Me not into dentistryOriginally posted by ditzy:I think in NUS, its under medicine. If you lagi power, you might want to get into dentistry, cohort is average of only 16 annually.![]()
NOOO!!!! Nursing and medicine 2 different things.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Me not into dentistryMy teeth very clean
Base on what you say hor, means that this year I must get into Nursing course in Poly ar.![]()
since you have already set your mind to be a doc in the future..why not take up A level and excel in your science subjects?Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Me not into dentistryMy teeth very clean
Base on what you say hor, means that this year I must get into Nursing course in Poly ar.![]()
A diploma with merit may let me exempt up to 40 MCOriginally posted by thoreldan:since you have already set your mind to be a doc in the future..why not take up A level and excel in your science subjects?
Ditzy, you scroll to see diploma in Health Science (Nursing), they offered Medicine and Dentistry.Originally posted by ditzy:NOOO!!!! Nursing and medicine 2 different things.Cannot take poly context and throw into uni one.
What's the diff? You take up medicine in uni also will mug, in fact, mug more than you've ever mugged in your life.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:A diploma with merit may let me exempt up to 40 MCv
I want a change in my life. I don't want to mugg at home everyday.![]()
err. how you get 1/7 percentile???Originally posted by ditzy:What's the diff? You take up medicine in uni also will mug, in fact, mug more than you've ever mugged in your life.You won't mug more than that ever.
If you ask me, diploma with super grades and super everything is still a 1/7 chance you might get a place to study medicine in nus.A-level route is easier and alot more errrr straight.
You must remember if you want to get in, you're still fighting with the bestest of the bestest from all the poly cohorts. Another thing you must remember is the intake ratio of A level holders to poly grads.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:err. how you get 1/7 percentile???
But using A Level to enter very risky leh. Me is intrapersonal and introvert leh.
50% is you A Level result and 50% is the interview result.
I rather using diploma, 80% poly result and 20% O level result; more saver![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:You must remember if you want to get in, you're still fighting with the bestest of the bestest from all the poly cohorts. Another thing you must remember is the intake ratio of A level holders to poly grads.As much as the system has changed over the years, it still remains much untouched.
Intake majority still goes to A level grads.
You might have superb poly results, within top 15% of all the polys combined, but if nus is only taking 20% worth of poly cohort, your chances will be still significantly reduced.
When I was in your shoes, my fear was in chinese language.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:![]()
Actually my command of English is very weak and poor, so A Level is last on my list.
I scared I'll not survive in JC/MI.
Me is afraid of GP and PW![]()
Orh..Originally posted by ditzy:When I was in your shoes, my fear was in chinese language.I regretted not going to JC, could have saved me a year and alot alot of money.
Thx wor. By the way, is this a Myth or Fact?Originally posted by CoolMyth:Science (Life Science) - Become a test tube washer when you graduate unless you read until you get a PhD.
Science (Pharmacy) - Become a pharmacist. You know, those people at the back working when you collect your medicine while visiting the polyclinic/hospital when you are sick.
Medicine - Doctor
Nursing - Nurse
If your English not good, better have some self-awareness, it's going to be near-impossible for you to get into Medicine.
Everything I replied here is IMHO.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Thx wor. By the way, is this a Myth or Fact?
After I get my PhD for Science (Life Science) hor, then what are my Job prospect?
First one is Philip Yeo say one. Not me. Anyway, here's the truth:Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Thx wor. By the way, is this a Myth or Fact?
After I get my PhD for Science (Life Science) hor, then what are my Job prospect?
Thx for the linkOriginally posted by CoolMyth:First one is Philip Yeo say one. Not me. Anyway, here's the truth:
http://www.todayonline.com/articles/147445.asp
Assuming you do get a PhD, you can work in Biopolis and do research on stuff like curing SARS/AIDS, or create the next Viagra for men/women etc. You'll earn peanuts!![]()
Thx for your wonderful replyOriginally posted by ditzy:Everything I replied here is IMHO.Dunno about your job prospects, singapore so small, depend quite abit on luck, one moment govt push engineering, the next minute gambling, then bioscience.
Look at the building and construction sector, last year this time was a slump, then suddenly pick up again.
I know. I guess I'll not go by the tradition way. I'll go by the Poly route.Originally posted by snop_coolz:Selection Process
Students shortlisted by the Selection Committee will be invited to partake in interviews and tests along with students who were shortlisted via the traditional route. Shortlisted students will be notified in mid-April; interviews and tests take place in early May. A small number of outstanding students will be offered admission, for up to 10% of the 2007 intake. The decisions of the Selection Committee are final.
traditional route is best for U adminsion..dont snatch with me..i this year take O level result..2-3 years later will have to face competition from TS liao..no..![]()
Be fun to apply with my bachelor and master for med schoolOriginally posted by ditzy:What's the diff? You take up medicine in uni also will mug, in fact, mug more than you've ever mugged in your life.You won't mug more than that ever.
If you ask me, diploma with super grades and super everything is still a 1/7 chance you might get a place to study medicine in nus.A-level route is easier and alot more errrr straight.
The way I see it - if your daddy have money - right about 300k - do a diploma first then go on and do a degree . After your first degree go overseas to do Graduate Medical School .Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Just now I go to NUS website at The Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine hor, when I see a list of acceptable diploma hor, there is something which I don't understand leh.
When using these diplomas hor Biotechnology / Biomedical Science / Biomedical Science (Medical Laboratory Technology option), the degree offered are Science (Life Science) and Science (Pharmacy).
But when using a diploma in Nursing hor, the course offered are Medicine.
SO I wanna ask if I want to become a doctor hor, which should I take?
What is the difference between Science (Life Science), Science (Pharmacy) or Medicine?
By the way hor, I also seem to cant find the the course syllabus leh.
Thx a million
Thx. My plan is to do M.B.B.S in NUS leh. After that, I am blur liao, dunno go where le. Can recommand some medical school?Originally posted by fymk:The way I see it - if you have money - right about 300k - do a diploma first then go on and do a degree . After your first degree go overseas to do Graduate Medical School .
If no money - do A levels and score damn well - make sure you know what to answer in an interview . Never say I want to be a doctor so that I can help people. That one is a BIG NO NO.
Do A level and remember you have only one chance. If you blow it . Bye bye MBBS in NUS.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Thx. My plan is to do M.B.B.S in NUS leh. After that, I am blur liao, dunno go where le. Can recommand some medical school?