We can do nothing or we can pressure our government to do something as well.Originally posted by jay_rocks:c'mon la. its too late le la. just becauz the dumb govt dont imply strict laws.
Originally posted by EarthWalker:We can do nothing or we can pressure our government to do something as well.
Its the responsibility of every nation, esp developed and developing ones.
Besides, Singapore is top 10 emitters of greenhouse gas per capital.
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:![]()
I want to do my part in saving Earth leh
This is the old Thread.Originally posted by MohamedF:This is a repeat thread... FIFI won't like this...
not sure either...Originally posted by Isis:I'm just wondering.. whether the increase of sea level will affect singapore and in what ways ?
Low lands will start to get flooded loh. Actually this is the least of the problems. Wait till you see erratic forces of nature. MORE frequent hurricanes, tornadoes, fires, lightnings, sprite lightnings, snow storms, earthquakes, etc, etc...Originally posted by Isis:I'm just wondering.. whether the increase of sea level will affect singapore and in what ways ?
Remove refrigerators, stop using petroleum, use bio-degradable stuffs. Ever wonder where wastes go to...?Originally posted by TYING:even if we use less air con, just our efforts will help meh? still need the cooperation of the government before it can really change.
Exactly. Many people are still in the dark.Originally posted by Bontakun:Low lands will start to get flooded loh. Actually this is the least of the problems. Wait till you see erratic forces of nature. MORE frequent hurricanes, tornadoes, fires, lightnings, sprite lightnings, snow storms, earthquakes, etc, etc...
Wait... dis one I dun get it. How electricity contributes to the detioration of the eco-system?Originally posted by EarthWalker:Exactly. Many people are still in the dark.
1) Tornados and Hurricanes
Recent florida storm was so devastating that a church, that was built to withstand 150mph winds, was totally destroyed.
And things will only get worse.
2) Food and water supplies.
Fish supply are already expected to end in 50years.
Crops supplies will be affected.
Sydney is already heading towards permanent drought state.
The simple fact is, human, is just part of the whole eco-system.
And right now, every sporean on avg is adding 10 TONNES of CO2 each year,
from the electricity u use and car u drive.
u have it going.Originally posted by Bontakun:Remove refrigerators, stop using petroleum, use bio-degradable stuffs. Ever wonder where wastes go to...?![]()
Alamak.Originally posted by Bontakun:Wait... dis one I dun get it. How electricity contributes to the detioration of the eco-system?
Oh! I thought the electricity we use. Its how its produced and where it came from. Ya dat I noe. I tot its simi side effect electricity used can give out mah. oops oopsOriginally posted by EarthWalker:Alamak, after all these still dun understand???
=> Power-plants.
That is one MAIN source of pollution.
Most of worlds electricity come from fossil-fuel power plants, which burned gas and coal, adding millions of tonnes of CO2 and other pollutants into the atmosphere. And CO2 is the major greenhouse gas that is casuing global warming.
In China alone, over half of the electricity come from coal-fired power plants,
also called "dirty power" as its adds so much CO2 and pollutions.
Which is why everyone is pointing fingers to China right now.
Same for most developing countries.
Thus the solution right now is to cut power-usage and
also find better alternative power sources, eg biofuel, solar, wind, hydro-power.
I think i shld put back some of the previous url links to more information and explanation.