another version, which was the unrevised one. I was like zomfg!, that one is a sure-fail.......!!!!
But ok lah, thinking back, my angmoh also cannot make it, next time i post my compo let you all laugh.
If I was the marker for the unrevised version, it won't even get a 40%Originally posted by missqi:i think plot is very important.
no matter how good the vocab and grammar; if the story is boring; it will still not get a satisfactory grade.
Satisfactory gradeat least 70% of marks
The trick to a composition is keeping it simple. No more than 10 words per sentence. My written work is not perfect but I just keep trying to improve on my previous work. This is the way I learn.Originally posted by OasisBlue:the point is... i can speak well(at least better than writing) but not writing it out... i just cant think of any impressive sentences to write out... and i am very bad at describing...and so i wrote like a pri kid...
now i cant even do what u rearranged...Originally posted by fymk:The trick to a composition is keeping it simple. No more than 10 words per sentence. My written work is not perfect but I just keep trying to improve on my previous work. This is the way I learn.
You just need to read more to get an idea on how to express yourself. If you really cannot, try using the thesaurus .
For example your quote could be rearranged in this format:
I can articulate my thoughts well. However, I find it difficult to express myself in written form. I feel that I am bad at describing situations or objects. In my opinion, my writing resembles that of a primary school child.
I felt a pair of evil eyes staring at me. It was that of a monster which entered my paradise. He let out a thunderous roar, which pierced my ears and started the transition of my dream into a nightmare. I was suddenly jostled awake by my classmate. My teacher was staring at me, his eyes gleaming with fury. He had caught me sleeping during his lesson again.
Indeed, I was tired. I was lacking sleep for the past few days of that week. I worked the night shift from sunset till dawn in McDonalds, a famous fast food restaurant. The section which I was assigned to did not have enough crew. They called me back to help. I felt reluctant - it was going to be overtime work! Nevertheless, I chose to help my manager, hoping that my hard work would pay off some day.
Having not slept for the night, I went straight to school after work. Some teachers noticed that I had been dozing off in lessons, and asked me for a reason. My academic results have also worsen since then. I told the teachers that I had to work throughout the midnight, as I had to earn my own money to pay for my handphone and internet bills, as my family was very poor. They advised me to quit the job.
However, there were some teachers who despise students who sleep in their lessons. Unintentionally, I often fell asleep in lessons as I would be seriously too tired after a whole night of work. However, whenever the teacher saw me dozing off in class, he would roar at me, snapping me out of my dreamland.
It was torturous battling my heavy eyelids in order to keep my bloodshot eyes open. I was only allowed a two hours of peaceful sleep each day. After that precious two hours, I had to start my work at McDonalds again. My manager was nasty. He refused in any way to increase my pay even though I worked overtime. I felt very unappreciated. It was like I did all these, helping them in time of crew shortage, and all came to a nought.
I felt that I really could not take it anymore. I was working with my eyes half-closed, trying to serve all the customers with their unreasonable requests, but no one appreciated me, apart from a few 'thank-you's from the customers. The crew members scolded me for being slow as I often exceed the 'sixty-second-target', that is to finish serving each customer within a minute. I was tired, very tired.
But luckily, things turned out to be better as the restaurant employed more workers. But I would never forget the toughest battle I ever fought in my life - to juggle between studies and work. It was really more tiring than any physical training I ever went through.
Till this day, I still feel very unappreciated. My workplace seemed to not notice the efforts I had made to assist them in the time of a staff shortage. They seemed to take my efforts for granted. If not for me, I bet that particular restaurant would have closed down long ago. I was not asking for much but more 'thank-you's would have been nice instead of the incessant scoldings I received.
Indeed, humans often reprimand people for bad things they did.
When things goes the way they think it should, they would not be praising the people who made that possible, but instead, take it for granted.
Originally posted by secretliker:My edited version. This should sound more logical, and more engaging.
I felt a pair of evil eyes staring at me. It was that of a monster which entered my paradise. He let out a thunderous roar, which pierced my ears and started the transition of my dream into a nightmare. I was suddenly jostled awake by my classmate. My teacher was staring at me, his eyes gleaming with fury. He had caught me sleeping during his lesson again.pro........
Indeed, I was tired. I was lacking sleep for the past few days of that week. I worked the night shift from sunset till dawn in McDonalds, a famous fast food restaurant. The section which I was assigned to did not have enough crew. They called me back to help. I felt reluctant - it was going to be overtime work! Nevertheless, I chose to help my manager, hoping that my hard work would pay off some day.
Having not slept for the night, I went straight to school after work. Some teachers noticed that I had been dozing off in lessons, and asked me for a reason. My academic results have also worsen since then. I told the teachers that I had to work throughout the midnight, as I had to earn my own money to pay for my handphone and internet bills, as my family was very poor. They advised me to quit the job.
However, there were some teachers who despise students who sleep in their lessons. Unintentionally, I often fell asleep in lessons as I would be seriously too tired after a whole night of work. However, whenever the teacher saw me dozing off in class, he would roar at me, snapping me out of my dreamland.
It was torturous battling my heavy eyelids in order to keep my bloodshot eyes open. I was only allowed a two hours of peaceful sleep each day. After that precious two hours, I had to start my work at McDonalds again. My manager was nasty. He refused in any way to increase my pay even though I worked overtime. I felt very unappreciated. It was like I did all these, helping them in time of crew shortage, and all came to a nought.
I felt that I really could not take it anymore. I was working with my eyes half-closed, trying to serve all the customers with their unreasonable requests, but no one appreciated me, apart from a few 'thank-you's from the customers. The crew members scolded me for being slow as I often exceed the 'sixty-second-target', that is to finish serving each customer within a minute. I was tired, very tired.
But luckily, things turned out to be better as the restaurant employed more workers. But I would never forget the toughest battle I ever fought in my life - to juggle between studies and work. It was really more tiring than any physical training I ever went through.
Till this day, I still feel very unappreciated. My workplace seemed to not notice the efforts I had made to assist them in the time of a staff shortage. They seemed to take my efforts for granted. If not for me, I bet that particular restaurant would have closed down long ago. I was not asking for much but more 'thank-you's would have been nice instead of the incessant scoldings I received.
Indeed, humans often reprimand people for bad things they did.
When things goes the way they think it should, they would not be praising the people who made that possible, but instead, take it for granted.[/b]
pass har..Originally posted by popikachu:but, i just want a pass for my english i very happy liao...
and btw how you know my full name de?!?!?!?
i guess u just seen the edited version...Originally posted by cockaholic:you sure your english sucks? you used some good vocab words what, maybe you haven't seen worse ones
I beg to differ. Stories are easier to score than argumentative essays, imho. You just need an arsenal of vocabulary, and a teeny bit of creative juice.Originally posted by metalizechicken:hmmm.. normally sec 4 dun write stories anymore....
Write argumentative la...
Watch more of " The Arena" can le...