If u pity them now,den next time i will have to feel pity for others.Originally posted by mamamamama:pity your kids in future![]()
when they reach the stage where reason cannot be talked into them, it's the fault of the parents for not bringing up their child properly.Originally posted by Beyond Religion:This cannot be generalized. Some kids can be reasoned, and they respond positively to reasoning or verbal rebukes. For these kind of kids, there is no need for any corporal punishment.
However, some kids simply cannot be reasoned and/ or cannot be bothered with verbal rebukes. For these types of kids you gotta speak their language... The Rod! (Kids that run around inside the MRT inconveniencing and endangering fellow passangers are probably the ones that understand only the rod, but whose parents firmly subscribe to the "No Cane" rule)
It is dangerous to argue for or against the use of the rod, without considering the character of the kid(s) concerned. I think its more important that even if you do cane your kids, you do it not out of anger, but out of a desire to make the kid into a better person.
x2Originally posted by gerrykoh:U need to discipline from young.
Lay down the rules early. Check bad behaviour. Tell them u will not stand for rudeness etc
If the kid is young, it is ok to spank if they do something wrong.
Another way is to make them stand in a corner.
Let them know why they are being punished.
For teens- no point using the cane.
U can discipline by deducting their pocket money, limiting computer time & confiscating their handphones.
Don't forget to also compliment & reward good behaviour.
u still don't understand do u?Originally posted by mamamamama:x2
punish them by standing in a corner rather than caning.
if they don't show signs of repentance, by all means go ahead and whack them.Originally posted by kopiosatu:u still don't understand do u?
some need to be whacked, some don't.![]()
please tell me how you know that they are showing signs of repentance?Originally posted by mamamamama:if they don't show signs of repentance, by all means go ahead and whack them.
but if they do, do you still whack them to prevent them from doing it again in future?
well, get used to it.Originally posted by mamamamama:actually i'm only against severe caning/whacking of kids.
those who cry until mucus come out le still get beaten those type.
that why i emphasise on proper upbringing methods from young.Originally posted by kopiosatu:well, get used to it.
if the kid has to be severely caned, then the kid deserves it.
i got that treatment, i think back and i deserved it. different kids, different ways to handle.
if u get a "yes man" kid, of course u don't have to whack him.
u get a rebel, what are u gonna do? smack him gently on his backside and counsel him? maybe that's your way of doing things but not with me.
if they don't show signs of repentance, by all means go ahead and whack them.i pity your children
but if they do, do you still whack them to prevent them from doing it again in future?
I do.Originally posted by mamamamama:anyone still believe that sparing the rod will spoil the child?
how much ur pocket money per month?Originally posted by missqi:aiyo.
im so used to being belted le....
no big.
now daddy uses smthg else...
"KNN UR RESULT LOUSY I CUT UR POCKET MARNEE BY 400 DOLLARS AH!"
then qiqi becomes a good girl...
HAHA.
I think you are too extreme..Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Does not work for me.
My mum used to cane me. Now she dun wan cane liao.
Cause whenever she take out cane. I will go infront of her tell her.
"Come cane me, its only physical."
Then i will bite myself until i bleed after she cane me.
Your parents see liao heart pain then they wont cane you again. So easy.